We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Charm”
Review of Stone Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just got back from this fabulous Inn. George and Linda are the complete hosts and will help with restaurant reservations or anything else you may need such as directions to area attractions and in our case getting theatre tickets. The room was very quiet-we stayed in the West Branch-and was very clean along with a very comfortable bed. The fireplace placed between the bathroom and bedroom is a nice touch.

Breakfasts are more than you can eat and there is a choice of two mains along with fruit and muffins or a loaf

They have beautiful grounds and if in the area will be back again.

Finally a shout-out to Tony who does everything and is very personable.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribbeancrazy243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 730 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

George and Linda, the innkeepers, had just one night to wow us. And they did! The 9 acre property is immaculate. The bath with jacuzzi and fireplace just perfect. The bed very comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding. Best of all George and Linda make you feel really welcomed to their home. We got to enjoy autumn colors at their peak. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limitedfixed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 days at Stone Hill Inn, it was so relaxing. The Inn Keepers George and Linda
are just warm, friendly and lovely people, they made us feel so welcome. We were celebrating
our 33rd Wedding Anniversary they made us feel so special. We started our day with the most
delicious breakfast. The food was amazing. Our room was the "Sterling" it is a beautiful room
overlooking the beautiful grounds, the waterfall, the pumpkins on the property, the leaves were
starting to change colors it was just beautiful. George and Linda we cannot thank you enough.
Thank you for a wonderful week-end. We will most definitely return.
Sarina & Anthony - Sept. 20-22, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This B & B is outstanding in all areas. The grounds are well-landscaped and are visually-pleasing - it creates a setting of serenity and peacefulness and makes you feel as though you have escaped into another world. Our rooms were thoughtfully decorated and spacious. The gas fireplace that between the bedroom and the jacuzzi was a great touch, adding visual as well as actual warmth to the room. There was a late afternoon wine hour than not only provided great nourishment (the food was outstanding) but served as a social hour that brought together the hosts and the visitors. The best part of the inn are the hosts. George and Linda made us feel like we were old friends and made us feel cared for. I got the sense that they truly enjoyed the company of the guests. They clearly paid attention to the tiniest of details and it showed that they wanted our experience to be the best. It was. You can have a great building on a great property and have great food, but it is the people that make the experience truly enriching. George and Linda did just that. The cost was higher than other bed and breakfasts that we have stayed in, but it was well worth it. I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a delightful property in a lovely location. The owners, Linda and George have created something quite special. For anyone who intends to visit Stowe, it is an experience not to be missed. One day we hope to be able to come back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tudor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We traveled all the way from Oregon to get married in Vermont. We were so lucky to find Stone Hill Inn and George and Linda. We got married in a very informal and sweet ceremony in front of their backyard waterfall among the beautiful Vermont fall colors and brilliant sunshine.

Their home is beautiful. Our room, the West Branch, was beyond perfect. George and Linda went out of their way to make our day just right. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

It was so perfect, my husband wanted to renew our vows the next day!

We'll be back for an anniversary celebration!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossandMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This inn is amazing and the innkeepers, Linda and George, make you feel so welcome and spoilt. They are fantastic. Everything at the inn was so well thought out - the information on arrival was perfect... Not too much to swamp us but enough to get us excited about our stay in Stowe. The dinner reservations which were made for us were great and we'd definitely recommend eating at Gracie's. Our room and decor and facilities were perfect. We loved the fire in our room and the jacuzzi bath was so romantic. The gardens were beautiful too, the beds fabulously comfortable, our room was very quiet even though the inn was full of guests. We enjoyed borrowing a DVD from the extensive library and we had fun playing pool in the fully kitted out games room. The drinks and snacks kept coming as soon as we arrived, from sodas, water and wine, to choccies, cheese and popcorn. And we are still dreaming about Linda's banana bread! It was epic. As for the breakfasts... we are at a loss for words. Delicious, awesome, scrumptious!!! Pumpkin pancakes, creme brûlée French toast, homemade granola, pear cake, cranberry muffins, coconut lime fruit salad, freshly squeezed fruit juice and the best bacon, eggs, cheesy hash brown... Linda is an amazing cook. We ate so much (because it was simply too good to stop!) that we could barely haul ourselves up Mt Mansfield afterwards. And we feel very sorry for the poor horses who had to carry us on a horse trail later that day!! Linda and George couldn't have been more wonderful and their inn is beautiful, well equipped, homely and we were very very sad to leave. Cannot recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: We had the catamount room and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bare_spotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
283 reviews
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
745 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,899 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Address: 89 Houston Farm Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $328 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Bed & Breakfast Inn whose mission is "providing unexpected opportunities to celebrate life...together," was designed exclusively for couples. Each room has the same amenities: baths with fireside Jacuzzis for two and shower; bedrooms with king beds and fireplace. Spectacular gardens, three course breakfast with entrees individually-prepared at private tables, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing