We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basin Harbor Golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Basin Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basin Harbor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Basin Harbor Golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just a quick note re: Golf at BH.

Fairly long but flat course....front nine can be played in about 2 hrs. or less......back nine a bit more challenging. Wide, well maintained fairways and nice greens. Course is walkable although some of the tee areas are spread out.

My wife and I have played here several times and always enjoy the experience even when it is windy......like June 2013.

Sign up for email notices and you get some good deals early and late in the season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Dom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Did you know that the Basin Harbor golf course was once farm fields which provided the feed for the resort's farm animals? As the reviewer noted, it's fairly flat and certainly provides a challenge on windy days! Thank you for your recommendation - come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    114
    38
    29
    13
See reviews for
128
146
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

For the 4th year in a row, we enjoyed spending a few days relaxing at Basin Harbor. Situated along the southeastern shore of Lake Champlain, this wonderful old resort has activities for everyone from golf, tennis, croquet, swimming, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, to just sitting quietly under a tree. In fact we never want to leave when the time comes but know we'll always find a warm welcome on our return.

Room Tip: The cottages along the lake have marvelous views of the Adirondacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
It's so nice that this family chooses to return again and again! Thank you for the kind words about your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great old resort right on Lake Champlain.......very nice golf course.....wide open and flat.....walkable.

We stayed in the Homestead right by the harbor.....nice location.....god for loafing around the lake.....just a short walk to the main lodge for a wonderful buffet breakfast!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Homestead....a separate building from the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpNy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for the report of your visit. Basin Harbor is definitely a wonderful place for walking, on the golf course or off! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon Springs, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Every time we drive onto the property we are at peace. Accommodations in cabins and lodge are comfortable, quiet, and homelike. Don't miss the television, and wifi allowed connections with absent family members. Golf course is in good shape despite the heavy storms of the last few weeks. Breakfast buffet was sumptuous and fresh -- I don't usually try scrambled eggs from a buffet but these were excellent.
Staff are friendly and attentive. When our screen door broke in a locked position, maintenance responded quickly and effectively to replace the mechanism.
Our only complaint is that the quality and variety of dinner selections at the Red Mill are not up to the standards of other years. Last September we thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary dinner there but as currently organized it's fine for a drink and light snack but not a place we would go for a celebratory meal. Lunch was OK, however.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We're so glad to know that this returning guest enjoyed his visit.

We are not glad to know that he wasn't happy with the Red Mill menu this year (it changes seasonally), and will be working hard to make sure it meets his expectations next time. We definitely appreciate learning when things aren't right, so we thank this guest for letting us know.

Best wishes for a great summer - hope to see you again this fall for your anniversary.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to Vermont from York, England and stepped into this wonderful, peaceful and elegant resort. The views are breathtaking, the lake is beautiful and we just loved how the whole place is set up for families to spend real quality time together. I was sad to see the reviews which commented that the club was dated. It is not a 5* hotel and does not market itself as one, everything on the website is as described and the cottages are comfortable and cosy. It's 5* for the experience, location and its whole philosophy. We loved this place! Staff were great , our 4 year old thought it was magical. A special mention for Captain Brian, an absolute credit to the club. Our daughter talked non stop about him. He gave a very warm welcome to all and very knowledgable and good at his job. It might be an 8 hour flight and 4 hour drive but we will be back to this little peace of heaven in Vermont.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review! We can't wait to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, Vermont
Level Contributor
191 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for a conference. The golf course is very nice and well maintained. However, the hotel public rooms and areas are definitely sub par. Much of the outside wood stairs and landings were overly weathered and appeared, in some cases to be rotten. The furniture inside the lobby, restaurant and public areas was old, worn and, frankly, tacky. One of the sofas lacked its bottom cushions and had a printed out sign apologizing for their absence. Similarly, some of the chairs even appeared to have plastic cushions that had a fabric print on them - definitely not what you would expect from a supposedly upmarket resort.

Our lodge looked out onto Lake Champlain and had a wonderful ambience. The interior was tastefully decorated and appointed. However, the exterior was definitely in need of extensive TLC. The keys that we were given for our lodge did not fit the lock. When we took them back to the front desk, there was a rather comical scene with many different keys being pulled out to compare the key cuttings on them. Finally, we were given the right ones.

The food at the resort was good and most of the wait staff friendly. However, some of the hotel staff seemed clueless at times when you asked them questions. The marina manager (Brian) was very friendly and provided us with extensive information regarding the history of the resort.

The resort's location and views of Lake Champlain are second to none. There is a definite charm given the old world feel of the place. However, old world charm does not mean that the facilities should be left to the elements. The resort is in desperate need of a major renovation, which I have no doubt would cost several million dollars. If that occurred, the resort could compete with the likes of the Equinox in Manchester (whose rates are comparable). Without it, it doesn't even come close, except for the views. One last gripe, unbelievably, this resort does not accept Amex. If it wants to compete with the top notch resorts, and taking into account the high rates that it charges in season, it needs to do so.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We regret this guest's impression that Basin Harbor Club is run down. She/he arrived just after a weekend of pelting rain and high winds, the likes of which we haven't seen since Irene. It takes wood surfaces a while to dry out thoroughly after that sort of event. Walkways and decks are constructed of pressure treated wood which develops checks that do not mean it is rotting away.

Decor is a subjective thing. Our goal is to be comfortable - we aren't a modern property so we aren't trendy as new properties may be. It was not our goal to have sofa cushions missing but these things happen when you aren't doing your own upholstery. The "plastic" chairs the guest referred to are vinyl-coated fabric, such as you may find in the public areas of esteemed properties like the Greenbrier.

We're sorry that we gave incorrect keys to the guest at check in. We have old-fashioned keys (as opposed to plastic key cards) and apparently a mistake was made in labeling them. It wasn't our intent to cause aggravation.

We've never felt defined by credit cards we do or don't take for payment. Our experience is that virtually all travelers have more than one brand, and we're also happy to accept checks for payment.

Wouldn't we like to spend millions on upgrades to Basin Harbor Club! This property has been owned and operated by our family since 1886. We don't have deep pockets but we do spend all the funds we make on the upkeep of this 700-acre, 110-building facility. We're a Vermont business and very proud of it.

It is nice to know that the guest liked her/his cottage overlooking Lake Champlain, the food and service. We're grateful for her/his comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome her'him back again soon.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Basin Harbor Club is a gem. The property has beautiful views of Lake Champlain, as well as great restaurants and amenities. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin with family, which has everything we needed for several nights. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were a bit outdated but clean, and the kitchenette and family room allowed us to easily spend time together. The main house and restaurant were a short walk away, and the food was very good. There are water sports to take advantage of on the Lake, and we enjoyed a bonfire with smores at night. Our stay was relaxing and refreshing, and we're looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
As we look forward to opening for our 127th year on May 12, it's nice to hear from guests who not only enjoyed their visit in 2012 but also look forward to returning in 2013. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergennes
20.4 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
21.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
21.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 11 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basin Harbor

Property: Basin Harbor
Address: 4800 Basin Harbor Rd, Vergennes, VT 05491-8521 (Formerly Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Vergennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basin Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basin Harbor is a 700 acre resort and boat club on the shores of Lake Champlain. Owned and operated by 4th generation innkeepers, we have over 130 years of exceptional guest service. Open for three seasons, Basin Harbor offers a peaceful retreat for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, unparalleled service and a dedication to excellent food, integrating Addison County's over 200 farmers and producers. Basin Harbor's diverse offerings accommodate family vacations, destination weddings, golf outings and corporate retreats. Our recreational menu include an 18 hole golf course with practice facilities, tennis courts, badminton, croquet, water skiing, boat rentals, kayaks, sailboats, power boat rentals and over 40 boat slips for overnight docking at the Boat Club at Basin Harbor. Our renowned Kids Camp offers comprehensive programming for ages 3-17. Visit Vermont's finest lakeside resort and boat club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Harbor Club Hotel Vergennes
Basin Harbor Hotel
Basin Harbor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing