We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for winter ski vacations”
Review of The Stowe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stowe Inn
Ranked #18 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
1 review
“Good place for winter ski vacations”
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Good place, clean. If you are looking for a place near downtown, this is very good. If you are looking to be close to the mountains or or in a rural/forest area that is not the best option.
Owner is a very nice and interesting erson always ppen to give good tips for restaurants and things to do in the region.

Breakfast is just average. Restaurant at the inn is very good. There is a nice common room for reading and fire place.

Staff is very nice and service is great.

Helpful?
Thank pmilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    101
    64
    68
    72
See reviews for
101
182
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

We stayed recently at the Stowe Inn and had a wonderful time there.The staff was so friendly and helpful in answering any questions about activities,restaurants etc. They seem to enjoy working here and that can make all the difference in running a succesful inn.One night it snowed over ten inches and the next morning our car had been cleaned off! We stayed in a deluxe king room and were very pleasantly surprised with how comfortable the bed was. The shower was excellent. Granted the bathroom vanity and room drapes need updating and yes the heater is a little noisy but the overall accommodations were very clean and good for the value. Location is walking distance to town and if you want to ski , and don't want to drive, the free shuttle stops right out side the door.We ate at the bar some nights and the food was very good. And yes, we tried Brians chocolate martini and it was delicious.We were very happy with the Stowe Inn and will definitely return.

  • Liked — The comfortable bed and great shower
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jerztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

REcently took a weekend ski trip up to Stowe and stayed at the Inn. They were so very accomodating with putting us in just the right room for 3 people. Although in what appreared to be the attic, the accomodation was spacious, comfortable, and VERY clean. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful with local activities and restuarant recommendations. The Inn is in the perfect location overlooking the town of Stowe and within ten minutes drive to the Mountain for skiing. The only drawback was the continental breakfast, but in these days of less is more, it was standard fare. I tend to be very very picky when i travel on personal time, and i can honestly say i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hooked2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed at the Stowe Inn & Tavern on three different occasions in March, 2007 to ski at Stowe. The Inn is lovely, located conveniently in town, within walking distance to restaurants & shops. The rooms were clean, comfortable and accommodating. On one of the trips, we got the King superior room which was roomy and spacious. The management staff was friendly and courteous. On another visit, we asked to switch rooms because the heating unit was so loud next to the bed that it sounded like an airplane taking off. My only comment about the place is that with all the money they spent on the renovation of the inn, why did they select the type of heating/cooling unit that sounds like a jet-plane.

All-in-all though, it's a lovely place to stay; convenient, clean, friendly and quaint. It's also quite reasonable compared to some of the other places nearby that are not nearly as nice. I would still recommend it and we'll definitely go back.

  • Liked — Convennience
  • Disliked — jet engine heating unit in room. Very loud!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank iyleema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

We had an amazing stopover here. I didn't know what to expect when I booked but I fell in love with it's quiet charm and friendly atmosphere.
We had booked a family room and we were upgraded, at no extra change, to a suite which was simply delightful. The children (two eleven year olds) though it was the best hotel of all on our trip, even the flash Crowne Plazas.
The Inn is very central for the village and walking. It reminds me of home (England) - full of quirky character.
The staff could not have been more helpful to us. We had only planned one night as a rest after a days walking and really regretted not staying longer.
Stowe itself is a georgeous place and I will make sure I spread the news to all.
It is so good we will be back and for much longer next time

  • Liked — Breakfast on the terrace
  • Disliked — The stairs - no lift, but the staff did the lifting.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline_Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2007

Myself and my OH stayed in the Stowe Inn in December 2007, we arrived on Christmas Eve and departed on Dec 29th. We had a wonderful stay in the hotel, even though we had taken one of their cheaper rooms, it was an ample size and the bed was so comfortable.

The staff were excellent, the reception staff could not do enough to help and I couldn't believe that so many people seemed so happy in their jobs. Breakfast was included and there was plenty to go around to get you started for a day on the slopes. The only complaint I had about breakfast was that the hot beverages were served in cardboard cups, I would really rather a mug for my coffee in the morning!

We only ate in the hotel restaurant on Chrustmas day and the food & service were excellent, even though they were very busy.

Having stayed at another (much more expensive) hotel in Stowe the previous year, I would be far more likely to return to the Stowe Inn, the excellent staff, the central location and the great room at a reasonable rate, really made our holiday.

  • Liked — The large room & comfortable bed
  • Disliked — The cardboard cup at breakfast
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gingerkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2007

We stayed here for 3 days recently and had a wonderful stay. The food was very good in the restaurant and breakfast is a very generous feast including fresh fruit salad, and make-your-own waffles with maple syrup - fun for the children !

The bar is lovely here with a real friendly guy - Brian, the man at the wheel.

Staff were very nice and nothing was a problem.

The old carriage rooms that were discussed in other posts are soon to be demolished to make way for new condo's, the plans are hanging on the wall of the Inn.

We stayed in the main inn and I dropped a star for the room in which we stayed, the room is definitely only about a 2-3 star quality, the blinds were plastic and some of them broken, the bathroom needs a total refit as it was very small and very out of date, the curtains didn't stretch across the width of the window and let in a lot of light (can't imagine what it is like in summertime when the day starts very early). The decor was quite dark too but the bed was comfortable.

So, we were dissapointed in the room quality but overall the inn is an excellent place to stay, it has a great games room and a large lounge to relax and is furnished nice. It's also a very short stroll to the Main street in Stowe.

  • Liked — The Bar, The Food, The Lounge
  • Disliked — The room we had
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SwoonGmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.5 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#14 of 24 in Stowe
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
407 reviews
2.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Property: The Stowe Inn
Address: 123 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4630
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing