We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveler rating
769
20
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
769
20
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double sided fireplace pool table west branch fiddlehead room guest kitchen sterling room bedroom and bathroom romantic getaway person jacuzzi each morning fiddleheads our honeymoon bed and breakfast b bs perfect hosts new owners breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 793 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017

From the moment we drove up the winding driveway to Stone Hill Inn we knew we were in the right place, for relaxation, meditation, or friendly interaction with the owners, Kristy and Todd. A wonderful place to return after a day of mountain climbing, skiing or leaf peeping - or just nosing around the shops in Stowe. Our room was beautifully appointed with a large four-poster bed, a two-sided fireplace that also opened to the large spa-like bathroom, sliders out to the manicured gardens facing away from the front. We sat in the garden chairs and enjoyed the beauty and quietude. The mini-kitchen dedicated to the guests was stocked with water and soda, and periodically a platter of fresh baked cookies appeared. Breakfast was served in a bright room surrounded by windows overlooking the yard and woods. A full array of fruit, pastries and a main dish was served, with the option of mimosas for an extra charge. There was no rush to finish and the owners were very present and attentive to all our requests. It was clear that this B/B is a favorite for some of the other guests as they spoke about their past visits to the facility. In the evening, a group of guests sat outside around a small bonfire chatting and enjoying each others company. A nice touch if you are so inclined to meet new people from other areas. Being the football fans that we are, after a morning drive up Mt. Mansfield and short hike, we sat in the large game room and watched the game on the large screen television. Stowe has so much to offer, from shops to great eats to both indoor and outdoor activities - for all seasons. The Stone Hill In was the perfect retreat after a full day of fun...and is now at the top of our list for a return visit!

Room Tip: The room at the end of the hall had extra window facing the front and the slider in the rear, making the room bright and airy.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiveaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd and Kristi... R, Owner at Stone Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words and taking the time to write a review. We hope you will visit us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Stone Hill Inn is a wonderful surprise! In a great location, beautifully decorated, picturesque landscaping, and very friendly and helpful staff and owners!

Breakfast was delicious and very ample, even for the very hungry!

We cannot say enough about this place. Well worth a stay. Would be terrific for family get togethers! Huge common room with pool table, ample seating for games/TV watching or just hanging out.
Cannot wait to go back someday.

Room Tip: We stayed in The White Birch room. Oversized
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JennieL117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd and Kristi... R, Owner at Stone Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! We so appreciate you and are so happy you loved the inn. Stowe is awesome in all four seasons, so you'll have to try a different season next time! We can't decide which is our favorite! Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had never visited Vermont and decided to take a trip from New York. We split the trip in two and stayed in Burlington half of our trip and Stowe at the Stone Hill Inn the second half. It was definitely a great impromptu decision to stay here as it completely blew our expectations out of the water. We're so used to the cookie cutter hotel vibe that it was nice to stay at an Inn that wanted nothing more than to cater to our every need. If we wanted reservations they were willing to make them for us. If we wanted to have a fire out on the patio they set up the supplies to get it going. From the hearty homemade breakfasts to the waterfall and beautiful landscaping, this should be your getaway destination for any occasion.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Shelby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd and Kristi... R, Owner at Stone Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Hi! We are so happy you had a great time here! We loved having you as guests and hope you will come visit again soon! Thank you so much for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

The place is more a small boutique hotel and less a B&B. The property is very well kept and beautiful. The grounds are lovely and the place is close enough to stowe but not too close. the place has like 6 rooms, in addition to a main hall and a game room open to the guests. The quality of the breakfast was adequate, not much more than that. The owners were personable, but to be honest, we didnt really have much interaction with them after checking in. the frisge in the kitchen was stocked with water and soft drinks which was a nice perk.

A couple of things that could use sprucing up are:
1) maybe it was just me, but the front doors looked a little shabby compared to the rest of the property. sort of like the entrance to the hoboken holday inn.
2) a turn down service would have been nice and probably pretty easy with such a small property
3) recycling the cakes from breakfast as afternooon snacks is a little tacky
4) maybe an afternoon tea or cocktail hour would have been nice
5) the size of the bathrooms were completely out of proportion to the rooms, it was just odd.

Bottom line: certainly one of the nicer places i have stayed. Not perfect, but very good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd and Kristi... R, Owner at Stone Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Thank you so much for the review and feedback! Since we are only nine months in to ownership, it is nice to hear our guests thoughts. We are definitely a B&B with 9 guest rooms. We have found in our short nine months here that most guests prefer a big hearty breakfast to a foo-foo one, so we have stuck to a big American style, with a little Southern roots love, kind of breakfast. Not for everyone and that's ok. WE couldn't agree more about the front doors. They are on our list to change and make our own in due time, however, they are quite functional in the cold Vermont winters and serve their purpose well. We do offer turndown service on an as requested basis. Please let us know you would like it and we are happy to do so. The cakes from breakfast are not "recycled" but are made in the morning as a double batch for the "morning snack" and a separate afternoon snack is put out. The Stone Hill Inn is a fully first class, third class, and outdoor consumption licensed inn. We have wine, beer, an cocktails available 24/7 with this information posted both on our website and at the front desk. It's cocktail hour every hour! You are also absolutely correct that our bathrooms are VERY large!! That probably won't change. Again, thank you for your honest feedback and for choosing Stone Hill Inn. We were happy to meet you and have you as a guest in our home and Inn. All the best to you and yours! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

My wife and I spent the week-end at Stone Hill Inn. We have been to many B&Bs over the years but our experience at Stone Hill was best by far. The location was perfect. It is nestled in the woods so you have quiet and beautiful surroundings but close to Stowe Village for dining or shopping.

The room was so comfortable and spacious with a wonderful fireplace to give the room the warmth and a romantic ambiance. Yes, even after 61 years that is important to us.

Todd and Kristie were wonderful. You immediately feel their gracious welcome as soon as you enter the front door. Todd loves preparing a great breakfast for you!

Highly recommended to you - you will love it. Richard and Sue

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd and Kristi... R, Owner at Stone Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Thank you so much! And a Very Happy Anniversary to you!! Hope to see you for #62 next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews