We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Green Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Field Guide(Stowe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,916)
Filter reviews
1,916 results
Traveler rating
1,307
461
110
26
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,307
461
110
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmansfield housewhip restaurantluxury suitemiddle of townfour poster bedmain streetfire pitnew englandjacuzzi tubclassic roomcookiesmodern amenitieshotel restaurantbeautiful roomdowntown stowelarge bathroombaked goods
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,738 - 1,743 of 1,916 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2009

This is a nice inn in a lovely ski town. We had a great time in the heated pool and a better time skiing. However, when we called for reservations they said we needed a luxury suite since we had two young kids (ages 6 and 8) and the luxury suites have sofabeds. This room was somewhat dated looking with a in room jacuzzi (especially for a family ski trip) and the worst thing was that on our last night there the room above us decided to turn on their jacuzzi at 9:45 (well after our 9pm bedtime). It woke me up and sounded like a jet engine was about to take off on top of us. This was not great for sleep and I did complain to the front desk. They did discount our room for the last night but I think they need to stop recommending the luxury suites for families with young children. Plus, the game room which my kids wanted to play in had video games that didn't work corrrectly and the air hockey and pool require you to pay for them.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Returned to the Inn 12 years after our first visit, lived up to our great memories with good service, great accomodation and an excellent bar and grill in The Whip restaurant.

Upgraded to a deluxe room in the main buiding but away from any noise from the bar.
Recommend going on the Lantern Tour of Stowe for spooky ghost stories featuring the green Mountain!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lilymag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed here over Christmas with our two kids, primarily for the skiing at Stowe ski resort, a ten minute drive away.
The hotel felt very Christmasy with lots of decorations and a homely feel. The staff were very helpfull and nothing was too much trouble for them to organise.
We stayed in the Starr Suite which was located a short walk from the main hotel. It was huge, with an open plan lounge/kitchen/dining room, it had a vast tv and table football in the lounge and dining table for 8. A big wardrobe area which was good for storing all the ski kit, a large bedroom with two double beds and another huge tv. Nice jacuzzi bathroom with shower. Also had washing machine and tumble dryer which we used most nights to keep all the ski stuff clean.
We cooked for ourselves most nights but the Whip Bar at the hotel is a nice place to meet for evening drinks, we got take out food there one night and it was fine.
Only minor complaints was thet the spa is a bit small and tired and in need of an update. Jacuzzi and sauna are pretty awfull, the steamy outdoor pool is fun in the evenings though.
Other complaint was that there were no real Xmas celebrations as such at the hotel, we chose not to have the evening meal on the 25th, but thought there may have been some sort of drinks reception.
On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it as a good place to stay. Right in the heart of town, so close to everything and great sandwich shop in the book stall next door.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Stayed at the Inn for 5 days over New Year and while it was in a good location in the centreof the viilage - it could do wih some updating. The bar was small and dark and on the lower floor joining the restaurant - not much space if you wanted an apres ski drink! While the rooms were spacious (we had a luxury room), the decor is dated and tired - particularly compared to the newly opened Stowe Mounain Resort.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank Redbaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

If you're looking for a place that won't disappoint, this is it. The Green Mountain Inn gives you all the charm, character, and friendliness you'd expect in an old New England Inn. The place especially shines as a perfect romantic getaway. Unfortunately, I just came to Stowe to ski with an old buddy ;) The Inn is located in the town center of Stowe, an easy and scenic seven mile drive to the ski lifts. What did I like most about my visit? The excellent homemade breakfast, the cool old bar, the heated pool, and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cycman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews