We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, not quite up to standard expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basin Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Basin Harbor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Certificate of Excellence
Mosbach, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location, not quite up to standard expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The setting is beautifull of the hotel though it is in no walking distance to any restaurants and bars. We appreciated the tranquility of the place, but have to comment on the rooms. The first room we were given was half subterrain hence having a moldy smell. A window was cracked, which we really did not expect here. Upon complaining we got the super large Arcadia Lodge which features a jacuzzi and a fireplace.
This was far beyoiunf our expectations and a very nice gesture from the management. However the place had bad housekeeping. Pubic hairs in the bathroom from previous guest also in the bathtub dont give a feeling of comfort. Upon our second day I had to call in house service in the evening to clean the room again. Upon leavving after cleaning they forgot to lock the front door, a stupid but potentialy costly mistake for the guest.
I recommend going to the red mill restaurant rather than the one in the main complex. Food is better and price value ratio too. All in all could be great place if the housekeeping was better. Do complain when something is not in order.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panarabica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We were happy that this guest enjoyed his stay in Arcadia and of course we were disappointed in the need to have our staff return to do the job correctly to get the cottage clean. He's right that one should always speak up if there are issues.

We appreciate this guest's second posting on October 9, too!

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    114
    38
    29
    13
See reviews for
128
146
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I went there for a long weekend with my teenage son and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. the setting is spectacular--views of Lake Champlain, flowers everywhere. And there are so many things to do. We waterskiied,, sailed, hiked and played tennis. In spite of all the activities, the place maintains a relaxed feeling. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
It's always special when you can have a good time with your teen! Thank you for letting us know.

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, VT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Having just finished a week long reunion with 180 friends, I'm smiling and feel pampered by the BHC staff and crew. All food experiences - buffet breakfasts, sit down dinners and Red Mill restaurant (on property) lunches were delightfully delicious and served graciously by the wait staff. The various cottages and lodge rooms have "country charm" and were clean. The staff helped our event provide so many activities - guided kayaking, beadwork, bicycles, heated swimming pool, narrated Escape boat cruises, fireworks and campfires complete with hot chocolate & cider - that no one complained about not having TV's (which are available for rent). Afternoon maple cookies and always available hand polished apples were just additionally appreciated attention to details this fine family run resort provides to make you feel pampered through and through.

Room Tip: Many places have stairs (inside and outside), so make any handicapping needs known so you can be acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
This group of friends came from all over to celebrate a 50th Reunion - it's so nice to know a good time was had by all!

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Basin Harbor Club has about 80 cottages on premises many with water views of lake champlain. They also have a lodge with meeting rooms and bed rooms. Excellent food in both restaurants on premises. Beautiful grounds with great golf course.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poinciana200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Basin Harbor could not have provided a more perfect wedding weekend for my dear friends. The staff truly was exceptional, from the front desk ready and willing to send items to our cottage (tape and scissors for wrapping gifts to toothpaste), to the servers and bartenders we experienced on our three day wedding weekend. The staff went above and beyond to ensure a comfortable stay, and looked like they enjoyed being there (sadly so rare). Our cottage, Cornell, was located in the woods which gave our group privacy, and lovely views of a little cove. It was spacious for three couples (and extra room if needed) with airy kitchen and living room, laundry and two decks. I just wish we were able to stay longer!

The grounds are beautifully maintained with stunning gardens, plenty of Adirondack chairs and lovely views of the Lake and Mountains. The reception although rainy was perfect, staff was ready by the entrance of the tent with umbrellas (as you had a quick walk to the bathrooms), and the food was delicious (not always so with large weddings), everything was hot, perfectly seasoned, flavorful, and the cake was superb. The bartenders were generous, entertaining and remembered our drink orders. Thank you for making the weekend so enjoyable, I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Cornell Cottage was an ideal location for those looking for more privacy with a larger group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HTravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. We hope you'll return for another visit soon.

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Basin Harbor is a beautiful resort. We went for a wedding. Stayed from Friday to Sunday am. The Lodge was where we had our suite. Medium size suites, cozy comfortable but not 21st century by any means. Carpets need to be replaced. AC window units not adequate to cool room. No TV or entertainment systems in room. WiFi worked great. Rooms need updating.
Grounds are marvelous, golf course, boating, hiking, swimming....awesome. The new Fitness Center is beautiful and we enjoyed it immensely. It has a spiritual quality in the environment. Overall the best part of Basin Harbor is the FOOD and WINE! Wow, Wow, Wow.....dinners, desserts, breakfast, coffee and fine wines at reasonable prices by the glass or the bottle...absolutely wonderful cuisine and service. International flare with servers from around the world waiting on your table. We truly were satiated and delighted. Thank you Basin Harbor!

Room Tip: Try a small cottage or the newer building instead of the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler54Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for telling everyone how much you enjoyed your weekend visit! The carpets in the Lodge have been replaced - we had to wait for a low occupancy time to accomplish. It's so nice to know you enjoyed the food. Come back soon -

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The golf course was in excellent condition and we had no time getting the tee times we wanted and it was generally uncrowded when we were there. It was a good course for all abilities. It was between seasons, after Labor Day and before foliage season. The buildings and grounds were nicely decorated for Fall and the flowers were still lovely. The service was good, especially in the main dining room. We were two couples and stayed in the Greenledge cabin which is on the water. As others have described, thet cabin was clean and plain It had two good bathrooms with double sinks and was furnished with simple/plain but adequate furniture. We were satisfied but I can see where some would be surprised at the simplicity of the cabin. There were many steps from the parking area to this cabin so one who had any walking issues would want to inquire about that. The Club's own cruise boat provided a wonderful hour and a half lake tour. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you have any special needs discuss them before choosing a cabin. Some are more easily acessible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 235KenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We're delighted to know that you and your friends enjoyed your visit. Captain Brian has given many guests a memorable trip on the EScape, and it's nice to count you among them. The golf course is in the best shape it's been in all summer, and the gorgeous weather was the hole in one.

Thanks for joining us.

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergennes
20.9 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
20.2 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 13 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
20.8 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basin Harbor

Property: Basin Harbor
Address: 4800 Basin Harbor Rd, Vergennes, VT 05491-8521 (Formerly Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Vergennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basin Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basin Harbor is a 700 acre resort on the shores of Lake Champlain. Owned and operated by 4th generation innkeepers, we have over 130 years of exceptional guest service. Open for three seasons, Basin Harbor offers a peaceful retreat for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, unparalleled service and a dedication to excellent food, integrating Addison County's over 200 farmers and producers. Basin Harbor's diverse offerings accommodate family vacations, destination weddings, golf outings and corporate retreats. Our recreational menu include an 18 hole golf course with practice facilities, tennis courts, badminton, croquet, water skiing, boat rentals, kayaks, sailboats, power boat rentals and over 40 slips for overnight docking. Our renowned Kids Camp offers comprehensive programming for ages 3-17. Visit Vermont's finest lakeside resort and boat club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Basin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Harbor Club Hotel Vergennes
Basin Harbor Hotel
Basin Harbor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing