We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Stratton, VT”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Stratton, VT”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were glad to check in early on Saturday around noon because we had a 1:15 lesson at Stratton. The shuttle service makes staying here really convenient to the mountain. Once again the Hot Tub was out of order. The offer a voucher for the Sports Center but who wants go outside with wet hair for the shuttle ride back. It's worth repeating other reviews that the bathrooms have been updated, the water is hot, there is no phone in the rrom and NOT a good night sllep durign our stay. Saturday night awake until after 3am, Sunday night it finally quieted down around 1 am. Suggestion: Buy you lift tickets with your stay before you check in because you can't add them to you stay after your package starts. 5 out of 5 for the Rossi Experience Shop. Jerrid and Quinn you made our family getway a delight. Thanks for Great customer service and insuring a wonderful ski vacation!

Room Tip: The top floor might be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photo35e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    44
    58
    21
    13
See reviews for
48
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Lodge has a free shuttle that takes you right up to the mountain for skiing, dining, and shopping. Only complaint is that the restaruant in the lodge does not stay open late during the week. 8pm on a Monday it closed and my boyfriend and I had to figure out what we were going to eat without any notice. Breakfast was average but included in the stay so can't complain. Staff was very friendly. The room was really hot so even on nights below zero we had the heat off. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julgool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, CT
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

if you expect to do any sleeping. On Wednesday night we were awoken at midnight to a huge ruckus outside our room. I waited a while and the ruckus continued,so I dragged myself out of bed and looked out the peephole to see what the problem was. To my surprise the door across the hall was open and 8-10 sociopaths were drinking, shouting and generally partying IN THE HALLWAY. The party continued until 2:00 AM. I looked for a phone to call the lobby and have them send someone down, but the room has no phone. It is incomprehensible to me as to what type of human being would consider this type of behavior acceptable, especially considering the numerous common areas that this hotel has. We were so tired we got up the next morning and left without even skiing. We reported the incident to the clerk at check out and she had no answer except to tell us she would inform the manager.

This was our second incident with a noise issue at this hotel. Last year we had a room adjacent to the stairwell and for some reason people felt compelled to run up and down the stairs all night, keeping us awake. That issue was resolved by changing rooms the next day. However based on this latest incident we will never stay at this location again and I recommend you don't either, if you expect to sleep.

ps the hot tub was out of service, too

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drb385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratton Mountain hotels

Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

As with most amenities, "you get what you pay for." My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend as part of a package deal through Stratton. It is a good value compared to what the other ski resorts charge. The room wasn't anything to rave about, but it was large, clean, and really well priced for something located right on the mountain. There's also a prompt shuttle service to other parts of the resort. The lounge area is cozy and relaxed. All the food on the mountain is very overpriced and the onsite restaurant is no different.

Overall, a good deal for onsite lodging.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

After reading many of the reviews for the Black Bear Lodge, I started my stay there with low expectations. The lodge is very close to the mountain. Parking was crowded and not atypical for a ski lodge...people jamming their vehicles into any available space. Upon arrival to the inside, I was happy to find a relatively spacious king room with room for a portable crib for our son. The bathroom was updated, though we had to adjust to how long it took for the lights to slowly come on in there (assuming energy efficient). The room was clean, and generally basic. No fridge, two basic chairs and table. My in-laws were across the hall in a very spacious queen room (one bed). The other member of our party was given a room on an entirely different wing, and floor. It was extremely busy during our stay, as it was school vacation week. We slept well the first night. Shower was great, very hot water right away, with decent pressure.
The next morning, we enjoyed a large self-serve breakfast that included scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, sausage patties, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt in a large bowl, cereal, bread basket with toaster, juice and coffee. It was good, and very filling.
The lodge is certainly older, and though the rooms are generally more updated, the rest of the property is not. The hallways seemed a bit tired, and the doors needed paint. The fire doors, true to many other reviewers' point, slammed as they closed shut. This seems like something management could fix relatively easily.
There is a hot tub that's essentially in a hallway connecting wings, on a slightly lower level. We never went in, and it was shut down for repairs on the second day. The amount of chlorine used was more suggestive of a pool, but they don't have one.
The second night, the late-night door slamming woke me. And by the third night, at 1:45am the partying seemed to carry over from wherever, with boisterousness and loudness that was just plain rude. They did stop after we made them aware of the fact that we had a two year old, and were all trying to sleep. This noise next door came through despite the bathroom fan on, the heater's fan on, and a white noise app turned on from our phone.
First night, 4 out of 5, second night 3 out of 5, and third night gets a 2 out of 5.
The shuttle to the village ran frequently and efficiently, and the village and base are only away. The staff were helpful and pleasant, as well.
The parking lot was plowed well, but not iced, and walking to the car became treacherous.
Would I recommend this? If you're looking for a room at this price level, yes, as there's little else available with such great proximity to the mountain. The pricing is high, however, and given their rates, I would expect a better experience.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room facing the back, away from the parking lot, for the least amount of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogamonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewerton, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Reading some of the reviews, I was worried, and really worried when we met a guy filling a garbage pail with ice at the top of the stairs, but we had a great package deal that was too good to pass up. Best advice we followed was to ask for a room on the 3rd floor. The entrance is on the 2nd floor so it is only 1 floor up & worth it not to have people walking over your head. The heater is indeed NOISY & turns on & off a lot. We turned it off to sleep & it would still turn on. The breakfast was really filling...don't know why people have complained...fresh fruit, good variety of breads/bagels to toast with cream cheese & other toppings, coffee was good 1 day & bad the next, oatmeal with toppings, meats, cold cereals, the potatoes were chewy one day and tolerable the next, powdered eggs (I think) but they tasted fine. We were able to fill our Thermos with hot water at the breakfast area to take to the mountain for tea/cocoa. Rooms were just remodeled. Bathroom was gorgeous & we didn't have hot water problems. Beds were super comfy. Room was adequate size but could have used more places to put suitcases, etc. There were only 2 of us, but 4 would be a crowd! No problems with the shuttle to the hill but I'd recommend having the restaurant call for the shuttle if you eat at the village at night. The staff was not helpful with off site food options and actually only mentioned "Whiskey Dicks" as a viable option, which we later found out is owned by Stratton anyways. There are other food places nearby. We went midweek & didn't have problems parking after returning from dinner either.

Room Tip: If you don't have kids and/or want quieter rooms...ask for a room on the 3rd floor. The entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia_in_CNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are small. Dorm style explains it well. Don't forget to add the unbearable smell that they make you leave the room for an hour to neutralize. Only to come back to the same horrific smell. Bar closes way to early!! In fact the bartender will easily tell a large group that he his closed, even though the shuttles run till 11. Seems like a $$ loss to us but we only work in the industry so what do we know. The hot tub looks like a bath house from 1960. Not sure if we will brave the free breakfast Tom morning. We will surely never ever return to Stratton Mountain unless its a day trip where we can go home to avoid paying $13.00 a drink.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bbqsauceross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratton Mountain
8.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
586 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
297 reviews
23.3 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Long Trail House
Long Trail House
#1 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Vantage Point Condominiums
#4 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
7 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Property: Black Bear Lodge
Address: 30 Middle Ridge Rd, Stratton Mountain, VT 05155-9746 (Formerly Inn at Stratton Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stratton Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stratton Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stratton Mountain Hotel Stratton Mountain
Stratton Mountain Hotel And Village
Village Stratton Mountain
Stratton Mountain Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing