We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, but grossly overpriced”
Review of The Stowe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stowe Inn
Ranked #15 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently spent the weekend here. We had a room in the carriage house. It was adequate if all you need is a place to sleep, but it was not a comfortable room. Even with all the lights on, the room was "very dark. We paid $189 a night to stay here but everything seems to be done on the cheap. The faucets do not turn in the standard direction, there are no hooks to hang anything on,
the toilet paper was so thin you could see through it. The toilet seat must have been replaced at one time, as it was smaller than the bowl. The cleaners did not clean the toilet bowl while we were there. The bathtub, bathroom door, and closet doors are discolored, or dirty and need cleaning or painting. The lower tiles in the shower need replacing and are dirty/moldy. I am only 5'8" and had to stoop to see in the mirror as it was hung too low. I found someone's dirty sock under the bed, no telling how long it was there. On the positive side, check in was quick, and the front desk staff were very friendly, but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 422 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently stayed one night at this property and had a gorgeous, cozy room. Our room was in the main building - the original Inn. It overlooked the river and the little covered bridge. The girl at the front desk, Emily, was sweet, charming, and very knowledgeable about the area. We also met the adorable neighborhood cat, Snowball, as he was roaming the property and greeting the guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Stay in the original inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GorgeHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hello.
Thank you for your recent review.
We appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff and hotel.

The river behind our hotel is surely beautiful along with our unique, historic hotel.
We are glad you had a wonderful stay in our cozy main inn rooms and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Stowe Inn
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visit Vermont every fall & are usually very happy with our accommodations. I wouldn't recommend this place & we will not return to it. We were put in one of the dingy motel rooms (behind the main inn) which was really old & poorly maintained. The staff was not very helpful & it was pretty obvious that they didn't care whether we were there or not.

We were very disappointed & were glad we only booked four nights there! It was conveniently located (within walking distance) to downtown Stowe. But, that's the only thing that was acceptable about it!

Room Tip: Pick another Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear guest. We are sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel.
We wish you had brought your concerns to our attention.
Our staff typically gets rave reviews about their frendliness and are always very helpful.
We are disappointed that this was not your experience.

The motel room you stayed in is our economy room and perhaps our main inn rooms would have been a better fit for you and your family. The Carriage House rooms (economy rooms) do have new carpets in almost every room now and most have new vanities and tiled floors. Please ask for our newly rennovated room on your next visit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

the GM at the front desk "Lynnlee" was great,she very helpful and knowledgeable . the room was clean and very cozy . the bar tender "Alex" was great. I have a food allergy and the cook staff was very careful with the making of my dinner .The food service was good and our meals were awesome .The GM "Lynnlee" came around to see how things were going while we were in the diningroom .My husband and I only stayed one night but we would got back again.

Room Tip: the higher rooms are less noisey and you don't smell the cigarette smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor to give our hotel and restaurant accolades. The guest always comes first at The Stowe Inn. Our staff cares about each and every guest and making their stay a memorable experience. Thank you for pointing out specific examples, such as our chef listening to your needs regarding your food allergies while still preparing you a scrumptious dinner!
Please come back and stay a little longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was expecting to stay in a charming restored old building, but found I had booked a 1950's style, poorly maintained, musty, and ugly motel style room. Building and grounds were suffering from gross neglect.
The location was fine and a short walk into the village proper where there were good places to eat and several charming shops. The little I saw of any staff was left the impression that they really didn't care.
Uless this is the only room intown and you have to be there, don't bother.

Room Tip: Stay at another inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAK4310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

We are so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We take our guest's comments to heart, and appreciate you taking the time to tell us about it. We are sad that you did not alert the on site manager or front desk staff of the issues you were having, they are there to help make your stay more comfortable and immediately resolve any issues.
Our great location is just one of the reasons we have so many returning guests. We pride ourselves on customer service and making the guest's experience a pleasant one.
The Stowe Inn is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and our property dates back to 1814. We are proud of our history, and most of our furnishings in the main inn are antiques.
Our staff maintains our property very well, and we are currently in the last stages of replacing all of the carpets in our Carriage House (economy rooms) where you stayed, as well as doing minor upgrades in those rooms.
We review all comments with our team and strive to offer the best service to our guests, so thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Located a few minutes walk from the centre of the village, the Inn was a pretty good option for us. We stayed two nights, basing ourselves for exploration of the surrounding area. We stayed in the main part of the building with a room overlooking the road. No traffic noise as it's a quiet place at night.
Clean and comfortable rooms, not overly spacious, with a small balcony off the room. The only major downside was the terrible WIFI connection. It may be free but it doesn't really work at all, even downstairs near the reception area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building as I'm sure they're better than the ones on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heneedsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a review of your stay at The Stowe Inn. Yes, we are perfectly located to serve as home base for your daytime excursions, and a stone’s throw from the village.
Our housekeeping staff takes pride in ensuring our guest rooms are clean and comfortable so you have a pleasurable stay, and we appreciate your positive comments.
We did have some recent issues with our Wi-Fi, and we listened to our customers…so in late September 2013 we upgraded to a brand new Wi-Fi system to ensure our wonderful guests are taken care of. Thank you for your patience and we hope you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just spent 3 nights here. While our room wasn't great it wasn't horrible. Luckily we were with a group event that had negotiated a lower rate. We had a King room on the end of the main building so we had a lot of windows - our friends rooms in the same main building were small, dark and cavish, extremely disappointing. Even with the extra windows, it was a rainy few days and the light bulbs in our room were not sufficient to light the room. There were no extra outlets, had to plug our phones in the outlet in the bathroom. The hotel lobby closes at 10 not opening till 7:30, very difficult for those in our party who had trouble at the airport and weren't able to get in until after 10pm. The common areas of the hotel are lovely, but the check in desk and area surrounding it are a mess. We did have food in the restaurant, a hosted event, extremely good food! All in all I'm afraid this Inn has quiet a bit to do to restore their reputation as a top notch spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
281 reviews
3.6 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
423 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4630
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $86 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing