We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Stone Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My fiance and I took our second trip to Vermont and could not have been more satisfied with Stone Hill Inn. Right from the start innkeepers George and Linda were extremely welcoming and focused on ensuring our stay was pleasurable, as were their employees. The inn is located in a quaint and peaceful spot just outside the main parts of town, but within minutes of anything and everything Stowe has to offer. The inn has a large game room with plenty of board games and a pool table. The common area, with its beautiful stone fireplace, has a couch and sofas perfect for reading a good book and socializing. The inn each night lays out finger foods and wine, all on the house, in an effort to have guests mingle and socialize with the innkeepers. The inn also offers free snowshoes to use at any time, which was very convenient for us as we expected to have to pay for snowshoe rentals. Instead of paying a trail hiking fee, George gave us a location to walk just outside the inn that cost nothing and had beautiful landscapes. The room we stayed in was White Birch, which looks so much nicer in person than on the website. Also complimentary is soft drinks, water, popcorn, etc. for any guests to indulge themselves in.

The innkeepers, George and Linda, went above and beyond to ensure our stay was enjoyable. They will assist you with making reservations to a great restaurant, and the booking for our horse and sleigh ride just one mile from the inn at a local farm was romantic and peaceful. The chocolate covered strawberries were hands down the best strawberries we had, and the one-hour relaxation message was perfectly one by an extremely nice masseuse.

The breakfasts were filling and the variety offered was what we liked the most. Most B&Bs do not give a choice for breakfast. George and Linda gave two specials each day but were more than willing to make something outside of the specials, such as omelets or eggs with toast/bacon.

We can't say enough about our stay at Stone Hill and can understand first-hand why it is rated so high on Tripadvisor. The experience is well worth it and we highly recommend this inn for any couple seeking a romantic getaway and wanting to be treated as if it were their own home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 709 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Stone Hill Inn is the place to stay in Stowe, VT. The Inn is gorgeous, our room was comfortable, quiet and spacious. The Innkeepser's, George and Linda, are genuine and warm. Every morning George welcomed us with hot coffee and bake goods while Linda prepared a unique and delicious breakfast made to order. We enjoyed sitting around the huge stone fireplace relaxing with our host and other guests. Sharing stories of our adventures from the day and the past. Wine, hors d'oeuvres, great company and conversation! My husband and I have stayed at many Inn's around the country and this is was one of our favorites. We look forward to a return stay at the Inn on our next trip to Vermont.

Maggie & Jeff
Buffalo, NY

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing, romatic weekend, the Stone Hill Inn in Stowe VT is the place to go. The property is gorgeous and immaculate. The Innkeeper's, Linda and George are fabulous. They remember everyone's name and no detail is overlooked. My husband and I, along with two couples showed up with great expectations and all were met. We were so happy that we booked a return trip in September.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical-beautifully decorated and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina0966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Thanks to all the great reviews we decided to book a little getaway and stay at Stone Hill Inn. It was the first time my husband and I had gone to Vermont and our expectations were high. Due to my assignment overseas my husband and I have been living in two different countries (me Thailand him NY) for almost 2 years, so when we "commute" to see one another we want it to be special. Well George and Linda fulfilled our dreams. The beauty of their home and the generosity and warmth of their hospitality made the experience amazing. The breakfasts they prepared...oh how I miss it....so yummy!!!! They were extremely helpful with recommendations of things to see and do. The home full of holiday decorations and plentiful fireplaces just made it all the better. I don't know how anything can compare to this in Stowe or Vermont for that matter. We loved every moment and when my husband and I talk we always remember Stowe Hill in fondly. Look forward to returning when I am back stateside. Romance is always in the air in Stone Hill Inn!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauralucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was the perfect place for a romantic weekend. We stayed for 4 nights, and each evening was enjoyable, with friendly conversation and sumptuous treats especially prepared. The Owners (Linda & George Fulton) were extremely attentive, and their staff was equally friendly and highly accommodating. We have never been at a B&B with such pleasant and friendly owners, who extended themselves each day to make certain our stay was enjoyable and that we were always comfortable. The Inn is secluded and quiet, which makes mornings very peaceful and evenings very restful. Breakfast was a feast of choices, all of which were freshly prepared, well presented and very delicious. The Inn was very clean and impeccably decorated, which added to the warm, relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are well designed, with a fireplace that faces both the bedroom and the bathroom, offering an extra romantic touch that is not commonplace in other establishments. Complimentary beverages and popcorn are available each evening, and the Inn has an extensive movie collection and Game Room, which offers pool, chess, music and opportunities for conversation with other guests or private time to read or reflect. We are looking forward to returning to the Inn and making it a regular stop on our list of vacations. Definitely & Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at Stone Hill. The fireplaces in the bedroom/bathroom were wonderful as was the layout and decor in our room, Glen Moss. The room and common areas were spotless, I don't believe I have ever been in a more well-kept facility. The innkeepers do a wonderful job with nice touches, turn down service, dinner reservations, nightly appetizers and overall exceptional service. We had massages in our room in front of the fireplace and it was the most incredible hour! We are not skiers, but had a wonderful weekend in the inn as well as a snowmobile tour and great shops and dining options.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I booked a Friday and Saturday night stay at the inn for a romantic weekend, this was the right spot. The inn was wonderful and the owners were genuinely nice. They made all of the guests feel welcome; we had a relaxing early evening sitting by the fire enjoying some wine and conversation with some of the other couples and George was kind enough to help us with dinner reservations. The breakfasts were delicious each morning, homemade scones and orange pecan waffles; yum. There is nothing I would change. Can't wait to go back. Thank you Linda and George.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a king bed and double sided fireplace. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#1 of 22 in Stowe
731 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Address: 89 Houston Farm Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $327 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Bed & Breakfast Inn whose mission is "providing unexpected opportunities to celebrate life...together," was designed exclusively for couples. Each room has the same amenities: baths with fireside Jacuzzis for two and shower; bedrooms with king beds and fireplace. Spectacular gardens, three course breakfast with entrees individually-prepared at private tables, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing