We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #4 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We brought our 3 young sons here for February vacation week to ski Mad River Glen, and we had a great time. Andrew and Heather were excellent hosts. I especially enjoyed the pub (what a hopping apres ski hang out!) and family game room, from the hearth fireplace, to the leather couches, to the Single Chair Ale, to the shuffleboard and air hockey, to the camaraderie with fellow skiers and guests. The food here is really delicious - especially the French toast and the prime rib dinner on Saturday nights! I would highly recommend this B&B for families who are looking for a rustic, casual and family friendly environment.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Annex are quieter but further away from the central Inn, restaurant and pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks Holly! You guys were a lot of fun! Hope to see you again :)

Heather & Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 171 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our family of four took our first family ski trip this past week and had such a wonderful time, we re-booked to come back next year. Andrew & Heather are both such amazing hosts. They go out of their way to make their guests truly feel at home. The rooms are modern and comfortable. Our kids loved playing with the other kids in the game room while we enjoyed having drinks by the fire aprés-ski. The bar food was delicious as were the family-style dinners and breakfasts. We can't wait to come back again!

Julie

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks Julie! Thank you for spending your vacation with us! Ethan had a blast hanging out with your two boys - we are definitely looking forward to next year :)

Heather & Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The new proprietors have done an incredible job of re-inventing the Inn @ Mad River Barn and it was evident everyone was really enjoying the atmosphere and hospitality they've created. The "aprés-ski" scene in the pub was vibey and relaxed, but somehow they pull off kid-friendly at the same time and that's no small feat.

The ski conditions were pretty great as well, especially for the East Coast and in spite of the fact it was their "busiest weekend ever", it never ever felt congested on the slopes. It was such a wonderful time that we re-booked for the same week next year before we left (and for longer), though that corner of New England is pretty amazing year 'round to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks Kristopher! You and your family are a welcomed new addition to the Barn. Thank you for spending your holiday with us, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Best,

Heather & Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Barn was always a nicely kept secret for those who wanted to ski the areas Mt.s. We were always welcomed, and really enjoyed our stays, but the old girl was really in need of some updating so we found other locations. When we heard the Barn was sold and construction was underway all summer we were excited for our return to the Barn, we were NOT disappointed!! Andrew and Heather did a beautiful renovation, upgraded the Barn to rustic, Vermont style gem, while keeping her flavorful roots. Everyone arrives as tenants, and after Apres Ski in the great room around the fire, kids all playing together in the playroom,delicious cozy group dinners in the dinning room, we all leave as friends. We find ourselves wanting to be a part of this unique rustic roadside Inn every year, and rooting for Andy and Heather for the wonderful job they have done in staffing, renovating and running their first B&B! See you next year Mad River Barn!!! Oh NO, looks like our secret is getting out!! Jim&Allison

Room Tip: The annex rooms are a bit dated but once you "make it your own" your good!! Andy and Heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crawdad727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks Jim & Allison! As members of one of the longest-returning groups here to the Barn.... we were so concerned about how you would receive the renovations, and we were THRILLED with your response. Thank you for understanding that change can be good, and for embracing the new Barn! We are so grateful.

You guys are a really fun crew.

Best,

Heather & Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hospitality is king here. We were on our way to Mad River Glen ski area and our poor trusty Saab couldn't make it up the hill due to the conditions (we didn't have snow tires or chains). We asked Andrew, the owner if we could park our car in his lot and offered to pay. He refused the money and said to just park it. We hung out as a family (4 and 7 year old included) at the bar which was fantastic. Great food, brews and family environment (complete with shuffle board, huge fireplace, air hockey, and living area). Great place for apres ski or just a nice dinner. Kids had a great time while we waited (about 2 hours) for family to rescue us. And my wife and I enjoyed a pleasant and relaxing dinner. If we ever need a place to stay in the area this will be our first choice. Thanks Andrew for a great experience and for showing what Vermont hospitality is all about!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Classic lodging with recent
renovations. Rooms are immaculate: cozy bed, modern furnishings with a rustic Eco twist. Very family friendly. It is home to a pub that is a popular hot spot. They have also renovated a rare shuffleboard table.

Do NOT spend time here if you are looking for the quiet and quintessential Vermont B&B. No sound buffers between rooms, voices and footsteps are heard. This is a great experience for those who would like to be around a community of skiers and winter sports enthusiasts.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Artyteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I agree with you that it's very important to research Inns and Bed & Breakfasts before making a reservation to ensure that there is a good fit between your expectations and what the Inn/B&B can deliver. Every Inn is different. The Mad River Barn is definitely geared toward families, groups, and couples/singles who prefer a more social atmosphere. Given that we have an onsite pub and restaurant, there's often a lot of activity going on, especially during apres-ski. The game room that adjoins the pub is very popular, as it contains the antique shuffleboard table you mentioned, as well as foosball and air hockey tables. On any given night, there could be lots of people in there, having fun and socializing.

Regarding the noise between rooms...we struggle with this a bit and feel this comment isn't quite fair. We just completed a BIG renovation project here at the Barn, where each guest room in the Barn was taken down to the studs, and special insulating material (under the guidance of an engineer) was installed between each room and in the ceiling between floors. We have the same material separating our personal living space from the guest rooms above it, and we hear very little, if any, noise. The Annex, on the other hand, was not part of our renovation project, and you can hear foot-falls from above. We try to make sure folks renting the Annex rooms are aware of this. If you have light sleepers, please definitely book in the Barn or in one of the Farmhouse rooms (also renovated this year).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Mad River Barn may be the best kept secret in Waitsfield Vermont. Hotel is charming and ambience, rooms, food outstanding. This is the place to stay when visiting Sugarbush area. Made to order breakfasts to start the day and a fine menu to finish the day with.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdlrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thanks guys! Glad to hear you liked the food! We do love our kitchen crew - Judy is the breakfast chef. I also like her breakfasts. She puts out some awesome home fries, and her smoked salmon cream cheese and homemade granola are my favorites! Cecil runs the kitchen overall and is the head dinner chef. His wife Tei bakes the desserts. Jeremiah, Ray, and Brian also play key roles. We feel lucky every day to have this crew. Not only are they good at what they do, but they are a whole lot of fun to work with.

Thanks for taking the time to write the review!

Andrew & Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
4.4 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
321 reviews
3.1 mi away
Featherbed Inn
Featherbed Inn
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
154 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
239 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#8 of 15 in Waitsfield
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub

Address: 2849 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-7372 (Formerly Inn at the Mad River Barn)
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $174 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub has been a fixture in the Mad River Valley for many years. Located at the base of the Appalachian Gap in the heart of the Mad River Valley, we're just a mile and half from Mad River Glen, and about five miles from Sugarbush's Lincoln Peak. We offer 18 guest rooms, each with a private bath. In addition, we have an onsite restaurant, a pub with a floor to ceiling fieldstone fireplace, and a game room where guests can play a game of shuffleboard on the newly refurbished antique shuffleboard table, or a game of foosball. Board games, cribbage, and cards are also available.In 2013, the property underwent a significant renovation project, including enhancements to the Barn and to the Farmhouse. From shopping and dining, to outdoor recreation, the arts, and events, Mad River Barn serves as your retreat and gateway to a fantastic Vermont experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing