We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Return”
Review of Basin Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basin Harbor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Return”
Reviewed September 30, 2008

This property is a gem. We stayed in a studio cottage on the water. The view of the harbor was lovely and the cottage was obviously newly-remodeled and tastefully done. Our dogs were welcomed with a goody bag and my husband and I enjoyed walking them around this peaceful and charming retreat.

  • Liked — The property is located on Lake Champlain and has multiple charming cottages and houses.
  • Disliked — We liked everything.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hanalei2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    116
    40
    30
    14
See reviews for
132
150
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Intervale, NH
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

I received an email newsletter from the New England Inns & Small Hotels group with a special package for this resort. We paid $159 a night for two persons and were upgraded to a studio cottage with water view. Package included breakfast each morning, 1 1/2 hour Lake Champlain cruise and greens fee for the golf course. The cottage was clean, recently remodeled bath, small deck overlooking lake, nice drapes and bedding. A wet bar with frig. and coffee maker, two chairs and table, desk, nightstand, chest of drawers and closet. There was a small TV with poor reception so we took it off the table, didn't want it anyway. Gardens on the grounds are lovely. The dog policy was a minus. The owner’s dog was unleashed and jumped us scaring my elderly mother. She whistled and screamed for the dog but he paid her no mind. We did report this to the front desk but doubt if anything was done about it. Two dogs went with us on the lake cruise and one was so traumatized that when we docked she promptly ran ashore and defecated, nice touch! Also while golfing one morning a couple walking their dog just strolled along the course. Since I do not have the accuracy of Tiger Woods I asked them to move out of range, they complied but looked put out by the request.
Buffet breakfast was good, large bowls of fresh fruit, blueberries, strawberries, etc., poached eggs, scrambled, local bacon and sausages, one morning pancakes, one French toast. Didn't do dinners as we did not pack dressy clothes and also the prices were on the high side.
My only other complaint was the number of seagulls in the small waterfront area, which I am sure, is difficult for the property to deal with. They left their calling cards on the dock, raft, water trampoline, etc. not very sanitary.
The outdoor heated pool was open; there is a fitness room we didn't get to. We got a coupon from the Concierge for $5 each off the admission to Shelburne Museum. All in all a relaxing and enjoyable stay except for the jumping dog encounter. I imagine in high season (Memorial Day to Labor Day) it must get pretty wild with lots of kiddies but this time of year it was quiet and peaceful.

  • Liked — Peaceful and Quiet lake view
  • Disliked — dogs, dogs and more dogs
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeaganLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Booked as part of a fly/drive with virgin and to be honest it was pointless. From the moment we arrived we felt as though we were imposing. Reception very dark and depressing.
We had one of the rooms above reception and it was pretty poor - even as part of Virgin's superior package!
Expensive food. Not a great atmosphere and nothing around where you can escape to.
I'm glad we only stayed one night. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UkMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Basin Harbor Club for 3 nights over Labor day weekend. In our thirties, we were a minority without children or dogs in tow, but we did find activities such as golf and biking, and cocktails on our lake view deck to enjoy.
The history of the resort is noteworthy and we did dine next to the 4th generation owner in the dining room, but the place is far more rundown than you would expect from a family run resort. Perhaps they are lsoing customers and not able to reinvest in the 122 year old property? It is poorly kept up, with the exception of the flower gardens. The paint was chipping, there were plentiful spider webs and bugs in window sills, etc. I can overlook the aesthetics since we paid a low rate with TravelZoo, but the service was negligent to rude in some cases. Granted we were there at the end of the summer (seasonal help was "checked out") and we are not an annual guest (as many are) but we had several experiences where the bartender, front desk and dining room hostess blatantly made us feel like we were imposing.
Vergennes is an interesting location with cute restaurants and stores to be explored so think twice before you sign up for the Full American Plan and pay $$$$ for mediocre food.

  • Liked — the Views of Lake Champlain
  • Disliked — The bug laden cottages
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstadt am Main
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed two nights at Basin Harbor Club. Our first impression was really really good, the man at the reception was so friendly and gave us a warm welcome. But as soon as we saw our room, the first impression vanished. It was in one of the cottages, in the "cellar". The view from the window showed the parking lot - at least we could always have an eye on our car. The windows were so dirty, they urgently needed cleaning. Another surprise was that we didn't have a TV in the room. I thought it would be a standard having a television in a hotel room.
But the most disgusting part of the room was the bathroom. There was mould in the corners of the floor and especially on the ceiling of the shower. I really tried not having a shower.

All in all I thought it a pity that the room was so disappointing. The whole resort seemed to be really beautiful, the countryside was beautiful with the lake and there were a lot of things to do. But the disappointment on our room screwd up the whole two days - and it was our honeymoon (what the hotel must have known as it was on our voucher)

  • Liked — lake at the hotel
  • Disliked — cleanliness of the room, location of the hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasenpups77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

our family consisting of grandparents, parents and young children had our annual vacation here. the owners are always around which gives all an air of caring. the food was certainly adequate. it was fresh and plentiful, but not gourmet. breakfast and lunch buffets were better than dinners. we didn't expect luxury, and the accommodations were fine. the place, on the whole could use a coat of paint and a scrub brush on all the doors and windows of the cabins. there was an empty bowl on our porch for our entire visit.

saying all that, the kids had the best time imaginable. activities were plentiful. wish they didn't charge for all guided adult walks, and use of tennis courts, however. charge a few extra bucks, and include more activities for the adults.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank hisim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Primarily a family resort on the lake, however, just my wife and I stayed for 2 nights and loved the place. We will return with our family next time! We stayed in a building that was built around 1800 - they have many different buildings on the property, plus cabins - some that overlook the lake. The resort has a golf course, large heated pool, numerous children activities, boating, and excellent food. We did not eat dinner in the formal dinning room, but ate at the Red Mill on the property. This is family type dinning, however, the food was very good. The highlight of our trip was the "shore" lobster dinner. They set up a large tent next to the lake, plus tables near the lake, for a wonderful dinner. The property has beautiful flower gardens, which my wife enjoyed on a flower tour. The evenings end early, with no TV or radios in your room, however, their was a TV in a common room.

  • Liked — Family run resort that cares about the guests
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergennes
20.4 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
661 reviews
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
636 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
15.9 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
560 reviews
21.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basin Harbor

Property: Basin Harbor
Address: 4800 Basin Harbor Rd, Vergennes, VT 05491-8521 (Formerly Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Vergennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basin Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basin Harbor is a 700 acre resort and boat club on the shores of Lake Champlain. Owned and operated by 4th generation innkeepers, we have over 130 years of exceptional guest service. Open for three seasons, Basin Harbor offers a peaceful retreat for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, unparalleled service and a dedication to excellent food, integrating Addison County's over 200 farmers and producers. Basin Harbor's diverse offerings accommodate family vacations, destination weddings, golf outings and corporate retreats. Our recreational menu include an 18 hole golf course with practice facilities, tennis courts, badminton, croquet, water skiing, boat rentals, kayaks, sailboats, power boat rentals and over 40 boat slips for overnight docking at the Boat Club at Basin Harbor. Our renowned Kids Camp offers comprehensive programming for ages 3-17. Visit Vermont's finest lakeside resort and boat club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Harbor Club Hotel Vergennes
Basin Harbor Hotel
Basin Harbor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing