We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem!”
Review of Lareau Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lareau Farm Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The LaReau Farm Country Inn was wonderful! The staff were fantastic, very attentive and kind. The breakfast was delicious and the afternoon fresh baked cookies were such a treat! The rooms were comfy and cozy, I slept like a rock. I highly recommend staying here, and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole02113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2011

I highly recommend Lareau Farm. I've stayed at other B&B's while skiing in New England, and most of them I would rate as "OK"...nice people, but typically operated at a novice level, on a shoestring budget, with facilities not very well maintained, and often not very clean. Given that the room rates at Lareau Farm were very reasonable for the Mad River Valley during Christmas/ New Year's Week, candidly I was not expecting much beyond an acceptable place to sleep after a day of skiing, but our stay was a pleasant surprise in many ways. First and foremost, Lizabeth, the innkeeper, is a pro. She has an extensive background in the hospitality business, unlike many other B&B operators where is seems like their business is no more than a hobby. The rooms were well maintained, the breakfasts were way beyond standard B&B fare, the homemade baked goods available to guests all day long were terrific, and we very much appreciated the genuinely friendly staff. We will definitely return here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanHNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I took a trip to Vermont during foliage season this year and I can't say enough positive things about Lareau Farm Country Inn. The innkeeper Lisabeth is so warm and is not shy about giving you recommendations for dining and recreation in the area. Her breakfasts are insane. One morning we had huge breakfast burritos full of chorizo, avocado and eggs, the next it was belgian waffles with fruit compote. There is always some tantalizing baked goodie set out for snacking during the day.

Lisabeth tends to stay out of your way because she wants you to feel at home, and she is very successful at creating this vibe. She has placed such thoughtful help-yourself items like cell phone chargers and toiletries throughout the house, and if you end up getting into one of the books in her library she'll let you keep it.

If I ever find myself in the Mad River Valley again, and I hope I do, I will definitely return. For all that you get, this place is a bargain at about $115 a night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We booked the Inn for the entire weekend of our son's wedding. The entire bridal party parents and grandparents enjoyed a wonderful quaint country Inn experience from the rehearsal dinner to breakfast the morning following the wedding. The Inn keeper was more than accomodating and served wonderful meals prepared from food by local farmers & growers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We only had one evening at Lareau Farm Inn, but we spent it sitting out on the wrap-around porch, enjoying some of the local beers from American Flatbread (the restaurant in the barn next door), playing Chinese checkers and a little frisbee, listening to the guitars and singing from the rehearsal dinner on the other side of the house, watching the kids at play in the fields in front of us. I can't remember the last time we were so relaxed!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelarsleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Lareau farm was recommended to us after friends attended a wedding there and I fell in love with it. It is a cozy and welcoming place: we stayed in the "Love" room which is attached to a huge jacuzzi tub, and the room is much nicer than it looks in the picture on the website. I felt like every ammenity was provided for; delicious baked goods always on the counter, fabulous breakfasts both days, delicious tea selection, and a woodstove that I had to drag myself away from. The inn keepers, Sam and Lisbeth, were great (not to mention, again, great cooks.) We had a great time x-country skiing at Blueberry Lake and exploring the ski towns. It was awesome to have the reservation at Flatbread and walk 30 seconds to a delicious dinner- the place seemed packed the whole time we were there. We would definitely return; in fact, it seems like a great place for a family reunion or wedding.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingowlnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

This inn allowed us to stay only 2 nights of a 3 night holiday weekend (something almost all other inns in the area would not offer), and we found that the rate was much better than most other inns around. We were very pleased to find out that American Flatbread is connected to the Inn and because we were guests for the weekend we were able to make a reservation at Flatbread for dinner despite it being a busy holiday weekend. The room we had was very comfortable and quaint, and we enjoyed the snacks and amazing breakfast served each morning! We will definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonBoston5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
321 reviews
4 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
239 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#8 of 15 in Waitsfield
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Featherbed Inn
Featherbed Inn
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weathertop Mountain Inn
Weathertop Mountain Inn
#9 of 15 in Waitsfield
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lareau Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lareau Farm Inn

Address: 46 Lareau Farm Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $70 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lareau Farm is a 13 room B & B in the heart of the Mad River Valley. Serving fabulous farmhouse breakfasts featuring local farm to table cuisine. We have plenty of room for you and your pals to romp and play.Four rooms are designated pet friendly with their own exits to the outside areas. We host many events that are open to the public as well as family reunions, board meetings, and country elegant weddings. We are also the home of American Flatbread - a wood fired all natural pizza company restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Waitsfield
Waitsfield Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing