We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior hostelry in a great outdoor sports area”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Family and I stayed here during July 4 holiday week, so I can only write for summer season. We had a great experience--from the large corner room in the "depot annex", to hospitality and housekeeping, to amenities. Kids loved the pool and in-room Jacuzzi, my wife luxuriated with a spa massage, while I liked the well-equipped fitness center and steam room. Didn't get to dine at the Inn's restaurant, the "Whip", but it must be good as it was full every night. An extremely well-maintained historic up-scale property with a much welcomed unpretentiousness, and a very helpful and cordial staff. Couldn't ask for any better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,558 - 1,564 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

My husband and I were were married a few weeks ago and had our reception at the Green Mountain Inn. We had a large group of people that flew in from all over the country and the staff assisted each and every one of them in one way or another. They went so above and beyond for us we're still in awe. The wedding/event planner never missed a step, the front desk staff was spectaculor and the accomidations were perfect. So many of our guests had never been to Vermont, but I guarantee all will return after this experience. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable...and extremely clean. The food is amazing, the people are kind and the experience should not be missed by anyone looking for a great place to stay! We also highly recommend having a reception or any type of event there, you and your party will be treated very well!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonDanCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

What a perfect place for a romantic getaway! True, it is a bit pricey, but my guy and I were celebrating our anniversary, so we decided to splurge by staying here. From the moment we arrived at the front desk, I knew we were going to have a good experience; the concierge was so genuinely friendly and gregarious, I felt as if we were old friends within minutes. There were Stowe mugs for sale at the front desk; I asked the concierge how much the mugs were, and he winkingly said, "We'll talk about that on Sunday when you check out." I figured there would be some sort of discount on mugs after staying at the place . . .

Sometimes, when you stay at an expensive place, it's just . . . expensive. At the Green Mountain Inn, it is true that you pay top dollar, but you definitely get what you pay for; the amenities are absolutely prime. Our room had a fireplace, a king-sized canopy bed, a whirlpool in the bathroom, and more space than we knew what to do with! As guests, we had access to an impressive workout facility, in addition to the swimming pool and jacuzzi. The place is an honest-to-goodness resort, not just a jacked-up hotel. My guy and I resolved to come back for a longer period of time than a three-day weekend, so that we could take fuller advantage of all the amenities there.

I should also mention the excellent bar at the Whip, the restaurant on the premises. We didn't get any food there, but the drink selection was impressive, and the bartender was terrific! They must have a pretty tight policy on customer service; every experience we had with staff members was positive.

Anyway, getting back to that mug . . . on Sunday, as we were checking out, I once again inquired about the mug . . . and the concierge told me it was free! I was definitely not expecting that; it was the proverbial icing on the cake after a fantastic weekend. If you've got the money to spend, the Green Mountain Inn is worth every penny of it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ComposerAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Couldn't have been more thrilled! First visit to Stowe and we will be back to the Green Mountain Inn for sure! Upgraded at check-in to a room with a jacuzzi tub and it was well worth it! The location and amenities are awesome. Enjoyed a wonderful meal at their restaurant, The Whip. I highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udhoopsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

My third stay at the Green Mountain Inn & this time we had a luxury room - well worth the extra!
The staff are always really nice but not intrusive and do their best to help with any problems. The outdoor pool is a great way to relax after a day skiing and is quite surreal with all the snow on the ground. You can walk through the small village of Stowe without needing to drive anywhere.
The hotel is a mixture of old & new rooms & annexes so if you want a specific type of room you must ask before arriving. The rooms at the front do suffer from traffic noise - not that Stowe is busy!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjgr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We've stayed in Stowe numerous times and this was our first visit to The Green Mountain Inn. The rooms were surprisingly spacious and quiet, the only downfall is they were extremely bright in the morning.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. My boyfriend had a massage and said it was the best one yet.

And, by all means if you stay you have to eat at The Whip, the restaurant connected to the Inn, the food is great and if the weather is nice having lunch out on the patio is fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLynnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

This is our third stay at The Green Mountain Inn and as usual, it was delightful.. The staff through out the inn is amazing . . . warm, friendly, always helpful. The inn is perfectly located in the heart of Stowe village, within walking distance to the many wonderful little shops along Main Street. We always end our day with dinner at The Whip & Grill . . . fantastic meals!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaintedOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $129 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing