We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm in sleepy Vermont”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The GMI is a very quaint place with efficient staff and excellent food. Breakfast is a good mix of hot and cold - all buffet style and plenty of choice. My wife and I have completely diverse breakfast preferences yet we were both more than satisified. The lady who runs the breakfast area is superb - at first she might seem more like a ward sister but as you watch her at work you will see how she balances extreme efficiency whilst engaging fully with her customers - a rare talent. The Whip Bar is very good too - food was excellent and not too pricey along with a nice atmosphere. My only negative of the whole stay was the surly bartender, but maybe he got out the wrong side of bed. Location is perfect - right in the centre of Stowe and a few miles from Ben & Jerry's and the Trapp Family Lodge. If we ever return to Vermont we will stay here again.

Room Tip: You really need to be in a room in the main building to appreciate the history and charm of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyM19A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed three nights as part of an organised fall foliage tour of Vermont. My room was near the pool, a bit of a walk from Reception and requiring a security swipe to access the wing and egress up and down stairs and through a number of doors. The room was clean and a good size with a great walk in robe and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was good in terms of size, but I am not a fan of the plastic shower and bath cubicle, and I was not enamoured of the plastic towel rail. Also, plastic drinking glasses? Not sure about that. The bathroom seemed to have a motion-activated fan in the bath cubicle which was extremely annoying as it had to be manually turned off each time I entered the room. Wi-fi was not working in my room on the first night and I had to sit in a room near Reception instead to access. This problem was rectified by the next evening. I believe the bed sheets may have been a polyester/cotton blend which I found to be uncomfortable. Breakfast was adequate, though service could be a little patchy with regard to coffee and juice. I used the desktop near Reception to print an airline boarding pass, but the system was having some problems and it took an age to accomplish, though staff were most kind in making sure it was finally printed. Overall, a satisfactory stay, but room for improvement.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Cmsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We find the Green Mountain Inn to be a perfect place to stay when visiting the Stowe area. Close to and in the middle of everything, GMI is a great blend of old and new. We stayed three days this year and have enjoyed similar stays in past years. The hotel staff is professional and courteous and our room has always been very, very clean. We prefer to stay in the luxury sweet accomodations because they are at the back of the property and very quiet, yet just steps to the main streets. This is not an "inn" in the typical New England tradition, but a very nice blend of a boutique hotel and small village inn. We look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the Lovejoy suite which was very nice, complete with jacuzzi bath, seperate lounge and bedroom. Access is by a flight of stairs so may not suite some travellers. We had to pay extra for breakfast; the selection at breakfast was ok. It was nice to have the complimentary tea, coffee and apple cider in the afternoon. The location is great for walking around Stowe and a short journey by car to the mountains. We did not eat dinner at the inn and preferred to go out. We chose Harrisons, excellent food and service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A month before our trip, we called to book a room at Green Mountain and were told that the only a tiny, tiny room was available. We took it hoping for a cancellation, as we liked the location and the positive web reviews. Upon arrival it turned out there was no chance of a move as there was a wedding at the Inn that weekend. Our “really tiny” room was fine – we weren’t planning to spend a lot of time in it anyway. Clean, en suite bathroom, comfy beds, hanging space, it had all we needed for a two-night stay. Didn’t get a chance to try the facilities (gym, good sized pool, games room) but they all looked very good and well maintained.

First-rate breakfast (lots of choice and good quality); Jane, the Host with psychic abilities, was always cheerful, friendly and helpful (as were all the staff at the Inn).

The Whip Grill was a revelation. We weren’t expecting much, just average, filling fare. Happy to report that we were wrong. It had a varied menu that included veggie options. We had braised short rib that fell apart as soon as it was lightly touched with a fork, perfectly cooked seafood that remained moist and retained its shape and flavour followed by tasty desserts. And the portions were just right. Left the table feeling well-fed not over stuffed. Excellent service; to be asked exactly how we wanted our pre-dinner martinis is practically unheard of and was a pleasant surprise.

All in all, very enjoyable place to eat and rest one’s head. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DH06902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

They are very proud of their property. Our room was nice, but not worth the price and a breakfast is not included. It is in a convenient location and we walked around Stowe and enjoyed our stay. We did have dinner at the restaurant, "The Whip" next to the Inn and it was very good food and service. For as little time as we spent in the high priced room, I don't think it was worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

How this hotel ever got a 3 star rating is a complete mystery to me. We had a special occasion to celebrate and did not plan to spend a lot of daytime in the room so we chose the "Classic" room, not the "Deluxe" one, but still... at 200$ a night, I was angry to find myself in what felt like a 2 starred highway side motel.

1) The staff seems unconcerned and bored.
2) Two out of three nights, we heard a loud ticking noise coming either from the plumbing or heating system that kept us (and our noisy upstairs neighbors) awake most of the night.
3) The front desk staff refused to lend me a bathrobe (because "those are only for our Deluxe Rooms clients") which meant I had to run down the 200 feet hotel corridor between the Jacuzzi and Pool rolled up in a worn out pool towel trying to hold up what was left of my dignity.
4) All other general concerns : plastic cups in the bathroom instead of glasses, minimal toiletries, only one soap for hands AND shower over our 3 nights stay at the Inn, stained carpet, breakfast not included, very slow Internet and so on...

On the bright side, our room was fairly clean and the restaurant was okay. The waiting staff in the dinning room was pleasant. I would have rated this hotel "Average" if it was not for the price.

In short, if you believe an "EconoLodge" type room with a pretty quilt and a great location is worth 200$ a night, go for the Inn! For me, I'll look elsewhere next time I'm in Stowe!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelling_Liz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
274 reviews
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#11 of 24 in Stowe
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $137 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing