We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stronghouse stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Strong House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strong House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Vergennes B&B and Inns
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stronghouse stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

The house is fantastic with beautiful features, lovely rooms, and a genuine antique atmosphere. Our host saved our bacon when we arrived really late just when all of the restaurants were closing and we hadn't eaten. He just picked up the phone and made us a reservation without any input from us-THANK YOU! He sent us to the best meal of our honeymoon! They took good care of us while we were there, and if we had had more time we would have loved to stroll through their gardens and explore the property further. The breakfast was great with quite a bit of variety.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
54
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

I bought a package on Living Social which included a stay at the Strong House Inn, a $25 gift certificate to a local restaurant, wine, and chocolates. When we were driving to the inn,we couldn't find it and drove around for a bit before calling the inn and asking for better directions. The owner was kind of rude about it and then when we showed up, he berated us for not making reservations at the restaurant the gift certificate was for, and implied we arrived late (we got there at 7pm.) The room was beautiful and the breakfast was pretty good. At check out, the owner told us how much the tax for the room was- which we were expecting, and then said, "And you haven't tipped yet. How much would you like to tip? The minimum is $32 and the recommended is $64." I was totally surprised, and because I was caught off guard, I opted for the $32 instead of challenging her. I have stayed at many bed and breakfasts before and this had never happened. We tipped the restaurant on the pre-gift certificate amount and left a few dollars in the room for whoever cleaned it. While the room was great, and the food was good, the way the owner demanded the $32 'tip' out of the blue really put a bad taste in my mouth. Also, I would never have paid full-price for the inn. It was very pretty but not $300 a night awesome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Full Disclosure: It was a last minute 1-night stay the day after hurricane Irene so I will cut some slack here. This much larger property than your average B&B. Beautiful setting with a charming main house and an adjacent annex on the gorgeous ground which are situated a few miles from Lake Champlain. Clean and everything works. However, the promise of the property is not delivered. It was uncomfortable and slid around on the floor. The B&B sites and AAA guide say full breakfast-- fehhh. Two poached eggs on dry english muffin with little else on the table is not a full breakfast at these prices. And the owners were constantly selling something from their local excursions to buying their weekend package on some web site. There's even a "boutique" in the front hall of the main house. In the room were opportunities to buy a robe and an umbrella. My next trip to the VT, I will look for alternative B&B with better value.

Room Tip: Main house, if you can stand the prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattSilverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

When we arrived the owner Mary greeted us with a smile and information. We had booked the Adirondack room package through Living Social and could not believe how Zen our room felt. The decor was lovely, the surroundings were so quiet, we felt like we were in our own little cottage. We had a bottle of wine and truffles waiting for us which was part of our package but so nicely displayed. It felt like everything was a nice touch... You are walking distance to the little town... We reccommend the 3 Squares Café for lunch and definitely the Black Sheep Bistro for dinner, both were SO DELICIOUS in their own way.

The Inn is only 25 minutes away from Burlington for those who want to take the day to shop a bit (like us!). There are also lots of places to hike and other activities... Its a gorgeous area. The bed was so comfortable my husband and i had the best sleep we had in months... We awaoke to have banana pancakes and crispy bacon: yummy!! Mary you are so good!!!

This was our first year anniversary of marriage and we look forward to going back to the Strong House Inn for our second :)))))

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneMarieLovesIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trois-Rivières
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

This time, we stayed in the Adirondac room. Worth the extra pennies. This B&B is a real neat place, gracious hosts, lovely rooms, great food, breath-taking view from the patio. We are sure you will enjoy your stay,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_happy_camper_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed at the Strong House for several days in July of this year in the Empire Room. Although the grounds of the B&B were very nice, with a nice gazebo and lawns, we were very disappointed in a couple of things. Our room, the Empire, was in the front of the Inn, and although the Inn is technically on "Main Street", Main Street is really Route 22A. We didn't notice this as being a problem until we went to sleep . . . or try to sleep. Route 22A must be a bypass because the amount of tractor trailers is unbelievable. There were hundreds of them going by each night . . . all night. Even trying to eat outside at the restaurants in town was nasty - the traffic and trucks were non-stop.

The other problem was the bathroom and shower. Although the Inn advertises an "en suite" bathroom, the bathroom is about the size of a bathroom on an airplane. It is claustrophobic. The room did not have a bath, but only a shower - get this - located inside a closet. You needed to open a closet door, then the shower was inside the closet. This was not of course mentioned on the website.

Lastly, make sure you aren't picky - breakfast is no choice . . . just put in front of you.

The town of Vergennes is very nice, and the Innkeepers also nice at this B&B. Just wanted to give an honest review of what we experienced.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whodunit29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

room was ideal. seperate exit to garden was perfect. view of adirondacks beautiful. Hostess charming. Breakfast very good. Excellent knowledge of region.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard_dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergennes
12.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
11.2 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
20.9 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
5.6 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
11.0 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strong House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strong House Inn

Property: Strong House Inn
Address: 94 West Main Street, Vergennes, VT 05491-8690
Location: United States > Vermont > Vergennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vergennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Strong House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strong House Inn is a 15-room inn offering modern amenities including wireless internet, television, phone, air-conditioning and private bathrooms. Guests are invited to enjoy our Ticonderoga Great Room and Tavern, our personal library, the courtyard with gazebo, complimentary 24-hour tea, coffee and cookies in the beverage center, and a hearty country breakfast that is included with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Strong House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing