We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Stowe and absolutely worth a stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem in Stowe and absolutely worth a stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Having been fortunate to travel extensively and stay in many excellent properties throughout the world, I must say that our stay at the Stone Hill Inn last weekend was wonderful. From the minute we arrived, we were treated like long lost friends. The inn is beautiful but the hospitality of George and Linda is exceptional. The bedroom and bathroom are first class and the bed is extremely comfortable. The gardens are immaculate, the facilities excellent and the home cooked breakfast AMAZING! I would return in a heartbeat and I really think you would be hard pressed to find more gracious hosts anywhere. Kiara and I loved our stay and only wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you so much Linda and George.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizbomben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
536
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Stone Hill Inn was exactly as described on their website. It is an immaculate inn, set on beautifully landscaped grounds. There was close attention paid to every exquisite detail. This was just a quick, one night getaway but we were treated like we were staying for a week. Thanks, George and Linda!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our annual motorcycle trip this year was to the north country and the mountains. Our brief stay at Stone Hill Inn was a lovely end to the ride through Smugglers Notch. (For our fellow motorcycle-enthusiasts..."Whheeeee!)

George welcomed us and gave a tour of the lovely inn. We stayed in the Sugar Maple room and had a wonderful view of the garden -- and really enjoyed the comfort of the spa tub. It was peaceful and restorative and the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this very warm and romantic Bed and Breakfast! The owners, George and Linda just bent over backwards to meet our every need! The room was luxurious but the bath was really special with it's two way fireplace and Spa Tub! The grounds are just beautiful with waterfalls and sumptuous flower gardens. Linda makes wonderful gourmet breakfasts and they host a fun 5:30 cocktail party which let's you have the chance to meet other travelers and share their experiences. We loved the location, the inn and especially George and Linda. Don't miss this special place if you are going to the Stowe area.

Room Tip: All the baths have two way fireplaces and Spa tubs so pick a room with the best kind of sleeping arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Stone Hill Inn for two nights in August. We found the Inn on TripAdvisor and decided, due to its #1 rating, to give it a shot. We were not disappointed. All the comments you will read are spot on. Here is my review of the Inn:

Location
The perfect location. The Inn is secluded and is quiet and peaceful unlike some others which are situated off the main road. It is about a 2-3 mile drive in either direction to get to everything you want to do. (I suggest Michael's on the Hill for a special evening...farm fresh ingredients!)

Ambiance
I would classify this as a "romantic B&B". While the Inn is large by B&B standards it still remains quaint and cozy. The common areas are warm and inviting and the rooms are very well appointed with fireplaces in the bedrooms and bathrooms. The two person jetted tubs are a nice touch. A nice place to celebrate an anniversary, birthday, etc. I suggest a room with a view of the rear garden. We stayed in the Cotton Brooke and enjoyed it. One side note - for a larger Inn I was really struck by how quiet it was. There were lots of other couples but you would never know it.

Service
George and Linda run the Inn and it seems as if they do it all themselves. They are both attentitive, helpful and always asking you if things are to your liking. The homecooked breakfast in the mornings are a real treat. They offer a common kitchen area complete with water, sodas, coffee, etc. They are also quick to help you with any reservations, tips on activities, etc. They were a joy to spend time with.

I would highly recommend the Stone Hill Inn along with highly recommending VT as a vacation destination. It is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the little garden and waterfall out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrclg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trophy Club, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I wanted to do something special for our 25th Wedding Anniversary before we picked our son up from Leadership Camp at Norwich University.
Our three night stay was incredible. The room and inn were beautifully decorated. The grounds were spectacular. George and Linda were very accommodating and gracious. The breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeurves were delicious.
Even though there were other guests staying at the inn, we felt as if we were in our own private oasis.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the West Branch room. It was quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Stone Hill for our 5th wedding anniversary and could not have asked for a more relaxing, romantic trip. It was our first trip to Stowe, but after staying at Stone Hill, I know it will not be our last.

The Inn is perfectly located on top of a hill away from the main road but close to downtown Stowe, Waterbury, and more. There was a great variety of shops and restaurants as well as a farmer's market, miniature golf, a movie theater, and more, much of it within a 5 minute drive and even more within 10-15 minutes. You can also easily walk, run, or bike to the Stowe recreational path, as there is an access point with a parking lot less than 2 minutes from the Inn.

Our room (West Branch, one of the two corner/end rooms at the Inn) was impeccably decorated with wonderful amenities: king bed with plenty of pillows (more in the "pillow closet" if you need a different firmness), a sitting area, a sliding door leading straight to the back garden, a double-sided fireplace that served the bedroom and the bathroom, a huge jacuzzi tub, double vanity, separate shower, large, plush towels, and a TV and DVD player. The room was unbelievably comfortable and quiet.

George and Linda are gracious and friendly, providing the perfect level of service and helpfulness without being intrusive. George greeted us upon our arrival and had several fantastic restaurant recommendations that fit our needs perfectly. Linda prepares an amazing breakfast that is available from 8-10 am every morning, including 2 options for the main course (3 if you count the fact that she will prepare eggs any style for you as well) as well as fruit dishes and bakery items (muffins, breads, etc.), all delicious. I honestly couldn't believe they had only owned the Inn for 9 months; they seemed like seasoned pros, with no detail left out.

We were sad to leave after only 2 nights, but we will certainly be back to experience Stone Hill again. All 4 seasons seem to have wonderful activities to offer, so I don't think you can pick a bad one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Property: Stone Hill Inn
Address: 89 Houston Farm Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Bed & Breakfast Inn whose mission is "providing unexpected opportunities to celebrate life...together," was designed exclusively for couples. Each room has the same amenities: baths with fireside Jacuzzis for two and shower; bedrooms with king beds and fireplace. Spectacular gardens, three course breakfast with entrees individually-prepared at private tables, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing