We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Green Mountain Inn”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Green Mountain Inn”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife & I spent Labor Day weekend @ the Green Mountain Inn. This was the best experience I have ever had at a hotel. It was our 20th Anniversary and the hotel upgraded us to a suite and also gave us a bottle of champagne. The room was exquisite and very comfortable. We also ate several times @ The Whip, whcih is the restaurant in the hotel and the food was outstanding and quite reasonable. The location is right in the center of the town which is nice. I cannot say enough good things about my experience.

Room Tip: The suites in the Mill House are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    428
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
370
1,032
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We got a great deal through Trip Advisor, so we went up for Labor Day. This is probably the main destination hotel in the village of Stowe itself. (The ski resort has a facility on site, but that's way out of town.) It has a large number of rooms and amenities. We stayed in section E. I only mention this, because the rooms are likely different in each section. We were not in the main hotel. Our room was a little small. Not terribly so, but not the size of a standard room in a large hotel chain. The hot and cold were backwards (hot on right.) I only mention this, because at first I thought there was no hot water! Other than that the staff were very courteous, professional and genuinely nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Easy to see why this is Stowe's #1 rated resort. Trip last week of August for 5 nights were great. Hotel staff even brought a fridge to our room upon request. Center of Stowe Village, easy walking distance to almost everything. Whip restaurant is great too. Would definately stay again on next trip. (Clean, comfy bed, right temp, quiet, and great service. Oh, and hot tub and sauna were nice plus too)

Room Tip: booked on hotwire with bundled airfare and car rental
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the GMI over Labor Day Weekend, and found the place to be fabulous. This was our first visit to Stove VT, so we were going out on a limb booking this place without actually knowing anything about it. When we arrived, we were overwhelmed. We stayed in the Deluxe two queen room. It was great, gas fireplace vaulted ceiling and a jacuzzi tub. My family and I were very impressed with the spacious room. We ate at the "Whip" restaraunt the first night and had a lovely meal, we liked it so much we decided to dine there our second night. We also enjoyed the pool, hot tub and sauna. What can I say outstanding!!!

Room Tip: Deluxe room was worth the price difference for the upgrade, very spacious and included fireplace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The perfect hotel for relaxing. Staff very polite. Rooms impeccable. We rented the luxury suite for 4 people, one master bedroom and the living room with a sofa bed (with door separating). We went for tea time at 4 p.m. for beverages and scrumptious cookies. The pool was at a perfect temperature. We played badminton on the lawn right besides the pool. There is also a game room. The diner at the Whip was excellent. The fish was delicious. The creme brulée is a must. Green Mountain Inn is right in the village of Stowe, close to stores, cafés, walking path.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fallforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at the Green Mountain Inn and what a wonderful time we had. To be honest we nearly changed our booking at the last minute as we were concerned about the Inn's location and it being noisey as it was on the road, however I am glad we didn't. We arrived to a warm welcome and were given a lovely room overlooking the pool area. The room was a standard twin queen, but it was gorgeous - I especially loved the home made quilts on the beds! We had amazing weather, so made full use of the pool area, which was never crowded and had the advantage of being heated. My daughter and I also loved the spa area although we never seemed to be able to use the sauna as it was always cold. The buffet breakfasts served in the main dining room are to die for and the waitresses were always very helpful and pleasant. We also ate at the Whip Bar several evenings and the food was excellent, however I have to say that the service in the Whip Bar lets the rest of the hotel down. We found several of the waitresses (Barb the exception) quite rude and unhelpful. This was our only minor gripe with the hotel but it would not put us off coming backing. A wonderful, wonderful Inn in a wonderful part of Vermont!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickydean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have visited Stowe and stayed at the GMI many times over the last 15 years. This was our first visit during the summer months. The GMI did not disappoint - it just seems to get better with each visit. It is beautifully maintained but still retains all its character. We love the choice of rooms. This time we stayed in the Mill House - spacious with a beautiful comfortable bed and lovely jacuzi tub. We ate in the Whip - delicious. Stowe was a pretty as I hoped it would be in the summer. A little shocked to see the development that has taken place at the foot of the mountain!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florida222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.4 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,248 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing