We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed temporarily due to Hurricane Irene flood damage.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Cup Cafe - CLOSED

The Green Cup Cafe
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
340 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Closed temporarily due to Hurricane Irene flood damage.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We are looking forward to the reopening of the Green Cup. The Green Cup has served the best food in all of Vermont, and the entire greater Lake Champlain region. Chef Owner Jason Gulisano is currently retooling his meat carving skills at a local slaughter house. Because of the Green Cup's top ratings and high esteem among Vermonters, Jason has received many gifts and grants to reconstruct the Green Cup. We all hope Jason can reopen soon.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
asheville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pay a lot of Money for Overrated and Over Priced Food... a Real Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

I think this place is popular because its in a great location. The food is fair (and pricey) and the service is horrible.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsanAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, comfortable and pretty ambience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our extended family all enjoyed a tasty and relaxing brunch/ lunch. Unlike some reviewers, we have no complaints about the service. Wish we'd found it earlier in our stay.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
340 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Superior food, service, and ambience! Tops in value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Cup has fresh baked breads and pastries with superlative texture and taste. Salads sing with flavor and freshness. They have a new and delightful soup every day. Possibly the best restaurant in all the state of Vermont. In the past 3 years we have dined at the Cup many times for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Chef owner Jason Gulisano is a wizard with tasteful and innovative specials. His white coconut cake is an artistic triumph with prize winning flavor. The Green Cup Cafe has the best coffee and espresso in all of northern Vermont and a wide selection of bottled soft drinks. Front of restaurant manager Heather is keen to please and always has a smile for everyone. What a great experience to dine here at the Cup!!!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding Place To Have Small Wedding Dinner A++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

The Green cup was recommended by a local Inn keeper. We liked it so much we were able to book our wedding dinner for our party of 24 guests.The Green Cup is situated next to one of Vermont's oldest covered bridges. You can choose to sit out back of the restaurant next to a lovely stream that meanders under the covered bridge however we chose the private dinning room due to the uncertainty of rain .
We chose the wedding feast that included wine.
The cuisine was outstanding and came as a seven course meal, one course of mussels they just kept serving until everyone had their fill. After the seven course was done we chose a coconut cake and that was outstanding.
The service was outstanding ,each course was presented and described by the waitress.Your wine glass was never empty and the wine was excellent.
At the end of the feast I brought Jason the owner Chef out and everyone gave him a round of applause.
We would highly recommend this place for dinner or a small wedding dinner. Jason is a truly talented Chef.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suntripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Cup Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing