We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and beautiful area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stratton Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent service and beautiful area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

That was our second time visiting Stratton Mountain Resort, but this time it was winter. We booked the cheapest possible rooms at Liftline Lodge (so we could splurge on some winter activities and spa) and left Boston on Friday evening. Due to the blizzard and therefore bad driving conditions, we made it to Stratton at 12:30AM. After checking in at Inn at Stratton, we headed to our rooms at Liftline Lodge only to find out that our door was open and someone had taken a nap in our bed. Dying from exhaustion, we returned to the Inn and complained about the situation to the woman at the front desk. She was very apologetic and extremely helpful! She upgraded us to a three-bedroom suite at the Rising Bear lodge. Now THAT is customer service!

The condo was super nice - with a patio, fireplace, spacious kitchen, neat rooms and bathrooms, and access to a heated pool and a hot tub.

The lodge itself is also really nice, with a parking garage in the basement and a nice lounge area upfront.

That obviously made our weekend unforgettable, and Stratton now definitely has very loyal customers.

PS - needless to say, the ski resort itself is superb. Wonderful views, a number of good restaurants and bars, all your winter resort amenities and activities, and of course, a happy skiing/snowboarding crowd. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    54
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
89
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at Long Trail House early January of 2013. We shared a one bedroom with two beds in the bedroom that worked out very well. Very comfortable and convienent to everything. You can walk to the village lift right across the street and ski right to the road. It took me 3 minutes to get to the lift. In 5 minutes, you can walk, in ski boots ,to the gondola. Coffee and pastries in the lobby, a comfortable great room with leather chairs and incredible view are welcoming to all guests. You can return to this room on your last day.after checkout, relax, get in the hotub, take a shower and change for the dirve homeI My wife, who came up with me for the first time, loved this place. Even my non skiing teenaged daughter, who did not want to come, admitted this place was "Alright" , high praise indeed. This is 10th year in the this property for my son and I, and once again had a great time. Since it snowed several times, the inside garage was a bonus. The skiing was great. no crowds midweek, no lines and plenty of black and blue trails to explore Get to the sunbowl in the AM.and the snow bowl for your last run of the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downhillbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I often take day trips to Stratton as I live nearby, in Albany, NY. I have never stayed overnight at this resort, so I cannot comment on accommodations, but I can say that Stratton Mountain is one of my favorite places to ski. The conditions are almost always at least good if not phenomenal. If you are driving there on a weekend I'd park at the Sunbowl lodge; the main base area is crowded and you will have to park further away, but there are shuttles. The Sunbowl is a little less crowded and you can easily ski between it and the main base, just pay attention to the signs. Generally Stratton's weather is pleasant, it is not a windy mountain and it has a good variety of terrain. If you think you will go here more than once get an X2 pass off the web site, it will save you money. If you are under 30 or in college and can go often you can get a deeply discounted season pass- so worth it. Skiing can be an expensive sport so when I go I like Stratton because the conditions rarely disappoint. Tip: get a waffle from one of the little waffle huts- delicious!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Three of us booked the long trail house along w our triple pack deals, we had a studio Rm 441 and stayed for 3 nights, although it says 4-5 people, in my opinion 3 was perfect, we tried to use the pull out couch which sleeps 2, but the mattress was too springy and bouncy, I ended sleeping on the couch using the extra sheet and blanket provided, i have to say it's pretty comfortable, it's firm and comfortortable. it's a decent size studio w folded up beds, couch, electronic fire place, limited balcony, dining table, kitchen w an island, dishwasher, and a full bath w single sink (I was spoiled by killington Grand's double sink). the room was clean, the kitchen has very limited utensils and small pots, so if u plan do the group cooking bring your own. we did use the kitchen to cook a huge pot of gumbo which lasted us two days, and everything works fine! Overall room was cozy and clean, bathroom was clean and basic, towels and sheets are good quality--those are my main qualities i look into in a hotel room and long trail house had it all. staffs are very friendly w our requests and questions, our internet didn't work and they were following up the next day. It's walking distance to the village and lifts!! there's also a swimming pool and 2 small hot tubs we totally took advantage of during our stay! there's no complimetary breakfast but there's coffee/tea and muffins on the lobby on weekends only. I will definitely go back next season!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karrylistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Weekend ski trip to Stratton VT with the family (2 adults and 2 children). Stayed at Long Trail House in a studio. Location was great literally across the street - a 5 min walk - from the mountain base. Underground parking was very convenient and the room had a locker downstairs for skiis. The hotel had a heated pool and two hot tubs outside. Room was nicely turned out - Murphy queen bed (surprisingly comfortable), fold out sleeper couch, table, kitchen, fireplace, flat screen and wifi. Little tight for the four of us but certainly better than a regular hotel room (could not get a one bedroom on short notice). Skiing was great - good snow, nice sunny days, plenty of good runs, nice lifts. Facilities were in good shape and the little "town" there at the base had a nice selection of shops (ski gear, leisure wear, candy, a few bar-restaurants). Surprisingly few restaurants. We liked the Waffle House (après ski Belgian sugar waffles) and the Organic Pizza Company. Definitely a family vibe and a large contingent from Westchester-Connecticut- NYC. Everyone we talked to was friendly and helpful. Had dinner at Luna - bit of a bust - expensive, blah food, nice waitress but weak service. We liked it and would definitely go back. Only draw backs were the prices (yikes) and the lack of a nice nearby town (like in Stowe). Access from NYC (3.5 hrs) and the solid skiing will definitely bring us back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddyo-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Full review

First ever visit to Stratton, written by a very seasoned skier (15+ resorts). I came with high expectations - some were met, some were not.

Stratton, to my surprise, is not a "family resort". Today, multiple times I witnessed teenagers and young adults smoking pot openly - on chairlifts and along trails. Near children. One particularly disgusting young man offered pot to a group of pee wee's in ski school. I was surprised to see this kind of element at Stratton. Certain mountains (Killington, Hunter) have a reputation for drawing that kind of rough crowd. I thought Stratton was a classier, more refined place. I was wrong. The cute village and the fancy shops and the cozy Gondola are all for naught if you're exposing your children to potheads. It's kind of sad.

I told management about the incident, and they shrugged their shoulders and said "what can we do"? That's easy - hire more ski patrol. I skied a full 5 hours today and never saw a single ski patrol. So there was no one to report the pot smokers too.

And, No, you will not find this hoodlum element everywhere - you'll never find this kind of behavior at Lake Placid/Whiteface, Okemo, Tremblant to name a few.

So, like I said, I was surprised and others parents should know.

It's a shame because the ski school is extremely well organized and the grooming is superb. But when a disgusting pothead is yelling down from the chairlift to a bunch of pee wee's in ski school that they can "have a quick hit of marijuana", and no one in management does anything....well, that just about ends the appeal of a resort for me.

Not coming back.

Room Tip: Don't bring the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARNYC330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The main strengths Stratton Mountain Resort have are: four hours drive from NYC, no queues during the week, good structure for winter sports and cheap hotels.
We payed $500 for two nights and two days for two persons including hotel, breakfast, lifts and ski rentals.
The Inn at Stratton is an old hotel but the room was clean with a beautiful view of the woods.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgarfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratton Mountain
0.0 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
8.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Long Trail House
Long Trail House
#1 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Vantage Point Condominiums
#4 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
10.0 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratton Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton Mountain Resort

Property: Stratton Mountain Resort
Address: 5 Village Lodge Rd, Stratton Mountain, VT 05155-9600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stratton Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stratton Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in southern Vermont less than three hours from Boston and four from New York City, Stratton means a big mountain resort experience that's close to home. Stratton offers skiing and snowboarding, a variety of lodging options, slopeside Village for shopping and dining, full Sports Center, 27 hole golf course, world class Stratton Golf University. Choose from a selection of lodging options: Inn at Stratton Mountain has 122 guest rooms; Stratton Condominiums range from studio apartments to four bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stratton Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratton Mountain Hotel Stratton Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing