We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Luxurious Getaway That Cannot Be Topped”
Review of Stone Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2010

The moment we arrived at Stone Hill Inn all of our worries, stresses, and obligations melted away and we were able to enjoy each other without any interruptions for 2 days, if we could have stayed another 5 we certainly would have.

The amazing thing about Stone Hill Inn is how attentive and responsive they are to the needs and personalities of each individual couple. Some couples love to be out all day, skiing, going to the bar, taking tours, and being social with everyone they meet, while other couples prefer spending the weekend watching DVD's, going out to eat, and relaxing in the beautiful fireside jacuzzi, or the most comfortable bed in the world. The staff at Stonehill will help you both create a weekend that will forever be memorable and will make it their priority to make you both feel relaxed and at ease.

The grounds are impecably beautiful, as is the decor and ambiance. It maintains a modern feel while infusing the rooms and common areas with a rustic charm that is both quaint and free-spirited. The room we stayed in (Moss Glen) had beautiful colors and a scenic view of the Vermont woods.

The breakfast served in a large breakfast room with exactly 9 tables is absolutely amazing (the cook certainly knows his breakfast dishes) and not having to wait for a table or listen to a table of 10 people chatter only makes the food more delictable. They also offer hot appetizers around 5, and while my fiance and I did not partake either night, we felt in no way pressured to join the other guests and inn staff. This was such a nice touch because many B&B's have always made me feel uncomfortable and obligated to join the innkeepers and other guests.

The location is nestled back from Mountain Rd. and rests about halfway between the mountain and the historic center of Stowe, everything was within a 3 mile drive.

Everything about Stone Hill was exceptional and I feel any criticism I could give would be reserved to nitpicking and complaining, and in a world where so many businesses get things wrong I feel it would be unfair to mention things that are largely unavoidable and a part of life.

This place is truly wondrous for those couples looking for a romantic interlude. There are no distractions and a day can consist exactly of what you want to make it, from the moment you awake and enjoy some amazing baked goods, or from the moment you lay down on the most comforting bed ever.

We will most certainly be returning next year and even though I just drove home today, I'm ready to make the 3 hour drive right now.

Thank you very much for your hospitality, and respect for couples looking for the perfect place to rekindle and enjoy their very special bond.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niwiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 709 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2010

As soon as I walked in, the understated comfort took me by surprise. I knew that places like this existed but until I was in its midst I couldn't appreciate it. I was stressed and tense about other things until I got there. Once I was there I just felt good. The wife and I have already booked a reservation for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Had another great time at the stone hill inn, food was great and stil had plenty of snow to frolic in. Staff was very nice and eager to help with any plans that we had.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arrow4958j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Very quiet and peaceful atmosphere:) Rooms were nicely decorated, staff was friendly and accommodating (I am on a gluten free diet). The see through fireplace was nice as was the whirlpool tub. It is conveniently located minutes from town and Stowe Mountain. it is a bit expensive, but worth it as it is the only Bed and Breakfast in the area that caters specifically to couples.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcaa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The amenities were outstanding. Everything about the Stone Hill Inn from the well appointed rooms to the general living space is well thought out and first class. If you're a breakfast lover, this is the place.

Our innkeepers Dana and Debbie were friendly, warm and very attentive in all respects. Debbie was able to give great restaurant recommendations, and Dana was a master chef in preparing delectable breakfasts of all sorts.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleetbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Stone Hill Inn over President's Day Weekend. We stayed for 3 nights -> and wished we had at least 2 more! We have never experienced such hospitality and luxury in one place! Our room was gorgeous, and the unique fireplace (opening both to the two person jacuzzi tub and to the bedroom) was fantastic. We snowboarded two of the days - but found ourselves wanting to get back to the Inn to relax! We took advantage of the outdoor hot tub, hot hors d'oeuvres every night, movie library (with popcorn!), and even took several toboggan runs. The full breakfasts were to die for, and we were impressed with how attentive Debbie and Dana were to my dietary restrictions. Debbie and Dana were fantastic hosts and very friendly. When we arrived, Debbie even gave us printed directions (door to door) from the Inn to the three places we had reservations for dinner over the weekend. We feel fortunate to have found our new vacation retreat in Stowe, and we will most certainly be returning!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank SASBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I have never written a review in my life, but I have to contribute to the rave reviews the Stone Hill Inn is receiving. This place is the best! Debbie, Dana, and the staff are wonderful! We got married in the beautiful solarium, and the staff went way out of their way to make sure our day was special, right down to helping me with my dress and making sure my husband's boutonniere was straight. I would be remiss if I didn't also mention our huge room with a fire place and two-person spa tub, relaxing great room with games and a pool table, beautiful grounds, magnificent breakfast and delicious evening snacks. If my husband and I are ever lucky enough to make it back to Stowe, we will definitely stay here. Thanks Debbie and Dana!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#1 of 22 in Stowe
731 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Address: 89 Houston Farm Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $327 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Bed & Breakfast Inn whose mission is "providing unexpected opportunities to celebrate life...together," was designed exclusively for couples. Each room has the same amenities: baths with fireside Jacuzzis for two and shower; bedrooms with king beds and fireplace. Spectacular gardens, three course breakfast with entrees individually-prepared at private tables, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing