We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Stowe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stowe Inn
Ranked #15 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The room was comfortable and welcoming. The restaurant staff and food were exceptional. While it is an old Inn, it is well-maintained and does not have the sterile, cookie cutter feel of many chain offerings. It was a quiet rainy week so there were not a lot of other guests around and, thankfully, no young children screaming and crying.

Room Tip: The main lodge was very welcoming and we had a corner room near the pool. It was spacious and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Front Office Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 430 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

The location was wonderful, close to town and right on the hwy. Was easy to find and seemed very spacious, but what a strange experience.

When I arrived to check in, the Front Desk Clerk had her purse on the counter and refused to move it. None of the employees that we encountered barely knew anything about the area or what was going on.

I felt like I was in a Steven King Movie, the hotel felt like it had been closed for months and was just opening up. We paid for breakfast and then was told that the kitchen was not open yet, but in the morning, other guests had gotten food....so weird.

I heard a lot of complaints from other guests regarding the quality of their rooms. My room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: The front wrap around porch was wonderful and the piano was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Front Office Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience while staying with us at the Stowe Inn. As of recent we are now under New Management and have added a new Executive Chef for our River House Restaurant. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are actively working on making the Stowe Inn one of Vermont’s best desired locations to visit. We hope you will allow us another opportunity and choose the Stowe Inn for your stay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at The Stowe Inn for two nights utilizing the LivingSocial deal which offered a 2 night-stay-and some extras such as in-room continental breakfast, two factory tour tickets to Ben and Jerry's, and a bottle of wine.

Overall, we were happy enough with our experience.
-The inn is very quaint and had New England charm. We enjoyed sitting out on the porch.They offered good (Green Mountain) coffee in the lobby day and night, which was a great extra, and we really appreciated!
-Our room was #215: large and well-furnished but definitely showed its age (the carpeting should have been replaced years ago). The king bed was very comfortable and room seemed good and clean.
-The location of the inn was excellent-it was within walking distance, located centrally, of most restaurants and shopping in the town of Stowe. Highly recommend Harrison's Restaurant for dinner and the Vermont Ale House for a drink and fun atmosphere.
-The service was the biggest letdown of our stay. Upon arrival, the front-desk staff member was on a phone call dealing with an angry customer (not the greatest first impression). Her call went on for another 5 minutes before she acknowledged us. Then, none of the extras which were included with our LivingSocial voucher (including: the 2 factory tour tickets and 1 bottle of wine) were ready for us at check-in. We did finally get the wine and tickets, but had to ask several times and wait for both...frustrating.
-The continental breakfast included with our deal was very basic...I wouldn't even actually describe it as a 'continental breakfast'-it was essentially a pastry and some juice.

Given the variety and options of accommodations in Stowe, I don't think I would stay here again. However, for the value of what we paid, we were generally happy with the experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lg9567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Front Office Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback. Here at the Inn our guest’s feedback is very important to us and allows us to continually improve our services and hospitality here at the Stowe Inn. As of recent we are under New Management and have hired new hotel personnel. The personnel who had checked you in during your stay was in fact a new employee and has since been informed and properly trained to provide the best customer service we aim to provide to all of our guest. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay and your Living Social purchase and hope you will come back some time and see that we have greatly improved. Thank you kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I found The River house was exactly what i was looking for. the atmosphere was wonderful and the waitress didn't leave us hanging even with a few large parties surrounding us. My boyfriend and I decided against the Trapp family lodge restaurant (where we were staying) and had the best dinner of our new England vacation, my filet mignon was to die for and i loved that it was local grass fed beef! cooked wonderfully and so was my Brian's duck. after dinner the chief came out and introduced himself and asked how everything was. They seem to really want to give the restaurant a new image and I believe they are doing a wonderful job at it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank learn2lovethis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Front Office Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest-
We are so very pleased to hear of your recent visit to our River House Restaurant. It pleases us more that we were able to provide you with great customer service and a fantastic dining experience. Our new Chef is greatly experienced and enjoys providing good quality food with amazing taste. We hope you will come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our group of four booked two rooms. Rooms - One room was on the ground floor. Nicely appointed with two beds, dresser, mirror, small flat screen and a chair. The room looked clean, the view was of the parking lot. The other room was on the second floor. This room looked like it had come from a hotel in the bad part of town. The room was dirty, with what looked like coffee stains on the wall above the headboard-less bed. The room was dingy, no mirror, very neglected and shabby. We asked for another room, and the staff granted us another room on the first floor. Food - None was made available to us. We were told that no free breakfast was included because the restaurant wasn't open, in spite of the fact that their website lists free breakfast. We later saw other guests with trays of breakfast food, who told us that they got the breakfast as part of their deal through Living Social. There is no in-room coffee maker. View- not great, either the parking lot or a very busy road that goes into Stowe. There is a nice covered porch but it faces the busy road so the noise level is high. The common areas were all covered in dust and it was evident that no vacuuming had taken place in many months. Our interactions with most of the staff were also a let-down. One of the front desk people was very pleasant and informative; all the others were brusque and had literally zero knowledge of the area. One of them couldn't even find the Stowe Inn on the town map they have in their lobby.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are okay and much more clean and well appointed then the room we were given on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Front Office Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest-
We are very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience while staying with us at the Stowe Inn. As part of our New Management, we are in the process of upgrading our Inn rooms as well as our website to include up to date information about our Inn. In addition to New Management we have hired new housekeeping personnel in an effort to provide quality service and accommodations. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future and choose the Stowe Inn as your destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management17, Front Office Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the inn as a treat after purchasing a Living Social Deal. We liked that the inn is in a great location and the building is really lovely. The room was also very clean and well kept. Unfortunately we ended up being a bit disappointed with the service. A bottle of wine was supposed to be included with the deal but we had to actually ask for it TWICE before we finally received it the night before we departed--too late to actually enjoy it during our stay. It was as if they were hoping we would forget about it.

Also, the in-room breakfast was pretty small -- one waffle for the two of us the first morning, and the second morning they brought it to our room an hour earlier than we requested, so by they time we were ready to eat it was very cold and soggy (one english muffin, one sausage, a little bit of melon, and one piece of bacon for each of us, with nothing to drink). When I mentioned the breakfast was too early the server wasn't apologetic and didn't offer to bring it back later.

Also, according to the inn's description on Living Social, there was supposed to be a swimming pool. However, the pool was drained. Maybe when the pool is not in operation that part of the hotel description could be eliminated (or at least specify the months when it is open), so as not to mislead anyone.

Room Tip: Room 215 was suggested to us as being particularly nice, but there was quite a bit of street light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meshell273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Front Office Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest-
We sincerely appreciate your input and feedback about your stay here at the Stowe Inn. As of recent our Inn is under New Management and we are focusing on improvements throughout our Inn including updating our website to show current information. This also includes our front desk personnel and level of customer service we provide. We will continue to improve our quality and standards in order to provide the best accommodations and experience to each of our guests. We hope you will consider us again in the future and give us another opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4630
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $85 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing