We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for a getaway in Stowe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Morrisburg, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Place for a getaway in Stowe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Last weekend we stayed at the Green Mountain Inn for 3 nights on a fall getaway, We had never been to Stowe before and we were pleasantly surprised. The Inn had the feel of a small boutique hotel and the service was warm and personal from the front desk extending to everyone working at the Inn. Our room was smallish but exactly what we had expected for the lower priced rooms, It was nicely furnished and decorated and the bed was very comfortable. While there we visited the Green Mountain Coffee factory in Waterbury, the haunted covered bridge and the Trapp Family Lodge. We were just in time to get some of the fall colours and some warm weather. I highly recommend the tour at the Trapp Family Lodge and the Ghost walk in downtown Stowe. When we go back the Green Mountain Inn will be our first choice to stay at.
The restaurant in the inn has great local beers and tasty food,.

Room Tip: The Classic rooms are very nice but small. The Deluxe rooms are larger with a fireplace and a few ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    425
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
366
1,016
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had our wedding here last weekend and can't say enough good things about the Inn! From the staff, to the ambiance, the food and the general atmosphere, everything was great! From the outside, you may not realize how charming and lovely this Inn is, but it is worth a stop. We will definitely be coming back for a weekend away!
We had many of our family and friends stay here during the wedding and everyone has raved about what a good time they had. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neptune beach, fl
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our room was nice, but average. We were looking forward to the jacuzzi, but no robes, even though we were very close to the jacuzzi. We inquired and was told that only robes were given to guests in superior rooms, even though we were paying $220 a night. The bedding was poor, very hard mattress. The room was very clean. There was no place to use the computer, except on the bed or in your lap in the one chair in the room.

The staff at the front desk was very helpful, gave us a wine opener and wine glasses and when asked about other dining options, other than their restaurant, suggested Harrison's sort of across the street, which was truly a gem.

The location was great, in the heart of the Village of Stowe. We did not dine in their restaurant because our room was so average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jm5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just home after a trip to New England for the Fall.

Had a great couple of days in the GMI in one of the fantastic apartments. Great ambience in the whole hotel. Loads of space in the apartment and every amenity in the kitchen area. Wifi coped with a laptop, four ipads and smartphones at the same time so no problems when were there in that respect.

Great food in the restaurant and superb staff, even had a chat with our waitress the next day in the supermarket!

Very helpful reception staff who suggested a different route on our way to our next stop which led us into the heart of the Green Mountains for some superb views.

Is top of our list of places to return to asap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Registered National Historic site and looks like some features are as old. Room was small though the price was not. Could get out of bed only from one side. the other side is against the wall. Jacuzzi in the bathroom, but cannot access the shower control from outside the tub. poorly functioning toilet, plastic cups, poor heat control etc.
Wi-fi was very slow and I was glad I didn't have important business to do online.
It was difficult to find place to park half the time.
breakfast was okay, the fresh apples on the table were from NewYork!!
Staff at the desk were very helpful and it is a convenient location.
I would not stay here again. I have stayed in Stowe in much better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diaden2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The GMI is a very quaint place with efficient staff and excellent food. Breakfast is a good mix of hot and cold - all buffet style and plenty of choice. My wife and I have completely diverse breakfast preferences yet we were both more than satisified. The lady who runs the breakfast area is superb - at first she might seem more like a ward sister but as you watch her at work you will see how she balances extreme efficiency whilst engaging fully with her customers - a rare talent. The Whip Bar is very good too - food was excellent and not too pricey along with a nice atmosphere. My only negative of the whole stay was the surly bartender, but maybe he got out the wrong side of bed. Location is perfect - right in the centre of Stowe and a few miles from Ben & Jerry's and the Trapp Family Lodge. If we ever return to Vermont we will stay here again.

Room Tip: You really need to be in a room in the main building to appreciate the history and charm of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyM19A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights as part of an organised fall foliage tour of Vermont. My room was near the pool, a bit of a walk from Reception and requiring a security swipe to access the wing and egress up and down stairs and through a number of doors. The room was clean and a good size with a great walk in robe and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was good in terms of size, but I am not a fan of the plastic shower and bath cubicle, and I was not enamoured of the plastic towel rail. Also, plastic drinking glasses? Not sure about that. The bathroom seemed to have a motion-activated fan in the bath cubicle which was extremely annoying as it had to be manually turned off each time I entered the room. Wi-fi was not working in my room on the first night and I had to sit in a room near Reception instead to access. This problem was rectified by the next evening. I believe the bed sheets may have been a polyester/cotton blend which I found to be uncomfortable. Breakfast was adequate, though service could be a little patchy with regard to coffee and juice. I used the desktop near Reception to print an airline boarding pass, but the system was having some problems and it took an age to accomplish, though staff were most kind in making sure it was finally printed. Overall, a satisfactory stay, but room for improvement.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cmsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.4 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing