We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blueberry fest Dinner”

Red Mill Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Vergennes
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Open May - October, the distinctive decor featuring rough-hewn beams, antique farm equipment, and walls covered in Basin Harbor nostalgia makes The Red Mill Restaurant a resort favorite. The renovated sawmill features the best fresh and local food ingredients, along with signature Vermont brews, including our own Basin Harbor Ale. It is a casual dining experience you will appreciate. The outdoor playground and horseshoes offer playtime for all ages.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blueberry fest Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great variety of food. try the frogs legs. The Staff is friendly and part of the Basin Harbor complex. The only negative is they charge you for dinner and then charge you to see the music in addition to you dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vbFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    44
    20
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sparta, nj
Level Contributor
553 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Captive diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant is on the premises of the Basin Harbor Club "resort" in Vergennes, Vermont - actually the town of Vergennes where there are several restaurants is about 20 minutes away. We had arrived at about 6 pm to our musty cabin in the woods - tired, hungry, and disappointed. Decided to try the Red Mill since it was on the premises. Front desk had a menu and said that we could have food delivered to our dingy, oppressively hot little cottage in the woods. Ordered eggplant sandwich with coleslaw $8 and husband ordered chopped salad (not sure price). We also ordered the artisan cheese plate $9. About an hour later our food arrived in cardboard take-out containers with plastic utensils and two tiny napkins. Eggplant sandwich came with ice cold fries (instead of the cole slaw that was ordered). The sandwich was tasty. The fries might have been appetizing when they were hot. Chopped salad seemed decent - nothing exceptional. The cheese plate had three minuscule pieces of cheese - blue, cheddar, and brie - with apricot compote and a tiny piece of honey comb with "croustade" - this was three thin slices of less than fresh (but not toasted) baguette. The cheddar and blue were good selections and appropriately warm to enhance flavor - probably sat out with the fries got cold. Don't recommend delivery if you order hot items.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch okay, dinner not so great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My daughter and I had a good salad at lunch but the dinner menu that evening left much to be desired, especially for vegetarians.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well Rounded Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We called for a reservation for dinner on a cold and rainy Saturday during Memorial Day weekend. We arrived 15 minutes early and were promptly seated. Not sure why we couldn't get the 6:30pm reservation we would have preferred, the restaurant had many empty tables. I recommend the Shepards Pie. It was very tasty. My son had the Baby Back Ribs and was disappointed because he only got 6 ribs. The quantity would have been better suited to an appetizer. Consider asking for 2 servings if this is your dinner. We will return this summer since we like watching the planes land and there were other menu items that looked good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magic salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have a few meals here while visiting lake champlain and were very happy. Specially by the salads... They seem to grow as you eat so never manage to finish the food in our plates, we try hard!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CGC1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing