We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, excellent staff”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Common spaces and rooms are very clean and well maintained. Heated outdoor pool is beautiful. Fitness room is basic, but contains what you need. Nightly fire pit is a great way to relax and chat with friends. They even provided a smore making kit, so you can roast your own marshmallows. Breakfast is fantastic and priced right. Parking was a little difficult at night, but always found a spot. Perfect location in the middle of Stowe village. Easy access to shops and restaurants and the mountains. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerDave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

It’s wonderful to hear that your stay at the Green Mountain Inn provided you with a memorable trip to Stowe. It seems like every aspect of your experience was positive and I’m so happy that you took the time to let me know how well your stay went. The convenient location of our Inn makes it very easy for our guests to make the most out of their time. Thank you for your kind review and come back and stay with us soon!


Patti Clark

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of the first substantial hotels in Stowe. Located near all the shops, restaurants and amenities. Impressed with updated room including amenities one would expect in a new hotel. Very comfortable bed. Clean and attractive room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the efforts of our renovations! With our guests always in mind, we focused on what would make everyone’s experience even better, and it seems we were right on target. I’m very happy that your stay was comfortable and I look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay very soon. Thank you for your kind review.


Patti Clark

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel is a mixture of different buildings, well located and nicely decorated in an older style. Enjoyed the helpful desk staff's recommendations and stayed here for 2 days, using it as a base to explore various fall foliage routes. Parking is a little tight. We ate at the nearby Bagel Cafe for breakfast and enjoyed the best dinner of our trip at the Foxfire Inn, about 2 miles up the road.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank BoydChicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

I am pleased to hear that the convenient location of the Green Mountain Inn added such value to your stay in Stowe, and that our helpful staff was able to help you make the most out of your visit. It’s heading toward the end of the best time to enjoy the beautiful changing of the seasons, and I’m happy you were able to have a chance to enjoy it with a scenic drive around the area. Thank you for your kind words and please come and stay with us again.


Patti Clark

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This must have been a really nice Inn once, but it seems to have grown like topsy and the public rooms (bar, restaurant) can no longer cope with the number of guests. If you can't conveniently get the simple hospitality of a comfortable drink and meal at the end of a day on the road, what's the point of it, other than to make money for someone?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eppingedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

It’s very disappointing to read your perspective of our Inn. We try very hard to ensure that each of our guests have the opportunity to have a true, relaxing Vermont experience and our staff does a great job of providing attention to each and every person when needed. Our in-house restaurants are not only popular with our guests, but also with many locals and can be a very busy place at times, as is the case with several outstanding eateries in town. Please accept my apologies that your stay did not reflect our high standards and I would hope to be able to welcome you back for a much improved stay in the future.


Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights during fall tour. Easy to find with large car park.Warm welcome at reception.
Room was old fashioned but beds very comfortable.Large bathroom but bath is a deep jacuzzi which also contains the very good shower. Depth of bath was a problem for my wife to get in and out. We asked for an alternative.We were offered, at $50 extra per night a huge apartment in the new block which was just too big for us. They found a room for the second night at $40 extra which we accepted. We did in fact cope with the bath and decided to stay where we were. Although our room had now been sold for the second night they went to great lengths to unscamble things for us, even though they were full
Reception also helpful with alternatives for peak foliage as colours had almost gone around Stowe.
Breakfast is a bit hectic when the hotel is busy unless you wait until after 9.30. Reasonable range of cold and hot food including the option to do your own toast .
We could not get into the hotel restaurant when we tried to book at 6pm with all tables being booked for tow sittings. Reception did suggest a pricier alternative within 5 minutes walk which we liked so much we ate there twice.
We used the free internet service to check in for our lights home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordieboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your enjoyable experience at the Green Mountain Inn. I’m delighted to read that our staff attempted to make your stay more comfortable and offered exceptional advice on popular activities and places to visit while in Stowe. It’s always our goal to provide the most memorable of experiences for our guests and I hope we can look forward to having you as guests again very soon. Thank you for your review.


Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed without realising the british car convention was in town, this did cause a problem with parking on our first night entailing driving around the car park for 10 minutes waiting for a space..The rooms were fine and comfortable but need in room safes and also better ac units as our room was very warm. Apart from these couple of things we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

The British Invasion is certainly a busy event in the town of Stowe and I’m happy that we were able to accommodate you during this very popular gathering. Our Reception Desk would have been happy to safeguard your belongings in one of our safe deposit boxes, or may I suggest you look into reserving a Deluxe Room for your next stay, where in-room safes are included. Our Events Calendar and our blog offer a plethora of information regarding upcoming events in the area and can greatly help with planning your next stay. I’m very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you for your review.


Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Green Mountain Inn at Stowe is perfectly located in Main Street in the middle of town, a short walk to the many small shops in Main Street and to Mountain Road opposite which leads for a drive out of town to the mountains with the choice of resturants and bars along the way.
The Inn is an attractive old fashioned style hotel, beautifully kept with polished wooden floors, seated landings and narrow red carpeted corridors leading to rooms on two floors which may be accessed either by elevator or stairs from the efficent 24 hour ground floor reception.
Our clean and tastefully decorated air conditioned room had a comfortable four poster bed, small en suite bathshower room, hairdryer and a wardrobe cupboard with an iron and board. Other facilities included television, Wifi and a tea/coffee maker. For guests preferring to stay in for the evening, the smart downstairs hotel restaurant provides a good menu in comfortable surroundings - with prices set to suit this convenience. The swimming pool area is very pleasant to sit out and relax on any warm day and guests car parking is to the side of the Inn. Good things come in sets of threes, Vermont, Stowe and the Green Mountain Inn. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Your review has certainly made me smile! We are so honored to have the privilege to welcome guests such as yourselves and ensure that your stay in Stowe is memorable. I love the fact that the combination of Vermont, Stowe and the Green Mountain Inn made for a truly enjoyable experience! If you have the opportunity to visit us during the winter, our outdoor heated pool is a one-of-a-kind experience you must not miss. I look forward to seeing you soon and thank you for your gracious review.


Patti Clark

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $130 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing