We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Basin Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basin Harbor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Booked as part of a fly/drive with virgin and to be honest it was pointless. From the moment we arrived we felt as though we were imposing. Reception very dark and depressing.
We had one of the rooms above reception and it was pretty poor - even as part of Virgin's superior package!
Expensive food. Not a great atmosphere and nothing around where you can escape to.
I'm glad we only stayed one night. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UkMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    114
    38
    29
    14
See reviews for
128
147
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Basin Harbor Club for 3 nights over Labor day weekend. In our thirties, we were a minority without children or dogs in tow, but we did find activities such as golf and biking, and cocktails on our lake view deck to enjoy.
The history of the resort is noteworthy and we did dine next to the 4th generation owner in the dining room, but the place is far more rundown than you would expect from a family run resort. Perhaps they are lsoing customers and not able to reinvest in the 122 year old property? It is poorly kept up, with the exception of the flower gardens. The paint was chipping, there were plentiful spider webs and bugs in window sills, etc. I can overlook the aesthetics since we paid a low rate with TravelZoo, but the service was negligent to rude in some cases. Granted we were there at the end of the summer (seasonal help was "checked out") and we are not an annual guest (as many are) but we had several experiences where the bartender, front desk and dining room hostess blatantly made us feel like we were imposing.
Vergennes is an interesting location with cute restaurants and stores to be explored so think twice before you sign up for the Full American Plan and pay $$$$ for mediocre food.

  • Liked — the Views of Lake Champlain
  • Disliked — The bug laden cottages
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstadt am Main
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed two nights at Basin Harbor Club. Our first impression was really really good, the man at the reception was so friendly and gave us a warm welcome. But as soon as we saw our room, the first impression vanished. It was in one of the cottages, in the "cellar". The view from the window showed the parking lot - at least we could always have an eye on our car. The windows were so dirty, they urgently needed cleaning. Another surprise was that we didn't have a TV in the room. I thought it would be a standard having a television in a hotel room.
But the most disgusting part of the room was the bathroom. There was mould in the corners of the floor and especially on the ceiling of the shower. I really tried not having a shower.

All in all I thought it a pity that the room was so disappointing. The whole resort seemed to be really beautiful, the countryside was beautiful with the lake and there were a lot of things to do. But the disappointment on our room screwd up the whole two days - and it was our honeymoon (what the hotel must have known as it was on our voucher)

  • Liked — lake at the hotel
  • Disliked — cleanliness of the room, location of the hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasenpups77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

our family consisting of grandparents, parents and young children had our annual vacation here. the owners are always around which gives all an air of caring. the food was certainly adequate. it was fresh and plentiful, but not gourmet. breakfast and lunch buffets were better than dinners. we didn't expect luxury, and the accommodations were fine. the place, on the whole could use a coat of paint and a scrub brush on all the doors and windows of the cabins. there was an empty bowl on our porch for our entire visit.

saying all that, the kids had the best time imaginable. activities were plentiful. wish they didn't charge for all guided adult walks, and use of tennis courts, however. charge a few extra bucks, and include more activities for the adults.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank hisim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Primarily a family resort on the lake, however, just my wife and I stayed for 2 nights and loved the place. We will return with our family next time! We stayed in a building that was built around 1800 - they have many different buildings on the property, plus cabins - some that overlook the lake. The resort has a golf course, large heated pool, numerous children activities, boating, and excellent food. We did not eat dinner in the formal dinning room, but ate at the Red Mill on the property. This is family type dinning, however, the food was very good. The highlight of our trip was the "shore" lobster dinner. They set up a large tent next to the lake, plus tables near the lake, for a wonderful dinner. The property has beautiful flower gardens, which my wife enjoyed on a flower tour. The evenings end early, with no TV or radios in your room, however, their was a TV in a common room.

  • Liked — Family run resort that cares about the guests
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

I note that the previous reviewers are all from America so I thought I'd give a UK perspective. We booked through Virgin Atlantic and loved the idea of the rural location and activities however we were not warned about the formality of the main dining room. We never take formal clothing on holiday and boys aged 10 upwards are required to wear a jacket and tie. Whilst the staff offered to loan some jackets and ties they would not have gone with the jeans and shorts. As we were not offered any dining plan the meal at $44 plus tax and 18% inforced gratuity didn't represent value for money. The Redmill restaurant was more casual however we found the standard of food very much depended on what you ordered. My meal of fish and chips was appalling and had to be sent back but the staff dealt with the situation compassionately and efficiently.
We also found the resort focused mainly on golf and tennis and there were additional costs for all activities. If we had been made aware of what the Basin Harbor offered we definately would not have booked it. Saying that the location and views are wonderful and it is very peaceful and totally relaxing. We stayed in an historic room which was well furnished with all the facilities we needed however the shower room reminded me of being in a caravan, it was desperately in need of renovation. Please don't be put off by my review we had a nice couple of days and our view wasn't representative of the many families who return year after. The guest book was full of high praise from guests on their 10th visit. There were lots of large family groups which included three generations.

  • Liked — The wonderful location and views.
  • Disliked — The formality at dinner and the additional costs for activities.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, August 26, 2008
We are grateful that this British family chose to stay with us at Basin Harbor. As many non-US visitors do, they booked through a tour wholesaler in the UK. We receive no information about the guests, aside from their name and number in the party, until they show up on our door. Unless they choose to visit our web site before their visit, there is no way we can tell them about what to expect once they arrive. If only tour operators would share contact information about arriving guests, we could give them a complete expectation of what they would find when they got to at Basin Harbor.

The world is a wonderful place with many diverse hotels and resorts. Thank you for your feedback about your visit, and happy travels in the future.

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

My in-laws took the entire family (12 adults, 6 children under age 8) to Basin Harbor for a week this summer. They had heard the food was phenomenal and that it was perfect for families with young children. Among the 18 of us, we had 6 cabins all within walking distance of each other, and within walking distance of the dining rooms and most activities. We were all on the Full American Plan, which included unlimited meals, most activities and kid camp for ages 3+. (Diaper Champ Camp for under age 3 was additional cost).

The breakfast and lunch buffets were, indeed, amazing. The variety of fresh fruits, veggies, pastries, hot entrees, cold cuts, etc. that were offered each meal were delicious and abundant. The fresh melons, berries and succulent Vermont sausages at breakfast each morning were particularly memorable. And the variety of fresh and healthy salads every lunch were fabulous. Dinners, on the other hand, were a disappointment. Since there is no daily dinner buffet option (except for a couple of special cookouts that were relocated indoors because of the weather), we ate several dinners in the Main Dining Room, which was 'formal' (jacket and tie for men). The meat entrees were usually overcooked and for the most part tasteless. Our last dinner in the Main dining room was better than the first few, so maybe the regular chef returned from vacation? Dinners at the Red Mill Restaurant, however, were much better. Red Mill was the casual dining room/restaurant that was much more kid friendly and where the food was much better.

Aside from the food, the service at Basin Harbor was a mixed bag. The staff were for the most part exceedingly friendly and helpful, but the Main dining room management was poor. On one occasion, they completely dropped the ball for a birthday party dinner and didn't set up a private room as previously coordinated. There were two other occasions where our dinner experience in the Main dining room were botched, and while the staff was for the most part sufficiently apologetic, there seemed to be no one head person in charge to oversee the mishandling and miscommunications.

The cabins were comfortable but not luxurious by any standard. Many of the cabins on the property were built decades ago, and they show their age. While we had our cabin cleaned every day, sometimes our used glasses/mugs were left dirty, the shower gel wasn't refilled the entire time we were there and was empty by the last day, and the beds were made haphazardly at times. None of the cabins have TVs, but most (if not all) have small mini-fridges, a small sink, and fireplaces. My family's one-bedroom cabin had to sleep 5 (2 adults and 3 kids), and we squeezed into two full-sized beds and a cot (my 2 boys slept in one full bed, my daughter slept on the cot and my husband and I slept on the other full bed). We had one large bedroom and a nice-sized living room and huge bathroom.

While our accommodations were adequate, my brother-in-law's cabin was less accommodating for his family of four. Their one-bedroom cabin only had two twin beds and a crib (Basin Harbor provided the crib), and a pull-out couch in the living room. So he slept on the pull-out, his wife slept in one twin bed, and his daughters slept in the twin and crib. Not an ideal sleeping arrangement. And, the crib was so rickety and loud that they had to move the crib to the bathroom so the baby wouldn't wake up her sister. They were not happy with the arrangement.

Despite some awkward sleeping arrangements, spotty housecleaning service, and poor Main Dining Room management, our entire family had a great time. Basin Harbor is a relaxing environment, provides lots of opportunities for outdoor activities (kayaks, sunfish, paddleboats, bikes, tennis, golf, etc. all for additional fees), and is wonderful for young families. The kids camps are great, and the breakfasts and lunches are fantastic. If you're looking for 4- or 5-star treatment and amenities, you'll be disappointed by Basin Harbor. But if you're looking for a relaxing family experience with mostly good food and ample activities, then give them a try. It's kind of like a nice summer camp for families.

  • Liked — Great breakfasts and lunches; friendly staff
  • Disliked — Dinners in Main dining room; spotty housekeeping
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergennes
20.4 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
21.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
21.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 12 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basin Harbor

Property: Basin Harbor
Address: 4800 Basin Harbor Rd, Vergennes, VT 05491-8521 (Formerly Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Vergennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basin Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basin Harbor is a 700 acre resort and boat club on the shores of Lake Champlain. Owned and operated by 4th generation innkeepers, we have over 130 years of exceptional guest service. Open for three seasons, Basin Harbor offers a peaceful retreat for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, unparalleled service and a dedication to excellent food, integrating Addison County's over 200 farmers and producers. Basin Harbor's diverse offerings accommodate family vacations, destination weddings, golf outings and corporate retreats. Our recreational menu include an 18 hole golf course with practice facilities, tennis courts, badminton, croquet, water skiing, boat rentals, kayaks, sailboats, power boat rentals and over 40 boat slips for overnight docking at the Boat Club at Basin Harbor. Our renowned Kids Camp offers comprehensive programming for ages 3-17. Visit Vermont's finest lakeside resort and boat club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Harbor Club Hotel Vergennes
Basin Harbor Hotel
Basin Harbor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing