We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Hingham, ma.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the "star" apartment in the back building. It was very nice and spacious for a family of six. This hotel is in a great location. The outdoor pool and hot tub were fantastic. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Whip restaurant was very good and surprisingly reasonable for a nice hotel restaurant. We have become regulars and have already booked the same week next year. If you want a full gym get a day pass at the Swimming Hole about a mile away. This is a nice gym and I believe the fee is $20. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Villanova87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
I love hearing from our return guests and learning that they look forward year after to year to returning to the Green Mountain Inn! We all get excited when we see familiar faces around the Inn and it makes us happy to know we have an extended family in our guests. It’s great to hear that you were able to enjoy so many wonderful aspects of our Inn and I look forward to having you return next year. Thank you for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    437
    104
    26
    11
See reviews for
383
1,050
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The Green Mountain Inn located in the heart of Stowe, VT. The GMI has been in operation since 1833. Since then the GMI has expanded tremendously, and while it is still called an inn, it is truly a hotel. Service is cordial, they offer complimentary soirées with wine and cheese, as well as complimentary afternoon tea and cookies. Rooms are pretty and clean. Of note, the hotel offers rooms in the main hotel, and in an annex that leads to the outside. Their outdoor pool was great, except for the fact that it was a bit too hot (do not stay greater than 10 minutes or it will wipe you out). The Whip, it's signature restaurant is first rate. All in all the GMI offers the amenities that other local resorts, such as the Trapp Family Lodge, Top Notch, and Stoweflake offer (please see my reviews) with one important difference, value! While the drive to the slopes is 10 perhaps 15 minutes longer than say the Trapp, I am willing to drive a little longer for the significant price difference. Not only that. Quality is not compromised. You still get first class accommodations at around 1/3 less than the former. Furthermore, since the GMI is located downtown you have more restaurant choices than what you would get at a resort. Where you are basically stuck. I foresee staying at the GMI next year. Good travels!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Eduardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights on a visit from the UK. We loved the feel of the place and the friendliness of the staff. Very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a luxury king fireplace suite and glad we did! Loved the fact that it felt like lots of little B&Bs together rather than a hotel due to separate buildings. we had the breakfast twice which was delicious - the BEST blueberry pancakes! YUM! Wondeful service at breakfast too. We weren't overly impressed with the food at the Whip bar and grill but the service and atmosphere was great. The only thing I would recommend is putting proper mugs and glasses in the rooms rather than us having to ask for them (especially in the luxury rooms - paper cups and plastic glasses rather spoil the effect! We did get them when we asked though) Thanks for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimzoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m so glad to learn that you enjoyed the uniqueness of the buildings that make up the Green Mountain Inn. I do understand that plastic and paper cups can draw away from the ambiance that is present within our luxurious guestrooms, but offering individually wrapped cups provides a much cleaner environment for our guests. As you said, glassware can be requested if you so choose. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and I thank you again for your comments.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Tried to book this hotel via Virgin Holidays this year, unfortunately it is not now in their ski brochure. This is a shame, as during my trip to Stowe decided to try out the bar and restaurant both of which were excellent. The staff were wonderful and the food top notch. I think Virgin have made a big mistake in dropping this hotel as it is a real gem. I would certainly book it if coming to Stowe again. Can't comment on the rooms as it was only a fleeting visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I absolutely appreciate you letting me know how much you enjoyed your experience at the Green Mountain Inn and I look forward to welcoming you in the future for an exceptional stay. It’s always great to hear that our staff and facilities made such a wonderful impression. Thank you for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton and Wellfleet, MA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed for two nights in February at the Green Mountain Inn and couldn't have been happier. The staff was particularly helpful in choosing restaurants in the area as well as "off-the-beaten-track" places to cross-country ski. The outdoor hot tub is great, as is the heated outdoor pool. The breakfast was also very good. Didn't love the fact that, in the annex, you have to go outside rather than through a lobby, so next time will ask for a room in the main building. Bed was very comfortable and bedding great.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I-miss-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
It sounds as if your stay included many of the aspects that make the Green Mountain Inn such a great place to stay and I appreciate you sharing your enjoyment. Staying in the Main Inn does indeed have a special feel, however the varied selection of accommodations that we offer make it easy to have a unique experience each time you stay at our Inn. The pleasure would be all ours to place you in a room that fully meets your needs and I look forward to seeing you soon.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The best: Year Round Swimming at an Outdoor Pool! The pool is full of steam and very warm in the winter. It is truly meant for the perfect dip. Also, a fully equipped gym equals a great workout before skiing. The breakfast is delicious and you are located in the center of everything. Restaurants, shops, and the mountain is a short drive or a quick walk away.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room away from the elevator. It makes a loud beep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meep4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Enjoying a soothing dip in our outdoor, heated pool is truly a wonderful experience and I’m thrilled that your stay included that and more! The Main Street location of the Green Mountain Inn makes it easy for our guests to fully explore Stowe and still be close to a comfortable place to relax and unwind after a full day. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I thank you for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

It’s in the center of Stow. Lots of parking behind the hotel.
We did not stay in the main hotel and that was just fine. I like the house we were in more than the main hotel.

The Good:
Rooms was big, clean and the beds are very comfortable.
Beds are very high off the ground and we had fun with it, but do keep that in mind.
Fireplace (gas) heated room very quickly and we had to trun it off because it made the room to warm.
The room was very clean and so was the bathroom.
Breakfast was ok, lots of cake and pastries etc, if that’s your thing. The have some eggs and horrid bacon. They also offer pancakes and sweet stuff like that for breakfast if you pay extra.
No espresso or latte. Service was 6/10

The lunch/dinner restaurant was hit and miss. We had dinner there one night only. Service was good. My first steak was terrible, but when I complained it was replaced very quickly with a nice one. Drinks in the bar are strong and very well made. Excellent Bloody-Mary

The Bad:
The shower is very small and the water pressure it terrible. Worse shower ever in any hotel.
The outdoor, heated pool is ok, not that big and not that warm, we got cold after a while. The hot tub is next to the pool and tiny, while very warm.
The bathrooms are far and a bit of a walk. The floors in the bathrooms were a mess due to people walking there in their muddy boots. If it raining or snowing, you have no place to hang your towel or bathrobe near the pool. Towels are so thin and old and threadbare it was really not pleasant.

Would I stay here again? Maybe if the rate was a 100 a night cheaper. Paid 265+tax+service fee. Also there are no other real options in the middle of town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misiu_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your perspective of your recent stay at the Green Mountain Inn. We work very hard to provide the most comfortable and memorable experience for each of our guests and I do apologize if your stay did not exceed your expectations. I will personally share your comments with our staff in order to improve upon what we offer. Our website is a great place to browse for special offers and packages that can help with making your next stay more affordable. Thank you for your review and please come and stay with us again soon.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.4 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.0 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
202 reviews
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing