We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B with great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Ranked #5 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We felt welcome from the moment we pulled up the driveway, when Luke came out of his pottery studio to greet us. He and Linda are the perfect kind of hosts; they are warm and friendly (and knew all of us by name!) but they want to give guests their space. The room (Millbrook) was very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, and the extras - reading rooms, port at night, tea and treats all day, bocce ball and horseshoes, hammock, pottery studio - really made this place special for us. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Wilder Farm Inn B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 233 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Wilder Farm Inn many times over the years. There are very few places that we go back to again and again as we like to try out new places but the Wilder Farm Inn always draws us back. It’s like coming home. Luke and Linda are wonderful hosts. Very kind and helpful but not obtrusive. The way they have set up their inn you don’t feel like you are intruding either. They are on the property and are just a call away but have their own section within the Inn.

The rooms are nicely decorated. Stylish yet comfortable. Our last stay was at the beginning of June and we stayed in the Cattail Room. It has a private bathroom and is a nice cosy size. They have a good website with pictures of all the rooms. Knowing it was going to be a scorcher that weekend they put a room air conditioner in for us so we would have a nice restful sleep. The are always thinking of the well-being of their guests.

Where do I start with the breakfast that is served! We have had some of the most incredible breakfasts here. Our last breakfast included ramps (wild leeks) that were picked on the banks of the Mad River. Lots of local and garden-picked produce used – while we were enjoying some coffee/tea and juice before breakfast we saw Luke wander out to the garden to cut some herbs from the Inn’s garden – now that’s fresh!

At Wilder Farm we have had the opportunity to try many fine Vermont products that the Inn uses. It is nice to see a business supporting other Vermont businesses by using quality local goods in house. Liberty Teas from Waterbury and Vermont Soap (organic) in Middlebury are now regular stops on our trips to Vermont. Luke and Linda have given us many great recommendations for places to visit and eat. Our favorite place to eat anywhere thanks to their advice is American Flatbread in Waitsfield. Best pizza we have ever had! It is one of the only places we look forward to waiting for a table – a drink by the bonfire is a real treat. Thanks Luke and Linda for creating such an amazing retreat from the regular world. Looking forward to our next visit at the Wilder Farm Inn.

Room Tip: Lots of pictures online.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This review is long overdue, but had no great of an experience not to comment. My boyfriend and traveled to Vermont for a long weekend at the beginning of February. This was a first time in Vermont for both of us. My boyfriend enjoys skiing, but I had never skied. I was more looking for a romantic, relaxing get-away, while he was looking for close proximity to the slopes. The Wilder Farm Inn fulfilled both of our wishes. From the moment we arrived, we had a wonderful experience. On a very raining and foggy night after a long car ride, we were greeted by innkeeper Luke, who was very warm, friendly and accommodating. We immediately felt at home. We were then shown to our room, we stayed in the River Room, which I selected after viewing pictures online. The room was just as the description had stated, although much cozier in person. The room was clean and comfortable with both a large bathtub and stand-up shower. Had a wonderful night's sleep and the next morning had the pleasure of meeting Linda while enjoying a lovely breakfast that is freshly prepared for you by Luke and Linda themselves. Food was delicious!!! dinning room was cozy with a long center table, nice music and a large fireplace. Had an opportunity to meet and chat with other folks staying at the Inn while my boyfriend got all the tips from Luke about the best trails at Sugarbush. Luke also provided recommendations for the best local dinning. Later that evening we enjoyed some time to relax by the fireplace in the large common living room with a mug of hot chocolate that was served in mugs made by Luke in his pottery studio, located behind the inn. We even enjoyed s'mores by the far with ingredients provided by the Innkeepers. Overall a wonderful experience, would recommend to anyone looking for a cozy get-away. We will definitely be back. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaritaJA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I spent a glorious few days in Waitsfield last September to ride the Icelandic horses (see review of that facility) and booked my stay here rather than at the Mad River Inn, associated with the horse farm.

Luke and Linda took care of me like perfect parents. I remember in the mornings when it was chilly still I would patter out to grab a hot coffee and Linda would chuckle ~ I suppose I sounded like a child run amok. But they were the most engaging and truly interested couple to preside over their inn and Luke's studio.

I will return one day and they will be my home away from home once again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darklinglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a charming place with gracious and warm hosts that is close to the area skiing spots. The whole experience there was wonderful and small details such as a cozy fire to come back to after skiing, helpful advise from the hosts, and delicious breakfasts in the morning made it a most enjoyable place to be. As other have noted, the talents of Luke as a potter that are on display at the inn make it feel warm and homey and watching him at the wheel was fun for us and our 10 year old daughter. The room we stayed in was quiet and stylishly decorated. We would definitely come back the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Linda and Luke are consummate hosts who have created a truly wonderful B&B experience. The place is magic. I read all the reviews here on tripadvisor before going and the kudos are well-deserved. We originally were thinking we would stay only the one night and ended up staying for three.. we didn't want to leave! Would love to go back some day:

- we stayed in the Cattail room: charming decor & super comfy bed.
- loved the fires both late afternoon and first thing in the morning in the breakfast room
- Linda and Luke were generous with info about the Mad River Valley area. Every suggestion we took them up on was fantastic.
- homecooked breakfasts were delicious & filling.
- loved checking out Luke's cool ceramic studio out back. Bought some great pieces!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The owners, Luke and Linda, have clearly given a lot of thought to the guest experience at Wilder Farm Inn. The small details, such as a fire ready to light when you get back from skiing, tea and biscotti available around the clock, and easily accessible wine openers and glassware, made us feel very much at home. The bed was very comfortable, the room was cozy, and the common areas were comfortable and spacious. We loved the many shelves of books to browse. Luke and Linda had great recommendations on places to go in the Mad River Valley, and it was great seeing Luke out on the slopes on one of the days we were there! We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: We took advantage of the midweek Tuesday/Wednesday night special, and thought it was a great value.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
3.9 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
316 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
4.7 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
211 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
146 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilder Farm Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilder Farm Inn B&B

Address: 1460 Main Street, Route 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673-4427
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $155 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilder Farm Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation and Rejuvenation is the name of the game at Wilder Farm Inn. An authentic Vermont lodging experience in a quintessential eight-room Vermont farmhouse, and the perfect complement to your stay in the Mad River Valley. We are passionate about genuine hospitality, fresh healthy local food, and outdoor adventures. While we are on the National Registry of Historic Places, you will find all rooms provide a ‘classically comfortable, far from traditional’ Vermont lodging experience. We look forward to seeing you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Wilder Farm Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilder Farm Inn Bed And Breakfast
Wilder Farm Hotel Waitsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing