We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Walking into their front office, I was somewhat apprehensive as to how the rooms would look. We booked on a travel site, and hoped that their description was correct. They nailed it. The king-sized (by request) bed was extremely comfortable, and all of the furnishings were tastefully done, although it took a bit to find the in-room fridge since I had forgotten about it. As a tall guy, I was somewhat disappointed by the position of the shower head, but won't downgrade them because of that. The shower stall was not as big as I'd have liked, but at the very least I got to say hello to my feet. In fact, the light in the shower was burned out, and since we didn't need it, we didn't tell anyone. Apparently, when the room attendant saw that it was out, she replaced the bulb on her own. Impressive! The Keurig in the room was a nice touch, too. I especially liked that the room key cards also operated the doors to the building, so that it could only be accessed by the current residents. The parking lot had plenty of parking, with a regular (steps) entrance in the front and a handicapped entrance in the rear. All-in-all, a wonderful hotel right in the main area of Stowe.

Room Tip: Ask for the Mill House. The rooms are a little more expensive, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fenuzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

It is always a pleasure to learn when our guests are completely satisfied with their stay! All of the amenities that we provide at the Green Mountain Inn were well thought out with our guests in mind and also with the hopes of sharing a true Vermont experience. I do apologize for the inconvenience of a burned out bulb in your room, but I am happy to see that our dedicated housekeeping staff quickly fixed the issue. Thank you for letting me know how much you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,881 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was a little concerned about staying right in the middle of town.....Main Street in Stowe can be very busy. But this Inn is comprised of a series of buildings and most rooms are well away from Main Street. We were in the Mansfield building, in a luxury suite, that far surpassed many of the rooms we've stayed in anywhere.....especially at this price. The property was very clean, well furnished, bathroom well appointed and roomy, and the staff were helpful and friendly. One note: if you have accessibility needs, ask for information and accommodation when booking your stay. This is an old inn on varying levels with varying levels of accessibility. There are several nice restaurants within walking distance, including the in house restaurant. The pool area is not large, but is perfectly adequate as far as seating, lounges, and pool size. There is food/drink service available at the pool. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Wifi was sporadic in our end room. Ask about that if its important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for mentioning all the areas that made your stay at the Green Mountain Inn so enjoyable. We do have several places within our Inn that allow for handicap accessibility, including a wheelchair lift in the Mansfield House. I’m so glad you had a chance to explore Stowe while you were here and I look forward to greeting you again in the future. Thank you again for your kind comments.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

From the moment we arrived we realised that this hotel is so much more than your usual place to stay. The staff seemed to genuinely care about you and are at pains to ensure you have everything you need for your comfort.
We stayed in a suite in the Mansion House and we could not fault one single thing. On entering the building and hearing the soft classical music playing in the hall, then taking the grand staircase to our room it was as if we had been transported to a bygone elegance.
The suite itself was wonderful with every attention to detail you could think of. As our trip was to celebrate my birthday it was lovely to discover a card and chocolates waiting in our room. So thoughtful but just one of the many kindnesses we received whilst staying here.
The breakfast was superb not least because of the friendly and happy staff serving. We had never tried pancakes before but were persuaded to and boy are we glad we did. You certainly made a couple of English converts there!
We would have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful hotel to anyone who wished to savour the warm hospitality and genuine friendliness of Vermont folk.
Thank you for making our stay so great.

Room Tip: Mansion House every time but I'm sure you would enjoy any as long as its at this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Your review has certainly made me smile! Knowing that each and every one of your needs were met while staying at the Green Mountain Inn makes me very happy. Happy Birthday from all of us! How wonderful to hear that you had the chance to try the amazing pancakes from our Main Street Dining Room! I will be sure to share your comments with our staff as I’m sure they will make their day. Thank you for all your gracious compliments for both the Inn itself and our staff. Please come and stay with us again soon!

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The process is typically the same no matter where you go. You check in, you meander down endless hallways to find your room, you fight with the door card, you unpack, and then you open your eyes to your surroundings, you realize where you are, and then you appreciate your surroundings. This is not the case at The Green Mountain Inn. As you approach the village of Stowe, you can't but help being overwhelmed with the feeling that you are in a special place which magically eliminates stress and thoughts of anything going on beyond the borders of the village. Once you enter the Inn you feel as though you have been taken back in time to a place and time when people care about the guests they serve, and the inn that they manage and maintain. It is evident that this is not a chain hotel with a centralized booking service, and a corporate operations guide. The Green Mountain Inn staff practices their trade by delivering personal attention, being positive and personable, and a pleasure to interact with.

From the decor to the maintenance, the inn common areas and guest rooms are well appointed, and the attention to detail makes you feel right at home. The grounds are larger than one might perceive from the main street, but are well laid out and easy to access, and almost feel like a small village. Services and shops are conveniently located and provide a full range of products and services. In fact, you may never need to leave the grounds to find everything you need.

Hotel restaurants typically provide adequate fare, but in the case of the Whip, they have managed to put out some well prepared meals during our stay. Of note their burger may be one of the best in Stowe. Using beef from locally raised cattle, and a fresh brioche style bun, their burger is perfectly cooked with a nice crisp finish on the meat, without being over cooked. Pair that with what seems to be their endless supply of Heady Topper Ale, and you can't beat the experience.

Did I mention the endless supply of Heady Topper, one of the most sought after craft ales in America? Had to mention this again, as it may be one of the only ways for anyone to actually get ahold of a can of this golden goodness.

From the fire pit, (with S'mores in the evening), to the Whip patio overlooking the pool deck, to the out door pool and jacuzzi there is plenty of space and things to do to distract you from anything outside the hotel.

Great place to relax and forget the world.

Room Tip: The suites in the Mansfield house can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Now you have made me hungry! What an amazing review; thank you so much! You are correct, there is something magical about the village of Stowe and the Green Mountain Inn is right at the heart of all of it. Quaint shops and delectable eateries are within steps of our doors and if you don’t want to venture out, you’ll have no problem finding something to do right here at the Inn. You have described the experience at the GMI perfectly and I thank you. It would be a privilege to have you return.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

After several days of staying in perfectly fine but non-descript chain hotels, it was a breath of fresh air to stay in the charming Green Mountain Inn. It’s an historic inn with modern amenities located right in the center of town. The inn seems to have grown organically as there is a main building that connects through halls and up and down staircases to other sections of the sprawling two story hotel property. The main building houses the reception area, Whip Bar & Grill, breakfast room and comfortable classic cozy sitting areas complete with fireplaces, chess and other parlour games . If stairs are a problem, ask for a room in the main building, which has an elevator.

Our queen bedded room (not in the main bldg) was comfortable with puffy inviting beds and artwork by local artists on the walls. While I thought a corner niche with fridge and coffee maker added to the charm, my husband and kids loved the very modern amenity of an extremely large flat screen TV. Bathroom was spotless with thick bath towels and a frameless glass enclosed shower. Although the bedroom and bathroom weren’t large, they were comfortable enough for 4 people. The only things desperately missing from the room were a small table near the armchairs so you could rest a drink or a book, and a desk so you could do some work or write a note. We had a small shared balcony that overlooked the pool area, which has chaise lounges and tables with umbrellas.

The pool itself was wonderfully heated. There is a separate baby pool and also a hot tub. My teenage kids and I loved playing ping pong and the giant “connect four,” which are in the pool area. A game room nearby has pinball and billiards (for a fee). The exercise room is pleasant and well equipped. I didn’t use the sauna but it looked great.

We ate in the Whip bar and grill one night, which was pretty good. Although the buffet breakfast in the hotel seemed popular and got rave reviews online, we opted instead to go next door to a café for basics -- bagels, croissants and waffles. The front desk is helpful, wi-fi is free, there is plenty of parking and the 4pm tea and cookies are a nice touch. Overall, the Green Mountain Inn was a perfect summertime landing spot from which to explore Stowe and the surrounding towns.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

How wonderful that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax and fully enjoy the welcoming atmosphere of the Green Mountain Inn. I’m thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy some quality family time at our outdoor heated pool and that our convenient location allowed you to make the most out of your stay. I’d be thrilled to welcome all of you back for another wonderful experience and I thank you for your gracious review.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here in April for three nights. It is a lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were very clean if a little on the small size. It is right in the middle of Stowe and within easy walking distance is a great selection of shops, restaurants and activities (including the Stowe recreation path which is across the road). There is also a nice gym, indoor spa pool, outdoor spa pool and outdoor pool (the outdoor pools are only open in the evenings for the winter).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Enjoying our outdoor pool during the winter months is truly a one-of-a-kind experience, but all year long, our pool and spa are a great place to unwind and relax. It sounds like you had an opportunity to enjoy many of the things that make staying at the Green Mountain Inn special, and that makes me happy. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you for sharing your experience.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I had a 3 night getaway from our children and chose to stay at Green Mt. Inn. The first room we were in was rather small and faced the Main street, so it was really noisy at 5am with all the traffic. The front desk staff was wonderful and was able to move us to a room towards the bak of the hotel. The new room was a little larger and much quieter. The breakfast was not included, but very good. The pool and hot tub area was beautiful, and quite a relief to sore muscles after hiking all day. Sitting by the fire pit and relaxing with a drink from the Whip Bar was a perfect ending each night to a perfect getaway with my husband.

Room Tip: Rooms 201 and 202 have a shared porch over the front of the hotel. It is nice to sit out there and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Finding time for just the two of you is priceless and I’m so happy that the Green Mountain Inn was part of a special getaway for both of you. It was our pleasure to assist in finding you the perfect room for your stay and you are correct; the setting of our outdoor heated pool and fire pit is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a full day of exploring the village of Stowe. Please come and stay with us again; it would be my pleasure to welcome you back.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $135 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing