We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Farmhouse with delicious breakfast”
Review of Lareau Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lareau Farm Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Charming Farmhouse with delicious breakfast”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been staying here for many years! The structure of the rooms makes it a great place for singles, families and couples. All types of outdoor activities, both summer and winter, are within a 1/2 hr ride. The Innkeeper, Lisabeth, is a great cook and will ensure you are happy with your stay. Additional bonus, American Flatbread is attached to the Inn - just walk across the back deck and enter the world of extrodinary cuisine!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thseagle98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    18
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
35
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Lareau Farm for two nights to attend our good friends' wedding. We had such a great time. The innkeeper and staff were very accomodating and made us feel at home for the weekend. The wedding ceremony and reception were wonderful. It's also just a great place to stay for the weekend. The rooms were perfect and breakfast both mornings was delicious. I definitely reccommend Lareau Farm for both a great weekend getaway and as the perfect venue for a wedding. It was the best wedding I've ever been to and by the end of the weekend we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: definitely go for a room with a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed in the room named "Beauty", and we loved it. the Inn is older and has some uneven floors, but that adds to the quaintness of the place. Its very clean with several common rooms to sit and relax in. There is a book exchange in case you forgot to bring something to read. The front porch is great for that too. The people who run Lareau Farm Inn are fantastic...great breakfast every morning!There is a back porch off the dining room where you can eat breakfast when the weather is nice. We ate at American Flatbread and that was delicious! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheriberi511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the family-sized room, which was quite convenient. Breakfast was outstanding, especially the local coffee. Pancakes with fresh berries and sausage the first day, made to order omlets the second. The strawberry coffee cake was creative and tasty as well.
It is an older farmhouse, but for me that's part of the charm. For example: the shower head wasn't fancy, but the water presure was excellent, which is what I actually care about. There's a porch perfect for sitting on and taking in the view, the amazing flatbread restaurant right there and a great sandwich shop across the street.
I definitely look forward to coming back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at Lareau Farm the week between Christmas and New Year. We have been coming to Waitsfield/Sugarbush for years, and had driven by here always wondering what it was like to stay at the Inn. Well, I am very happy that we finally tried it.

The Inn is so comfortable and relaxed that it's actually a struggle to leave in the morning to go skiing. The wood burning stove in the living room is perfect to sit by and read and drink coffee. The large and open breakfast room is filled with natural light and has views of the river and the farm. The Innkeeper -- Lisabeth-- simply could not be nicer or more helpful. And her breakfasts are fresh, imaginative and superb.

As a bonus, if you stay at the Inn, they put your name in at the restaurant -- American Flatbread -- so that you are guaranteed a seating of your choice. This is actually a big deal as it is by far the most popular place to eat in the Mad River Valley.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. For those of you looking for W rooms or Weston rooms etc, please understand that this is an Inn in the true sense of the word, and NOT a high-end Starwood property. It is -- in the final analysis -- a slice of Vermont that prides itself in warm surroundings, good food, friendly company, and access to some of the most beautiful countryside in New England.

Room Tip: The family rooms on the first floor are excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnecticutorAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auburn, ny
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our annual Columbus Day weekend in Vermont. We were a little worried as the inn as well s the attached American Flatbread is very near the Mad River and had suffered flooding during Hurricane Irene. Though the scars of Irene were still visible in the fields by the inn and the riverbed our stay was wonderful as usual. I am not usually a big B&B guy but everything is so relaxed and comfortable there, the breakfasts are spectacular and if you get hungry after a hard day of leaf peeping there are always some yummy snacks on the counter that you can help yourself to. My wife and I would just chill out at night reading by the woodstove. It is definitely not a hoity toity place but very comfortable and that is what we love about it and look forward to going back during our next stay in Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adaminauburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This inn is lovely and the whole experience was wonderful. I will say, however, that the room itself where we stayed (Kindness) was just okay. The bed was really saggy and uncomfortable. The rest was ok but not great- shower was not totally clean, room fixtures outdated. Nothing that's absolutely horrible but just a bit disappointing.
The breakfast at the inn was DELICIOUS, so that and the overall atmosphere makes up for the horrible sleep in that bed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katevermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
311 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
2.7 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weathertop Mountain Inn
Weathertop Mountain Inn
#9 of 15 in Waitsfield
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lareau Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lareau Farm Inn

Property: Lareau Farm Inn
Address: 46 Lareau Farm Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lareau Farm is a 13 room B & B in the heart of the Mad River Valley. Serving fabulous farmhouse breakfasts featuring local farm to table cuisine. We have plenty of room for you and your pals to romp and play.Four rooms are designated pet friendly with their own exits to the outside areas. We host many events that are open to the public as well as family reunions, board meetings, and country elegant weddings. We are also the home of American Flatbread - a wood fired all natural pizza company restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Waitsfield
Waitsfield Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing