We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, easy access”

Button Bay State Park
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Vergennes
Attraction details
Vermont
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice, easy access”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A good family venue, picnicking, swimming, short walks, camping. If you spend time here, make sure you also visit the nearby Kingsland Bay State Park as well, which has a walk around the peninsula which is among the most stunning short walks in the State.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jcrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great short hike.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stopped here for an hour on our way up the coast of Lake Champlain & took the short hike. The hike leads through a lovely forest to a beautiful point on the lake. The side loop (Lake Champlain Trail) leads to a tiny rocky beach where we looked at the interesting fossils from an ancient sea including a large nautilus. We saw some birds, a turtle, & a snake. The map indicated that the hike was 0.5 miles one way, but we think it was more like 1.5 miles round trip; it's an easy hike over a well maintained trail with some gentle elevation change. The nature center was closed when we visited. Anyone who likes to stretch their legs a bit would enjoy this trail. Other reviewers have described the other facilities in the park.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is my favorite swimming place as the views of lake and Adirondack Mountains off the point one accesses at end of a lovely 15 minute walk from parking lot (or 5 minute bike ride) are unsurpassed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jillv433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Button Bay State Park”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Large open park with great access to the lake, I also saw a swimming pool and there were several covered awnings if weather is too hot or wet. Nice park ranger and rest rome

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington VT
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“What all state parks should be.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As a Vermonter, it is my pleasure to visit some of our parks each year. This one is always one of the best maintained. The showers have external entrances, which is more convenient and efficient than having them in the men's and women's rooms. There are a few sites overlooking the lake, and these go very quickly. There are other choices for remote camping, but if you want a nice facility with some amenities, Button Bay is a great choice. There is also a day use area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank VTyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Button Bay State Park also viewed

 

Been to Button Bay State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing