We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Butler House Stowe(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$149
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodores Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Mountain Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$329
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Green Mountain Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$189
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$438
$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stowehof(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topnotch Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$318
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveler rating
738
20
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
738
20
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble sided fireplacepool tableromantic getawayeach morningjacuzzi tubfiddleheadsour honeymoonbed and breakfastsnow shoesnew ownersb bsgas fireplacewonderful hostsother guestsbreakfast was deliciouscommon areasboard games
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 762 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This was our first experience staying at a B&B and it was amazing. We wanted to stay somewhere special and the Stone Hill was just perfect. When we arrived Kelly welcomed us and gave us the grand tour. She recommended a place to go for dinner and we mentioned that it was our 30th Anniversary. When we arrived back from dinner, there was a card and a box of chocolates waiting for us.....very sweet. Breakfast each morning was delicious. Skip is quite the cook. Sharon makes sure that you have whatever you need to enjoy your meal. Overall the Inn is a wonderful retreat from everyday life.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My new wife and I chose the Stone Hill Inn for our elopement after it popped up on a search for the best places to elope in New England. They lived up to the hype in every way. They gave us a thorough personal tour of the grounds and told us to do whatever we liked for our ceremony, hung the dress in the innkeeper's personal closet, altered the breakfast menu to offer 2 vegetarian options for us, and spent our wedding day making sure we had everything we needed including an extra room for me to get ready in. All of the little details like a kitchen stocked with free snacks and drinks to giving us a vase to take the bouquet home in were things that I have never been offered by even the nicest city hotels. This inn was a splurge for a special occasion, but my wife and I left feeling like it was worth every penny. We look forward to coming back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sterling Room and loved it!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at 7 B&B's during our stay and this one really stood out. We had a great room with a door out to the beautiful garden. There are 2 swings hanging from the trees which were a lot of fun. Being in the juccuzi under the stars was lovely. The staff were great, and nothing was too much trouble.They went out of their way to make sure you had everything you needed. The food was great too. Sharon was very attentive and she liked to know your likes and dislikes (food wise), so that was great. It helped her and you got what you want.
Our bathroom was enormous, with a fireplace that went through to the bedroom. A huge jacuzzi bath and a shower cubicle too. Also a double sink unit and vey large mirror above.
It was our anniversary while we were there and they put a card in our room and a box of chocolates - how sweet! There was an eating place within walking distance, but I believe you had to cut through the trees. We decided to take the car purely because we had both been bitten a few times on our trip and did not want to risk getting bitten again! :-)

Room Tip: I think most rooms face the garden, but can't be sure.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJF4291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here just one night. We have stayed in literally hundreds of inns, B&B's in Vt and around the world and as a haven for the evenings - this is in the top 10. The property has no views to speak of - but the rooms are well appointed, common areas are very spacious and comfortable and the staff are all pleasant, knowledgeable and professional. Small, but very well landscaped property to enjoy a cup of hot coffee or glass of wine. However, I was vastly underimpressed with their breakfast and evening snack. One of the things we always look forward to on our VT Inn stops in particular is the breakfast - the offerings were not that interesting and I ended up ordering eggs that came out cooked incorrectly the first time out. We are used to strong coffee, but can handle most brews in a pinch, so take this comment with that in mind - coffee was much too watery for our taste. So our breakfast experience, at these prices - was hard to accept - but it was only 1 day stay. Evening snack they offer was just a dip with some crackers. Tasty - but underwhelming for these prices again - if you want more taste before going out to eat - stop and get yourself some hearty Vt cheese and crackers, some wine and sit and enjoy your room or the beautiful common rooms at Stone Hill. Overall - a nice place to visit and experience - but at this price, probably would go to another spot for better breakfast and evening snacks. Yes - I would recommend - but with those caveats about food and views

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xenonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Inn is very clean, service is attentive and very friendly, everything stated on the web- site is true. The breakfast is really great so are the afternoon snacks. Just bear in mind that you need a car to go to the restaurants for dinner in the evenings (as the Inn does not do dinners). We did walk to Stowe village the first night, only after dark, it is a little bit difficult and uncomfortable to walk back as cars cannot see you clear and you have to walk next to the main road. Do remember to bring your own (alcoholic) drinks as well, as the B& B does not have a bar, of course you can buy something in Stowe if you like. If you would like to go for a hike, we can recommend the "sterling" trail. It is a nice workout and doesn't take too long (however, it is quite steep an hour up and then an hour down again). On Satuday's, there is a local market in Stowe village, with all kind of products from the region, was interesting to see and lots of locals and visitors, really a town happening (starts at 1pm and ends at 3pm). For dinner reservations you can ask the friendly inkeepers, however, if you really would like to have dinner at a specific restaurant we would recommend to make the reservation before arrival, as they might be fully booked. I think we would love to go back there in the winter ... when we can ski and relax in the luxurious room with all you can wish for afterwards.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchies266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews