We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Vermont Charm & Oh So Cozy!!”
Review of Lareau Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lareau Farm Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vermont Charm & Oh So Cozy!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2006

My husband and I were there the weekend of June 16th - Our FIRST and certainly not our last vist to the Lareau Farm Country Inn. It made the long drive from NYC totally worth it. The atmosphere at the inn is nothing short of relaxing and the Innkeeper, Lisabeth Magoun, was so gracious and accommodating. There's nothing like sitting on the wrap around deck, watching the Mad River flow...so relaxing! And American Flatbread just next door! Who could ask for more?? If you're looking for a authentic farmhouse country inn, the Lareau Farm Country Inn is a fantastic choice! We wish would could have stayed longer and are looking forward to going back for years to come! Thank you making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    18
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
34
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 7, 2006

What a beautiful weekend. Lisbeth, the innkeeper is a pure delight and an amazing chef. Breakfast was outstanding. A gorgeous apple crisp, followed by chevre quiche with a side local sausage. Fabulous. Sunday's breakfast consisted of warm homemade muffins and then a scrumptious omelette. She even offered a delicious organic caramel syrup with the coffee that put Starbucks to shame.
Lisbeth regaled us with colorful local lore, the history and the exciting future of Lareau Farm and American Flatbread, the lively, cozy restaurant connected to the inn. As the former long time director of The Inn at The Round Barn, Lisbeth is the perfect person to revitalize this wonderful place.
It was a rainy chilly weekend in Waitsfield, but the warm fires, great ambience and delicous food at Lareau Farm made it feel like I was a snuggling in to visit an old friend.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2006

I am not sure why the previous reviewer praised the new management of this inn, because we stayed there in Aug of '05 (after that reviewer) and although the Inn is now part of American Flatbread, the Innkeeper is the same woman who has run the place forever.

Rooms were very plain and scuffed-up. If I recall correctly, there were no locks on the room doors, either. The downstairs is down-right shabby, and the dining room was full of spider webs and sticky tables. It was very hot while we were there, and our room had one small window and a table-top fan whose breeze didn't even reach the bed.

The breakfast was very plain and repetitive. We had bacon 4 days in a row, with a simple slice of melon and either pancakes or french toast.

The Innkeeper would ask us about our plans each day, but she always seemed put-off by what we were going to do and disapproving of the restaurants we chose.

Although the setting is beautiful and American Flatbread is a MUST for weekend dinner, I can't say I recommend the Inn unless you really want to stay in an old, cobwebby farmhouse with basic food. We'll be trying Round Barn Farm next time.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2005

Stayed during winter of 2002.

Had first floor room at the bottom of the stairs. It was ok. the bed was fairly comfortable and the room a decent size. The door to the room did not block out any noise from the folks going to their rooms on the second floor. Didn't quite feel private. The bathroom was adequate. There wasn't anything particularly charming about the place. It was just an old building with a bunch of rooms for rent.

Breakfast was a little disappointing, mostly due to the fact the bacon was burnt and the smoke from that filled the entire first floor... Burnt bacon smell tends to get into all your clothing

Wasn't the best place we have stayed. Wasn't the worst. Wouldn't recommend it to our friends or to you the reader.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boboloCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 7, 2004

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon a couple of years ago, and overall, the stay was mediocre at best. Like another reviewer wrote, we felt like the innkeeper was annoyed anytime we asked her for a suggestion in terms of restaurants or places to visit. The breakfasts were meager, and at about 5 p.m. each day, the inn was completely dark with the innkeeper nowhere in site. So much for the "evening coffee and cookies" promised to us in the brochure. The innkeeper's dogs, while amiable, also left the two of us with an undesired departing gift: our legs were covered in flea bites. We will never return there.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 17, 2003

Stayed here on our honeymoon, Fall 2001. The inn was well kept and scenic, and we appreciated that it was far away from everything. Not a very touristy area, but very nice. The inkeeper was very friendly and willing to talk about the area, make suggestions, etc. The room was was comfortable and simply decorated. We loved the breakfast, and enjoyed lounging around the inn's large yard. Highly recommended, and we'll probably go back again.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 27, 2002

I just returned from my stay at the Lareau inn and was disappointed in the quality of service and condition of our room at the inn. Our room was a large room that lacked in any charm or "B&B" elegance. Scuffed walls and a moldy shower curtain did not add to the room. The lack of complimentary shampoo for $120/night was also unfortunate. I thought all would be made up during breakfast time- but that was the most disappointing. The innkeeper cooked blueberry pancakes the first morning and french toast the second morning with only two strips of bacon and a small amount of fruit. She wouldn't take any requests and I felt like I was being an inconvience when asking for extra juice or something different. We were locked into the "typical" two-night minimum which appears to be an unfortunate "norm" for B&Bs in Vermont.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weathertop Mountain Inn
Weathertop Mountain Inn
#9 of 15 in Waitsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Millbrook Inn
Millbrook Inn
#13 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lareau Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lareau Farm Inn

Property: Lareau Farm Inn
Address: Rte. 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lareau Farm is a 13 room B & B in the heart of the Mad River Valley. Serving fabulous farmhouse breakfasts featuring local farm to table cuisine. We have plenty of room for you and your pals to romp and play.Four rooms are designated pet friendly with their own exits to the outside areas. We host many events that are open to the public as well as family reunions, board meetings, and country elegant weddings. We are also the home of American Flatbread - a wood fired all natural pizza company restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Waitsfield
Waitsfield Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing