We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fare at an excellent price”

The Hyde Away Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hyde Away Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Waitsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A casual Restaurant and Tavern offering the freshest ingredients, produced by local farmers whenever possible, for creative and healthy fare. Wine list and micro-brews on tap featuring up-and-coming brewers. Friendly, accommodating. Makes you feel at home. Member of the Vermont Fresh Network. Tavern offers pool table, board games, fireplace and 7 flat screen TVs for sports viewing. Late night menu 'til midnight on Friday nights during ski season. Serving locals and out of state friends, since 1987, The Hyde Away is open 7 nights serving food from 4-10 pm. 10 rooms for lodging accommodating singles, families, couples... A great spot to stay and just minutes to Mad River Glen and Sugarbush. P.S. We love what we do!
Hartford, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious fare at an excellent price”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our host at the West Hill House B&B recommended the Hyde Away. The meals we enjoyed were excellent, the staff was friendly and we felt comfortably attired in slacks and sweaters. The cost of the meals were very reasonable and portions were very generous. We will return!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SadAcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Restaurant, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. We're so glad you had an enjoyable experience and hope you'll return to our beautiful area soon. Thank you, Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    81
    26
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfectly relaxing with and without the kids”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have visited the Hyde away many times in the past few years and it's always as I remember, relaxing atmosphere with great food. New menu is great, food is delicious and it's somewhere we can bring the kids along to and still have a great evening! It's a perfect little VT place to visit, highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPTRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback. We're happy to have a place where kids can have as much fun as adults. Thanks for coming in. Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Good all around menu, Pleasant service. The pasta and blackened chicken dish is to die for! Easy access from Waitfield or Sugar Bush

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mfinn530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We have been in the process of changing our menu and are hoping that it will appeal to our broad group of customers. SInce introducing it a couple of weeks ago, we have continued to make changes based on our responses. We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for joining us. Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentown, NJ, USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner was delicious”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Delicious dinner - we had tuna salad salad and honey pecan crusted salmon. The salmon was served on corn-pancakes with syrup which was a different touch. Reasonably priced and good service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Since your review, we have continued to make changes to our menu and find that perfect fit. We appreciate you coming in and hope you'll join us again. Thank you, Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stopped at the Hyde Away on our way into town. It was a beautiful night to relax on their deck while enjoying dinner. We ordered the Maple Chicken and the Tilapia special. The dinners came with fresh, warm, homemade bread. The salad dressings we had were homemade (I highly recommend trying the Ranch dressing). They have a nice craft beer list, the servings were generous, and the prices very reasonable. Would go back again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hyde Away Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Hyde Away Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing