We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vibes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #4 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Spent a weekend at the end with a group of friends on our way to the Vermont Cheese festival. Owners Heather and Andy were always present tending to guests and so very helpful to us providing directions and recommendations for restaurants (though we enjoyed the restaurant at the barn most). They recently bought the Inn and created a cool hip but unpretentious place that is welcoming to people of all ages. Comfy beds, great food ( - especially the cook to order breakfast), wonderful vibe. Thank you!

Room Tip: Read the room descriptions as there is something to meet everyone's needs (family, group of frie...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunapeeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

I'm happy that you had a wonderful stay here. It means a lot that you felt our pub was the best, too. Thanks for all the kind words and hope to see you again soon!

Take care,
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 164 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm not generally a 5-star reviewer, but new owners Andrew and Heather got everything right in their renovation of this inn. The rooms are inviting, clean and beautifully decorated with a modern flair. Recycled materials have been re-purposed throughout the inn (loved the recycled pipe joints as toilet paper holders, the old doors and flooring planks refashioned as tables, and the brightly colored sprockets in the wall art). We had dinner in the pub, and I appreciated the range of menu choices, from light fare or half-sized plates to carnivore delights like burgers and steak. The breakfast, included in the very-reasonable room rate, was delicious, filling and healthy. They have a fully wheelchair-accessible room on the first floor, and the entire first floor is accessible - this is good for the folks using Vermont Adaptive Sports summer and ski programs. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

It means so much to hear that you can't wait to return, Joanne. Thanks for letting us know that you found the inn beautiful and inviting. Hope to see you soon for more carnivore delights!

Take care
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Two friends and I stayed here this past weekend when we were in town for a wedding. Having never been to Vermont, we weren't really sure what to expect, and my expectations were blown out of the water!

The rooms were very comfortable, we had a suite with one queen bed and 4 twin beds. The decor was very modern, hip, and rustic. One other commenter mentioned their desire for an overhead light in their room, and that is the only critique I'd offer of the room. Temperature control was great, bathroom was large, beds were comfortable.

The staff was great: very friendly and helpful. They were also able to offer great suggestions on things to do and places to eat in town.

Can't say enough about the breakfast, it was delicious. Best home fries I've ever had. The bar was also comfortable, well-stocked, and gorgeously decorated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

I'm over the moon that your expectations we're blown out of the water, James! I just can't say enough about how great it is that you enjoyed everything from the rooms to the breakfast. Can't wait to see you again soon!

All the best,
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Couldn't find a place to review the restaurant but feel compelled to recommend the restaurant. Didn't stay at the Inn. We recently had a family reunion in the Sugarbush Valley and enjoyed a really great meal on our last evening in Vermont. Our family was seated on the rear deck in such a lovely setting. Wish we had discovered this gem sooner; a return visit would have been a no brainier! I enjoyed one of the best beef filets I've ever eaten. The owners were so welcoming that by the time we finished eating we felt like old friends. Judy b.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thanks for the fabulous review, Judy. We're happy you and your family enjoying our new deck. Can't wait to see you again soon -- we loved having your here!

Take care,
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights because I had a wedding to go to in the area. I wasn't expecting anything, but was pleasantly surprised. The room was a good size and very clean. It was obvious it had been recently renovated, and has a very modern, minimalist look. It made great use of the space and had very convenient shelves for storing bags. However, the breakfast was the best part. Very delicious - with an "omelette of the day" which actually does change daily. There is also free WiFi, which is definitely a perk. I didn't miss the fact that there was no TV in the room - the beautiful scenery was enough. The only thing that my room was missing was a better overhead light. There was plenty of light during the day coming in through all the windows, but at night (or if you needed the curtains closed) it was a little dark in the room with just the one small recessed light. The staff is also very helpful and friendly - all in all a great choice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q-bert137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Happy you had a great stay with us. The renovations were quite a big deal, and it really means a lot to hear how much you liked the decor. Thanks for the feedback on the overhead light, too -- we're always looking for ways to perfect the rooms.

Ready to make you another omelet!
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

What a Vermont adventure!! I brought 2 of my daughters home to Vermont to visit family and originally booked the Patience room at Lareau Farm. It was horrible at Lareau...mold growing in the paint, broken window, mosquitos in the room, ants in the beds, and an innkeeper with an attitude problem. So, after finding the Mad River Barn online at midnight, I packed up the family in the morning and headed up the mountain to find out if we could stay there. We got Andrew--the Barn's new owner and innkeeper out of bed after he had just finished feeding the very early morning marathon runners and he immediately made us feel like we had found the right place to stay. He gave us his best suite and even made the price the same we would have paid at Lareau! The rooms are beautiful...full of sunlight and lots of windows for fresh air if you prefer that over the A/C. WiFi works perfectly. Breakfast is fabulous...2 of us had eggs/omelets every morning due to our need to eat gluten free, but the incredible home fries make up for not being able to eat their regular toast or pancakes/French toast (which smelled dangerously delicious on my youngest daughter's plate!). I have faith that by our return next summer they will have a loaf of Udi's in the Barn! If you absolutely have to have gf toast/sandwiches, Three Mountain Café and Sweet Peas in the village serve those.

We stayed during the week when the Barn was in between events so it was really just us and maybe one other booking, so most days Andrew not only cooked for us but served us as well and we had a great time alone with him in the mornings. He can take and dish out the razzings!!! The best memory will be the night the storm hit and the Barn lost electricity and water and we woke up early and had a 'Home Alone' moment...priceless. And yet Andrew still made us breakfast later that morning when the power came back on! We did not have a chance to sample the dinner menu due to family obligations in the village, but the locals that we know in Waitsfield say the Pub is great. A brand new fire pit was being constructed while we were there, along with a new patio and beautiful gardens. For anyone visiting that might miss their own dog, Andrew and Heather have the sweetest corgi that will sit all day with you if you need a doggy-fix! Mad River Barn is definitely a much needed breath of fresh air and fun in Waitsfield and you will have no regrets booking there.

Room Tip: We peaked in all the rooms...they are all beautiful in the Barn, as well as the Bunk Rooms. Didn...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

I'm thrilled that we could give your Vermont adventure a good ending, Constance. It's really great to hear how much you and your daughters enjoyed everything from the rooms to breakfast. We really loved having you here and can't wait to welcome you back.

Take care,
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was in Waitsfield to run a Half Marathon. I registered late,so the rooms were all taken. I stayed in a 6 man bunk room,which at first had me nervous.
The room was large and clean,the bed was very comfortable. There is WiFi,but no phone or TV,but I wasnt going to be in the room that much.
They serve a really good free breakfast,and the clean moutain air was great.
Highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank navywrslr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed staying in the bunk room. Thanks for taking the time to let us know how everything was.

Good luck on your next half!
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
4.4 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
316 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
86 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
233 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
211 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub

Address: 2849 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-7372 (Formerly Inn at the Mad River Barn)
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $174 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub has been a fixture in the Mad River Valley for many years. Located at the base of the Appalachian Gap in the heart of the Mad River Valley, we're just a mile and half from Mad River Glen, and about five miles from Sugarbush's Lincoln Peak. We offer 18 guest rooms, each with a private bath. In addition, we have an onsite restaurant, a pub with a floor to ceiling fieldstone fireplace, and a game room where guests can play a game of shuffleboard on the newly refurbished antique shuffleboard table, or a game of foosball. Board games, cribbage, and cards are also available.In 2013, the property underwent a significant renovation project, including enhancements to the Barn and to the Farmhouse. From shopping and dining, to outdoor recreation, the arts, and events, Mad River Barn serves as your retreat and gateway to a fantastic Vermont experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing