We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old reliable....”

The Hyde Away Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hyde Away Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Waitsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A casual Restaurant and Tavern offering the freshest ingredients, produced by local farmers whenever possible, for creative and healthy fare. Wine list and micro-brews on tap featuring up-and-coming brewers. Friendly, accommodating. Makes you feel at home. Member of the Vermont Fresh Network. Tavern offers pool table, board games, fireplace and 7 flat screen TVs for sports viewing. Late night menu 'til midnight on Friday nights during ski season. Serving locals and out of state friends, since 1987, The Hyde Away is open 7 nights serving food from 4-10 pm. 10 rooms for lodging accommodating singles, families, couples... A great spot to stay and just minutes to Mad River Glen and Sugarbush. P.S. We love what we do!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old reliable....”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is an old standby. Been going here for years and just got back to it after a couple of years away from this area of Vermont. The food is consistent, the bar is fun and while it never impresses, it never, ever lets you down. Kids had excellent burgers and the wings were perfect, well done as we requested. Service was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EatWithMe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    77
    25
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich
Level Contributor
221 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“terrific home made food”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I love this place. It has excellent food and service. The bar is fun with a pool table. This is great place to hang out after skiing. This is not a fancy place but on a busy holiday weekend... the restaurant will eventually sit you after a short wait. I love the meatloaf (though lately it does not have cheddar cheese... I am working on this change). They used to have a very good salmon though I have not had it lately.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Homemade and Delicious”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Loved the quiet atmosphere and all the homemade food. Would definitely recommend for an evening meal in the mountains of Vermont

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank g0ldenretriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice, place - Good food”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were there our first night in Vermont. Not overly hungry and just looking for a quiet places for apps and maybe a salad. That's exactly what we got. Great local place that is highly recommended. Our salads were delicious and I'm sure the rest of their menu is as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndyCinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We dined at the Hyde Away on our last night at Surgabush and weren't really expecting much, but got a pleasant surprize. The food and service were exceptional and at the end of the meal I was expecting to be hit with a big bill as is the case with many restaurants around ski resorts. The portions were tasty and plentyfull and not at all overly priced. Sorry we didn't discover this place sooner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed yourself at the Hyde Away and hope you'll be back next time you're in town. Thank you, Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hyde Away Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Hyde Away Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing