We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Long Trail house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stratton Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stratton Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay at Long Trail house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed at Long Trail House in January 2014. This was our second stay here. The first time we stayed (Mar 2013), we were in a one bedroom unit that was fine, but pretty old. This time we stayed in a unit that was updated and much nicer. Part of the gamble here is that the units are all different so you don't really know what you're getting ahead of time- but it seems like they will all clean and decently cared for.

The Long Trail House is a great location for staying at Stratton. You can walk to the lifts and all the restaurants. We even went back to our room for lunch break during one day of skiing. We always love skiing Stratton and can't wait for next ski season.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorker1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    54
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
88
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned from an excellent 5 day ski trip to Stratton Mountain Resort. The conditions were perfect, well-groomed trails, friendly staff on the mountain. Felt like we had the mountain to ourselves at times!
Our kids took both the 1/2 day kids ski school program as well as a private lesson - they enjoyed both and liked their instructors. We also enjoyed an afternoon of tubing in the CocaCola Tubing Park in Sunbowl area (which should add a carpet lift instead of pulling you up the hill while sitting in your tube - but the hill is enjoyable)
Other items to note: very friendly staff in the rental and overnight storage, excellent waffles at the waffle hut, very good sandwiches and coffee at the Deli&Market in the village. Overall good restaurants with attentive staff (Grizzly's, Firehouse, Mulligans). The main lodge could use a large fireplace or two (to add to the lodge feel and provide some needed mid-day warmth) or they should actually light their fire pits outside. The main shops area could use an ice creamery & a Starbucks (although we found the coffee at the village deli & market was good).
We stayed at the Long Trail House, 2 bedroom unit - at only 850sqft it was cozy but clean - which was most important to us. The kitchen was stocked and clean, and the gas fireplace was nice to have. Only complaint on the unit was the blinds in every room were broken in some fashion which made enjoying our view of the mountain a challenge at times. The kids enjoyed the outdoor heated pool open to 10pm each night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Went as a couple to the Long Trail House and had a great time. The location was perfect - right across from the Village. The Village is great, lots of restaurants and shops. Our room was so cute and quaint, lovely fireplace and balcony. Although it was like 5 degrees we made use of the outdoor hottub after a long day of skiing. I plan on going back next year!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleKristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I couldn't have been happier with our trip. Perfect snow conditions, beautiful room(founders lodge). We snowboarded mid week (Tuesday-Thursday) and we had no crowd at all. No lines and no crowded trails. We tried several resturants and they all had good food aswell. It's not cheap here, but money will spent!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunNsnow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The conditions are usually good, and the staff keep things optimized. The trails vary from novice to expert... so all in the family have a place for snow fun.
The staff are always friendly and professional.
The ski school is great, and the kids enjoy going.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Weronatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Super fun mountain, little crowded though. I would recommend only coming on mid week and avoid weekends here. Waffle Haus at the bottom of the mountain is amazing. Mid mountain lodge had amazing egg sandwiches. Good family friendly mountain. Overwhelming on holiday weekends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stratton Mountain resort offers the best skiing in Southern Vermont. The Terrain is very well maintained and varied. There are plenty of Black Diamond trails off all the lifts servicing the upper mountain, as well as blue trails, and green trails on the lower mountain for beginners. The grooming is top notch, with no lips or ruts on which to catch an edge. the resort has a strong policy toward safety, and ski patrol is visible throughout, so the skiers are able to enjoy their time without fearing being hit by an out of control rider.

In addition the lift operators and lodge employees are courteous and professional. the reservations staff is very helpful in assisting guests in selecting accommodations that meet their budget. Stratton offers a wide variety of lodging within walking distance to the lifts, and the little town offers a number of nice dining and shopping choices.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seaskifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratton Mountain
0.0 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
8.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Long Trail House
Long Trail House
#1 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Vantage Point Condominiums
#4 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratton Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton Mountain Resort

Property: Stratton Mountain Resort
Address: 5 Village Lodge Rd, Stratton Mountain, VT 05155-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stratton Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stratton Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in southern Vermont less than three hours from Boston and four from New York City, Stratton means a big mountain resort experience that's close to home. Stratton offers skiing and snowboarding, a variety of lodging options, slopeside Village for shopping and dining, full Sports Center, 27 hole golf course, world class Stratton Golf University. Choose from a selection of lodging options: Inn at Stratton Mountain has 122 guest rooms; Stratton Condominiums range from studio apartments to four bedroom units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stratton Mountain Hotel Stratton Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing