We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice...could use some more attention on the property”
Review of Basin Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basin Harbor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I called on a Saturday Columbus Day Weekend for a Saturday night reservation during fall foliage! Not the brightest move. However, I was pleasantly surprised to be able to get a 2 BDRM cottage for my family and I. It is really off the "main road"...more like a cottage/camping type community but beautiful right on the banks of Lake Champlain at the south basin. We got there at twilight and by the time we got the key for our cottage it was darker and made for finding the cottage a challenge. You can be in the right vicinity but the cottages are just not as well lit as they should be so being my first time we tried three properties before we got to our property. The 2 BDRM was very nice...no TV's so make sure the kids know ahead of time (I thought mine were going to have the shakes), but we had a quiet evening. The condition of the property was nice, not overly immaculate and it seemed like all of the lights needed to be plugged in as they weren't which made it even darker in the room. There is a very small kitchenette area but no microwave. Overall, we were grateful to have the room/cottage and the staff had a Halloween theme going and EVERYONE including front desk staff were in full costume (MADE IT FUN).

Room Tip: If you plan on using the fireplace make sure the staff has provided enough wood for the evening as o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We're glad this family had fun at Harborween, Basin Harbor's annual Halloween celebration.

Night lighting is on the list for improvement so these guests will see a nice difference for their next visit.

Thank you for joining us over Columbus Day weekend.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beaach
Fourth Generation Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 408 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Don't come expecting sleek and contemporary decor. Basin Harbor is a historic property in a gorgeous location on Lake Champlain. The property is extensive, with cottages of various sizes along the lake and dotted around the acreage.
My husband and I have been coming to a fall financial conference here for almost 40 years. We prefer to stay in the Lodge, because it is centrally located. Many of the cottages are a long walk from the dining room, which can be inconvenient and unpleasant in bad weather.
The first floor of the Lodge includes the dining room, a meeting room, sitting areas, a bar, a gift shop, and a TV room. There are no guest rooms on the first floor. They are on the second and third floor, and the stairs up are narrow and rather steep, so not suitable for mobility challenged guests.
Basin Harbor has been very accommodating about giving us the same room each year, Lodge 128. My husband likes it because the bathroom is large enough to double as an office.
The room is nicely furnished with twin beds, a bureau, a desk & chair, and a wicker chair in the window alcove. I like the floral wallpaper. Amenities include an ironing board & iron, a coffee maker, a hair dryer, wi fi, plenty of fluffy white towels, extra pillows and blankets, a window air conditioner, baseboard heating, and a ceiling fan. I assume most rooms are similar.
One thing is a little disconcerting. There is no venting fan in the bathroom, so a hot shower can set off the smoke detector. Open the window!
There is no TV in the rooms, although there are TVs in the bar, the conference room, and the TV room in the Lodge.
There are two computers in the TV room for the use of guests, and if you print anything, it shows up on the printer at the concierge's desk.
As conference guests, we had a special menu. The food is tasty and the soups and desserts are especially good.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Jinxie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Many of Basin Harbor's guests have been coming for years as this couple's review indicates. We're thrilled that they enjoy our simple, comfortable resort and all it has to offer.

Thank you for your comments - we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the lodge and upon enterering the room the first thing I noticed was multiple dark stains all over the beige carpeting. Disgusting. The windows were dirty and very difficult to open with an outdate airconditioner in one of the windows blocking the "harbor" view. I spoke to a person staying in one of the cabins and she said it smelled of mold. The location is beautiful but the accomodations are average at best. Also the golf course was very disappointing. The back nine was in terrible shape and just a very bland layout. We cancelled our second round and went to Kwiniaska golf course which was AWESOME. Overall ,the weather and location made our weekend great but the accomodations were very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We're sorry for the condition in which these guests found their room. We regret the carpet stains, which we have been unable to get out (what do people do to cause this sort of stain???), so the offending carpet is slated to be replaced for the 2014 season.

The golf course is recovering, albeit slowly, from extreme rains and heat earlier in the season. The countryside is rolling here so the course is relatively flat. We're glad the couple enjoyed the Kwiniaska course nearby.

Our thanks to these guests for staying with us, and for choosing Vermont for a fall getaway.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the main Lodge in the smallest room for the color vibe ( which was very small) We knew we were in the smallest room when we booked. Property was beautiful and desk attendants very attentive both at check in and when we needed extra towels. Cell service and internet on the property are very limited so if having these are important Basin Harbor may not be the right place for you. The rooms in the lodge have no TV.
Golf course was great and very reasonable.
Breakfast buffet was amazing. so many options, all fresh and plentiful. the Red Mill Restaurant was a nice casual tavern. food was pretty good. Prices were over priced for what you got.
Being able to stay on the property and be able to walk every where was a plus.
All and all not a bad place just not the perfect place for us. I definitely am glad we had a special price as it was definitely not worth full price

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PVANH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

How nice that these guests chose to stay with us as part of their participation in the Color Vibe Fun Run. The room they occupied is indeed the smallest room on the property so typically people who choose it don't plan to spend much time in it during their visit, and it is priced accordingly.

We're glad they enjoyed golf and breakfast and hope they'll return to sample a larger room or one of the lakeside cottages.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

2 night stay in main lodge room overlooking the lake. Slant in the floor of our room quite noticeable, hallways narrow, carpet worn, floors creaked, so the property is showing its age. OK for 2 nights, but anything longer would suggest a cabin. No fridge, microwave, or TV. Onsite food was excellent, but pricey. Gardens were beautiful. Staff to be commended for their attentiveness. Nearby Lake Champlain Maritime Museum was impressive.

Room Tip: Our room at the main lodge was quaint and small, but showing its age. It did face the lake. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hern2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

These guests stayed in the Lodge which dates from the 1870s, so yes, the floors do slant and creak. Cottages are more up to date and larger. We're so glad to know that food and service were enjoyed, and that the guests liked the beautiful gardens. Thanks for your review!

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This time we found ourselves in Mayfair 1, A cottage near the pool and across from a tennis court.
The cottage itself was neat and clean. We enjoyed the screened in porch. Room had a double bed and a twin. Both beds were comfortable. We would have preferred two doubles or two queens but we made it work. The refrigerator slides around...so be careful. The bathroom plenty big enough. Could use a few hooks for clothes/towels on door. Two negatives to Mayfair1. The clothesline in the shower is NONOPERABLE. String is broken. The bigger problem is the linoleum floor is very slippery when one puts the floor mat down and steps out of the shower you will slide...and I have a bruise on my leg from where I caught myself to keep from falling. Either put a shower matte down that is slip resistant OR fix the floor.

Wi fi is excellent on property. Pool could have been a little cleaner.It was fine, but it wasn't as skimmed as it could have been. Fitness center I used every day. It was clean, all equipment was operable. Bathroom clean.

The breakfast is expensive but we skip lunch because of it so to us it is worth it. The food is well prepared, always hot and delicious. The staff is usually pretty attentive at keeping the serving platters full and your coffee/juice refilled.

The high light for my family is the fun at the harbor beach. We float, swim, boat, fish...and dad gets to drink a beer between taking Perch off the line, baiting a worm. While he even gets to boogie to a DJ tune at the beach party with some bridesmaids. Mom said it was okay...really. :)

We skipped the Red Mill for dinner this time, but my kids had lunch there everyday as part of the kids program.

Finally, the gardens are exceptional most summers, but really great this one. It was an enjoyable Labor Day respite. Not a cheap place, Not a sparkling new place....but a great place.

See you next year.

If you read this and it is helpful please click the button. Thanks!

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues stay in the Lodge or the first floor of Champlain House which is driveab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quietmanNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We're glad this family had fun on their fifth visit. Our five generation family resort is always honored with repeat guests. We wish they had let us know about the broken clothesline and slippery floor during their visit so we could have made necessary fixes but we're glad they mentioned it so we can get it fixed now!

We look forward to welcoming you back for your sixth visit next year!

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Basin Harbor is an amazing spot, great for a family vacation. The resort is tucked away in a corner of Lake Champlain that you would miss unless you were from Vermont or knew about it, which a lot of people do, apparently, from the trips with the parents and grandparents. Private landing strip, well-equipped cottages and a lovely main house. Be prepared for a lot of preppy updressing, including sport coat requirement for dinner in the main lodge (they have extras if you don't like to bring sport coats to Vermont), teal slacks, golf casual types, etc., but the spot is worth it, even with the NYC-friendly grass landing strip and corporate-lunch vibe. There's a casual pub, boats, biking, and plenty to do with the family, even if the (not-in-the) social register list of who's who's amuse more than entice you. Old school New England pretense plus charm and lots of space.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages are excellent and an easy walk from the lodge, especially if you don't come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GhengisWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

It sounds like this first-time guest had a blast! Many families return each year yet they are always eager to make new friends. Many thanks to this reviewer for a fresh perspective on the Basin Harbor experience.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergennes
16.9 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
231 reviews
15.9 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
630 reviews
20.4 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
705 reviews
20.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
23.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basin Harbor

Address: 4800 Basin Harbor Rd, Vergennes, VT 05491-8521 (Formerly Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Vergennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Price Range: $272 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basin Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basin Harbor is a 700 acre resort and boat club on the shores of Lake Champlain. Owned and operated by 4th generation innkeepers, we have over 130 years of exceptional guest service. Open for three seasons, Basin Harbor offers a peaceful retreat for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, unparalleled service and a dedication to excellent food, integrating Addison County's over 200 farmers and producers. Basin Harbor's diverse offerings accommodate family vacations, destination weddings, golf outings and corporate retreats. Our recreational menu include an 18 hole golf course with practice facilities, tennis courts, badminton, croquet, water skiing, boat rentals, kayaks, sailboats, power boat rentals and over 40 boat slips for overnight docking at the Boat Club at Basin Harbor. Our renowned Kids Camp offers comprehensive programming for ages 3-17. Visit Vermont's finest lakeside resort and boat club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Harbor Club Hotel Vergennes
Basin Harbor Hotel
Basin Harbor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing