We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expectations exceeded!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Ranked #6 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expectations exceeded!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just completed our first visit to the Wilder Farm Inn and the Waitsfield area. We were warmly greeted by Luke and Linda upon arrival, and treated like friends throughout our visit. My wife and I stayed in Millbrook #1 and our son and friend stayed in Millbrook #2. The four of us shared a spacious and well appointed bathroom just steps away...very private. Although the Inn dates back to 1859 and has the look and feel of that era, it's in terrific shape and features plenty of space (indoors and out) to relax. Breakfast was one of the highlights in that the food was delicious, well presented, and plentiful. As far as area attractions, there's plenty to do like shopping, dining, hiking, and swimming. We had an overall great time in Waitsfield and would not hesitate to return to the Wilder Farm Inn.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
124
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We felt welcome from the moment we pulled up the driveway, when Luke came out of his pottery studio to greet us. He and Linda are the perfect kind of hosts; they are warm and friendly (and knew all of us by name!) but they want to give guests their space. The room (Millbrook) was very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, and the extras - reading rooms, port at night, tea and treats all day, bocce ball and horseshoes, hammock, pottery studio - really made this place special for us. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Wilder Farm Inn many times over the years. There are very few places that we go back to again and again as we like to try out new places but the Wilder Farm Inn always draws us back. It’s like coming home. Luke and Linda are wonderful hosts. Very kind and helpful but not obtrusive. The way they have set up their inn you don’t feel like you are intruding either. They are on the property and are just a call away but have their own section within the Inn.

The rooms are nicely decorated. Stylish yet comfortable. Our last stay was at the beginning of June and we stayed in the Cattail Room. It has a private bathroom and is a nice cosy size. They have a good website with pictures of all the rooms. Knowing it was going to be a scorcher that weekend they put a room air conditioner in for us so we would have a nice restful sleep. The are always thinking of the well-being of their guests.

Where do I start with the breakfast that is served! We have had some of the most incredible breakfasts here. Our last breakfast included ramps (wild leeks) that were picked on the banks of the Mad River. Lots of local and garden-picked produce used – while we were enjoying some coffee/tea and juice before breakfast we saw Luke wander out to the garden to cut some herbs from the Inn’s garden – now that’s fresh!

At Wilder Farm we have had the opportunity to try many fine Vermont products that the Inn uses. It is nice to see a business supporting other Vermont businesses by using quality local goods in house. Liberty Teas from Waterbury and Vermont Soap (organic) in Middlebury are now regular stops on our trips to Vermont. Luke and Linda have given us many great recommendations for places to visit and eat. Our favorite place to eat anywhere thanks to their advice is American Flatbread in Waitsfield. Best pizza we have ever had! It is one of the only places we look forward to waiting for a table – a drink by the bonfire is a real treat. Thanks Luke and Linda for creating such an amazing retreat from the regular world. Looking forward to our next visit at the Wilder Farm Inn.

Room Tip: Lots of pictures online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This review is long overdue, but had no great of an experience not to comment. My boyfriend and traveled to Vermont for a long weekend at the beginning of February. This was a first time in Vermont for both of us. My boyfriend enjoys skiing, but I had never skied. I was more looking for a romantic, relaxing get-away, while he was looking for close proximity to the slopes. The Wilder Farm Inn fulfilled both of our wishes. From the moment we arrived, we had a wonderful experience. On a very raining and foggy night after a long car ride, we were greeted by innkeeper Luke, who was very warm, friendly and accommodating. We immediately felt at home. We were then shown to our room, we stayed in the River Room, which I selected after viewing pictures online. The room was just as the description had stated, although much cozier in person. The room was clean and comfortable with both a large bathtub and stand-up shower. Had a wonderful night's sleep and the next morning had the pleasure of meeting Linda while enjoying a lovely breakfast that is freshly prepared for you by Luke and Linda themselves. Food was delicious!!! dinning room was cozy with a long center table, nice music and a large fireplace. Had an opportunity to meet and chat with other folks staying at the Inn while my boyfriend got all the tips from Luke about the best trails at Sugarbush. Luke also provided recommendations for the best local dinning. Later that evening we enjoyed some time to relax by the fireplace in the large common living room with a mug of hot chocolate that was served in mugs made by Luke in his pottery studio, located behind the inn. We even enjoyed s'mores by the far with ingredients provided by the Innkeepers. Overall a wonderful experience, would recommend to anyone looking for a cozy get-away. We will definitely be back. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaritaJA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I spent a glorious few days in Waitsfield last September to ride the Icelandic horses (see review of that facility) and booked my stay here rather than at the Mad River Inn, associated with the horse farm.

Luke and Linda took care of me like perfect parents. I remember in the mornings when it was chilly still I would patter out to grab a hot coffee and Linda would chuckle ~ I suppose I sounded like a child run amok. But they were the most engaging and truly interested couple to preside over their inn and Luke's studio.

I will return one day and they will be my home away from home once again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darklinglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a charming place with gracious and warm hosts that is close to the area skiing spots. The whole experience there was wonderful and small details such as a cozy fire to come back to after skiing, helpful advise from the hosts, and delicious breakfasts in the morning made it a most enjoyable place to be. As other have noted, the talents of Luke as a potter that are on display at the inn make it feel warm and homey and watching him at the wheel was fun for us and our 10 year old daughter. The room we stayed in was quiet and stylishly decorated. We would definitely come back the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Linda and Luke are consummate hosts who have created a truly wonderful B&B experience. The place is magic. I read all the reviews here on tripadvisor before going and the kudos are well-deserved. We originally were thinking we would stay only the one night and ended up staying for three.. we didn't want to leave! Would love to go back some day:

- we stayed in the Cattail room: charming decor & super comfy bed.
- loved the fires both late afternoon and first thing in the morning in the breakfast room
- Linda and Luke were generous with info about the Mad River Valley area. Every suggestion we took them up on was fantastic.
- homecooked breakfasts were delicious & filling.
- loved checking out Luke's cool ceramic studio out back. Bought some great pieces!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
3.9 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
3.6 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilder Farm Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilder Farm Inn B&B

Property: Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Address: 1460 Main Street, Route 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673-4427
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilder Farm Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilder Farm Inn...where farm-fresh meets fashion-forward. We have made a conscious decision to create an atmosphere more appealing to today's traveler. With a relaxed vibe and some fresh decorating, it's apparent that grandma doesn't live here anymore. Gone are the days of doilies and old-time quilts. We have eight uniquely and individually decorated guestrooms which are sure to fit anyone's style. From country chic to hotel boutique, we're sure you'll find a room that's perfect for you! It's all about the food...from preparation to presentation, we take pride it what you eat. Breakfasts are freshly prepared with organic ingredients; some coming straight from our garden and others locally foraged. Our baked goods are made from scratch, and we offer a thoughtful menu featuring a creative culinary flare. What can be better?....it's served to you on Luke's handmade pottery.Our grounds are perfect for reading that book, enjoying a glass of wine, playing some bocce & horseshoes or even taking that well-deserved nap. Our property is also home to The Naked Potter Studio & Gallery, an 1840's post & beam lovingly built by the potter himself.Besides the obvious Vermont attractions, Sugarbush, Mad River Glen, Ben & Jerry's, the farmers' market, we love to share our local knowledge of those special hidden gems. We are passionate about making your stay exactly what you want it to be, whether its outdoor fun, fine dining, art, etc...we care.Come as Guests...Leave as Friends ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilder Farm Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilder Farm Hotel Waitsfield
Wilder Farm Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing