We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok if you like showers with not soap”
Review of Swanton Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swanton Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Swanton B&B and Inns
New Baltimore, Michigan
1 review
“ok if you like showers with not soap”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

when i stayed there it was clean. but i went to take a shower and there was no soap to use and the office was closed.
i wouldn't stay there again because since my stay the prices went to $175 a night. could stay someplace else cheaper with better service.
thanks.
patty

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motelman_12, Owner at Swanton Motel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We have installed a much louder buzzer in the house to capture our attention when office is "closed". Although attended 24 hours per day, we do "close" the office to go to bed. With the new system, and a little time, we will awaken to attend the need.

We place our soaps in dispensers in two locations: one by the sink (hand soap) and a second in the shower (hair and body soap). We've added labels to make it clear. Our soap dispensers have garnered a lot of positive responses. We also keep bars of soap to provide to guests (upon request) for those that prefer them.

Our prices are very competitive for the area, especially since we honor discounts during peaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
9
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

4 of us reserved one of the two "suites" that the motel has. One room had 2 dbl. beds, air conditioner, flat-screen TV on the wall with cable, DVD, small refrigerator, coffee pot, clock radio/alarm, microwave and snacks to buy for $1.00 each. (leave the money in the room for the snacks) The other room had two twin beds, a clock radio/alarm that we unplugged due to a aloud buzzing sound that was not the alarm and a flat-screen TV on the wall with a built-in DVD player but NO cable. That didn't make us too happy. The office does have about 1000 DVD's to borrow, but not the same as having access to cable. Also, the room opened into the small room from the outside. Bathroom had a door from the main bedroom and one from the smaller bedroom. It was very clean, but I think the shower stall needs to be replace. No fan in the bathroom, so it steams up pretty good, especially after 4 showers. The two rooms were very clean, although the runner into the room was stained and maybe should have been removed or changed. I was a little worried about only one air-conditioner because it was a very humid weekend but it was fine as long as you kept the door opened between the two rooms. There was a lovely swimming pool that we didn't have the time to use. We would definitely stay here again. I did tell the management that we would appreciate cable TV in the smaller room next year. We'll see.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mam1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motelman_12, Owner at Swanton Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We will extend the cable to the other TV.

Not sure why I never noticed the lack of fan in the bathroom but this is second mention. We will install one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stopped on route for one night. Clean and good service. You can also borrow DVDs from the office which was good for the children. It was quiet and had a pool and free wifi which is always good.

All in all a good nights stay, beds are hard but that was good for my back! Shower was a bit changeable and kept going cold then hot, which was a bit of a pain. 1 night fine, but would not want to stay much longer.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motelman_12, Owner at Swanton Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are addressing the water issue. It appears to be related to our hot water recirculating system that was incorrectly modified when we replaced the hot water heater. We also replaced mattresses in one room with a few more on the horizon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I should have known something was amiss when the owner's 10 year-old daughter took my reservation, and botched the details...
The mattress was like a slab of concrete, but perhaps the biggest bummer was the shower. One of the highlights of my work day is a hot, robust shower - the one in my room was anything but. The water more or less trickled out, and alternated on its own between scalding hot and ice cold. I stood there, head lathered in shampoo, for a few minutes waiting for the hot water to come back on...

The wifi signal was sporadic, when I did receive it in my room it was weak and slow.

The room was pretty clean, but for the money (it wasn't cheap), I'd defiinitely look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motelman_12, Owner at Swanton Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Not sure what details were botched but our daughter does a great job with reservations. It is all part of our friendly family atmosphere. We teach excellence in hospitality to our kids and attention to detail.

Mattresses are being replaced and the water problem is being addressed.

There are two rooms that have had trouble with the wifi signal but we are upgrading the entire network to offer better coverage and higher speed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanton
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
8.0 mi away
Cadillac Motel
Cadillac Motel
#3 of 5 in Saint Albans
78 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Albans
Hampton Inn St. Albans
#1 of 5 in Saint Albans
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hotel St. Bernard
Hotel St. Bernard
#1 of 1 in Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
85 reviews
11.8 mi away
Auberge du Lac Champlain
Auberge du Lac Champlain
#1 of 1 in Venise-en-Quebec
52 reviews
7.4 mi away
Back Inn Time
Back Inn Time
#1 of 1 in Saint Albans
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swanton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swanton Motel

Property: Swanton Motel
Address: 112 Grand Ave., Swanton, VT 05488-1424
Location: United States > Vermont > Swanton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last AAA approved motel before the Canadian border. We are a family run motel and gift shop where cleanliness is top priority. 2014 Updates include new water pipes to the south half of the motel to improve water flow and pressure. We also remodeled four rooms with new bathroom tile, tubs, toilets, sinks, ceilings, lights, and ceiling fans. Newly painted bedrooms with new light fixtures, mirrors, paintings and furniture. 107 And 111 have new carpet. And there is a lot more in the making... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing