We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Ranked #6 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The only thing better than a country house is a FRIEND with a country house. Feeling right at home is easy at the Wilder Farm Inn -- you're invited to start a fire in the fireplace and find S'mores fixings are right there (a cozy touch). Luke and Linda offer the best of both: comfort and feeling of your own Mad River ski haus and a host serving breakfast or providing advice on local activities. I've been visiting the area for years -- they make it easy to arrive, unpack and relax.

Room Tip: Millbrook rooms are above the public area -- and front of the house faces roadway. Opt for rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvlexperts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
124
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waldwick, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just got home from my 3rd trip to the Wilder Farm Inn and am already planning my next trip up! Owners Luke and Linda are fabulous, the accommodations above expectations, and of course there is the ever amazing breakfasts... Always an excellent experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

"Not worth the rating" reviewer, you must not have "got it!' Too bad you were not able to have the same experience Kim and I have every time we stay at the Wilder Farm Inn. In a word..Wonderful! I'm not a big hotel person, or world traveler, but I know a place is right for me when I can sleep like I'm at home. Wilder Farm Inn provides that environment, and Luke and Linda make you feel right at home!

I was staying at the inn during (Not worth the rating) reviewers stay. In fact, we arrived while Luke and Linda were trying to speaking to the reviewer and his wife, obviously a tense situation. Having experienced Luke and Linda's hospitality before, we noticed right away that they were attentive to the couple, appeared genuinely concerned, and were obviously doing what ever they could for the "unhappy" couple.
The reviewer states that "In particular, the innkeepers seemed uninterested in their guests," I disagree, Luke and Linda are two of the warmest, friendliest Inn Keepers I've encountered.
Maybe the unwelcome feeling was propagated from the attitude you ("Not worth...reviewer) giving-off!! Based from your ("Not worth...reviewer) perception the Inn was not achieving your expectation! Again, too bad for you, but no reason to slam the Inn....

If you get the idea behind B&Bs, into country decor, clean rooms, beautiful pottery, quiet grounds, old houses, wicked nice people, and Vermont...this is the place for you!

Oh, by the way I can agree with the reviewer about one thing: Breakfast is awesome!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeKimVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I don't typically write reviews but my husband and I do utilize TripAdvisor as a resource when planning our travels. However, after reading the last guest's review, I felt compelled to share my experience.
Let me start by saying that we visit Vermont a minimum of 2 times a year and there has never been a time when we haven't stayed at the Wilder Farm Inn or had anything but an awesome experience. From the moment we arrive at the Inn, we feel completely at home. Not only is the Inn decorated beautifully with the utmost attention to detail, but Luke and Linda are nothing but friendly and welcoming...even if you do arrive a little earlier than the actual check-in time.
Our last visit was during the height of Fall Foliage, and while it was a very busy time, not only were all of our needs met, but my husband and I enjoyed numerous conversations with both Linda & Luke. After enjoying a delicious breakfast (which always incorporated homemade items along with local and organic too), Luke took the time to sit with us to help plan out our day, and every place he suggested was a hit!!
Our room was not only pretty and extremely clean, but it gives you the feeling that Luke and Linda really make the effort to keep things up-to-date.
So far, we have stayed in 5 out of the 8 different rooms and couldn't pick a favorite if we tried.
In addition to the beautiful rooms, we love the common space...a large living room with a TV, a guest computer, telephone and rest room; a library with an awesome fireplace, comfy and cozy chairs/couch with a large selection of books, the latest magazines, games, etc..and a very large dining room with another awesome fireplace with delicious Vermont tea which is always available to the guests...and the best part, something yummy waiting for us in the afternoon to snack on.
I can go on but I should try to cut this review somewhat short. All in all, the bottom line is that the Wilder Farm Inn is a great place with great hosts and that is why my husband and I continue to go back time after time. It is a true gem...from the time you arrive until the time you depart...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Inn gets a high rating on TripAdvisor but in my opinion it does not deserve the rating. In particular, the innkeepers seemed uninterested in their guests. We arrived before check-in time and asked if we could sit in the lounge - we were told in no uncertain terms that we are not welcome before check-inn. This on a freezing day in October and us having booked for 3 nights at the inn. The room has a detached bathroom, which means it is three doors down from the room and freezing. The breakfast was very good and the sole saving grace for this place. I do not recommend staying here and having travelled the world extensively must state I have not ever felt as unwelcome as I did here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IngeJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I recently stayed here for one night with my mother while visiting Vermont. Both our room and the B&B's common rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing - we even saw as Luke went outside to pick some of the ingredients after we ordered! Luke and Linda were very friendly and welcoming hosts. We would definitely stay here again.
Be sure to meet Randy the Maine Coon who roams the grounds :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelitlkahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while enjoying the fall foliage. We stayed in the Robin room which was very comfortable and quiet. We had dinner at restaurants that Luke suggested and were very happy with both - American Flatbread and Mint. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious - my favorite was probably the pecan pumpkin pancakes. The time around the table with the other guests (our large table was full) was easy and pleasant. I also enjoyed the view of the fire while eating breakfast. I must say my favorite time of the day was in the evenings when we return to the inn after dinner. Both nights we were blessed to have the large sitting area with the big fireplace to ourselves. Luke had the wood already for a match so it was simple to get the fire going. My husband and I relaxed with our books, made some hot tea and had a tasty biscotti (available for guests), kept the fire burning and I felt like I was in "heaven". Of course, other guests would be walking through the room and I invited them all to sit and join us but they just passed through after a few words of greetings. The whole environment was very warm, friendly, and peaceful. We also enjoyed seeing Luke's pottery and ended up buying a few pieces.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilderFarmInn, Owner at Wilder Farm Inn B&B, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely review. It always does our hearts good when we feel that our guests really "get it" - and, it sounds like you did. To hear that you enjoyed the warmth & ambiance of the inn, our dinner suggestions and breakfast.- it makes us feel like we're doing something right. Since purchasing the Wilder Farm Inn in 2004, it's always been our hope to create a place where guests feel comfortable, welcomed and happy. Thanks much and we hope to see you again!
Luke & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
3.9 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
3.6 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilder Farm Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilder Farm Inn B&B

Property: Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Address: 1460 Main Street, Route 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673-4427
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilder Farm Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilder Farm Inn...where farm-fresh meets fashion-forward. We have made a conscious decision to create an atmosphere more appealing to today's traveler. With a relaxed vibe and some fresh decorating, it's apparent that grandma doesn't live here anymore. Gone are the days of doilies and old-time quilts. We have eight uniquely and individually decorated guestrooms which are sure to fit anyone's style. From country chic to hotel boutique, we're sure you'll find a room that's perfect for you! It's all about the food...from preparation to presentation, we take pride it what you eat. Breakfasts are freshly prepared with organic ingredients; some coming straight from our garden and others locally foraged. Our baked goods are made from scratch, and we offer a thoughtful menu featuring a creative culinary flare. What can be better?....it's served to you on Luke's handmade pottery.Our grounds are perfect for reading that book, enjoying a glass of wine, playing some bocce & horseshoes or even taking that well-deserved nap. Our property is also home to The Naked Potter Studio & Gallery, an 1840's post & beam lovingly built by the potter himself.Besides the obvious Vermont attractions, Sugarbush, Mad River Glen, Ben & Jerry's, the farmers' market, we love to share our local knowledge of those special hidden gems. We are passionate about making your stay exactly what you want it to be, whether its outdoor fun, fine dining, art, etc...we care.Come as Guests...Leave as Friends ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilder Farm Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilder Farm Hotel Waitsfield
Wilder Farm Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing