We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Family Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belmont, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect Family Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We recently visited the Lodge as a large group (three families) and the experience was excellent.

As soon as we pulled into the driveway, the service was wonderful. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, but Stephen at the front desk was outstanding. His ability to accommodate all our needs (without skipping a beat) was exceptional. We've traveled throughout the US staying at the Ritz properties and the level of service is similar. Kudos to Stephen and the management team.

Highlights of the trip:
Swimming in the pool - large, clean pool without the crowds of summer
Zip lining in Smugglers Notch. - little scary, but very fun adventure
Hiking to Bingham Falls swimming hole - absolutely beautiful spot and refreshing water
Gazing at the star from the patio

Thank you for a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    424
    160
    61
    34
See reviews for
809
671
37
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We planned to spend 4 days at the hotels over the July 4th weekend. We ended up checking out a day earlier. On our 2nd day the hotel lost power, the refrigerator in our room stopped working and the air conditioner failed. We did not see this problem get resolved. To add to this, construction outside starts early and could not get any sleep. When we asked to checkout a day early due to the issues that were not gettting resolved the front desk had the audacity to consider an early checkout fee. The manager on call had the common sense to not charge a fee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shah242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We just got back from our second summer stay at SML. We stayed a week each time. I would agree with others that the lodge and surrounding area are absolutely beautiful with plenty to keep you busy. I would also agree with mass_traveler100's review that the lack of towels coming out of the heated pool on a cool windy day was not fun. (When we saw a hotel employee coming into the pool area with several towels, my son went to get one but an adult ran past him to grab up the last 3. Nice right.) Anyway, our Ridgeline Studio room in the west wing was on the 1st floor. You could see the very top of the mountain beyond the trees and the road noise was not great with the balcony door open. On the bright side, we had a pretty great shot of the fireworks on July 5th. Next time we'll pay a bit more and go for the Alpine Studio.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandCaymanBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent a long 4th of July weekend here and had a wonderful time. Service is outstanding - after being there only 3 days it seemed half the staff knew our names and couldn't have been more responsive and pleasant.

Grounds were beautiful, pool was great and Solstice food and service was excellent. Everyone from the bellmen to the front desk staff, the valets to housekeeping was great.

The construction is a drag - and booking through AMEX we didn't realize this would be happening - but they were able to change us last minute to another room facing the pool which was lovely. It was just in front of the elevator so a bit noisy, but towels at the bottom of the door helped with that.

Agreed with another writer that there were some issues with a lack of towels by the pool, housekeeping coming on time and even the air conditioning shutting down on a particularly balmy night for about 4 hours as well as other operational issues, but the staff was so incredibly friendly and accommodating and the managers so eager to help that we were fine with the problems here and there.

One big change would be the kids' adventure club. My kids tend to love these but the only option was a pricey all-day session from 8:30 til about 4, which was outsourced and too long considering we actually wanted to spend some time with our kids. Would've been nice to have another option like a half day session for half or even 2/3rds the price - enough for the grownups to squeeze in a golf session or the like.

A second change would be to add some nice touches like complimentary coffee. Solstice doesn't open til 7 in the summer and for those of us with young kids it would be nice not to have to pay $4 for a coffee while we kill time in the morning waiting for the restaurant to open.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms on the south wing overlooking the pool tend to be noisier but have bigger balconies...
See more room tips
Green Features: Seems very committed - signs everywhere and encouragement to lessen the footprint.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for three nights over the July 4th holiday. When I called to book the reservation I requested a room that was not looking at the skating rink construction project as I had read about this issue from another reviewer on Trip Advisor. I was assured this request would be met. At check in I reminded them of this request. We got to the room and looked out our window directly at the construction site and heavy equipment. On our second day we got back to the room at 4:30 after being gone all day. Housekeeping had not shown up to our room. I called the front desk and was told that it was a busy weekend and they would eventually show up. They showed up at 5:00 and had no hand towels. The next day we got back to our room to find not enough bath towels and no hand towels or face clothes. When I called housekeeping they informed me they had run out and were waiting for a linen truck. We then went to the pool and guess what...no pool towels. We were told again it was a busy weekend. At check out I asked for an itemized receipt but was told the printer wasn't working. Spotty service in the bar and restaurant and dogs everywhere in the hotel and on the property. Poor service and not worth $300 a night! Lots of excuses!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mass_traveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have just returned from 5 days at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. From the valet, to the bellman, to the reservation desk everyone treated us with a royal touch. You are given a small chocolate treat at reception and as the bellman takes your bags to the room you get an overview of the property which was quite informative. Everyone at the property was extremely helpful and no request ever went unfulfilled. Their commitment to deliver a high level of customer service is evident in all they do.

We booked a Timberline Studio via an Amex promotion which offered a 20% discount and free upgrade if available. We were extremely fortunate to get upgraded to an Alpine one bedroom suite with only a $35 upcharge. We had room 1537 which was located in the south wing on the top floor at the end of the hallway. This was an excellent location and the patio offered stunning views of Mt. Mansfield. The room had a full sized kitchen with refrigerator/freezer, stove, microwave and dishwasher. A toaster and coffeemaker were also provided as well as most kitchen supplies you could imagine. There was a nice sized dining room table which made room service quite enjoyable. The bedroom was small and could have used more storage space, but having such a nice living room definitely made up for this. The bathroom was spacious and included a beautiful marble soaking tub, shower and separate toilet room. I will say the tub filled slowly, so plan ahead when you’re ready for your bath. The bathroom amenities were Gilchrist and Soames.

There are 2 restaurants in the main building, Solstice and Hourglass Lounge. We were not able to try Solstice, but did go to the lounge several times. The menu was quite good and included a large selection of beers and wines by the glass. We had wings, BLT, salads (the maple vinaigrette was outstanding) and soup. All were extremely well prepared using locally sourced ingredients. Given the attention to detail and the portion sizes, prices were very reasonable. The room service menu also offered a variety of choices (the Vermont omelet and the pancakes were two favorites) and was quite inexpensive as compared to typical resort pricing. Overall I was very surprised at the prices (even at the sundries shop), especially considering they have such a captive audience up at the lodge (the hotel is about a 15 minute drive from the center of town).

The pool area is substantial and includes 2 hot tubs. The pool is heated to 87 degrees and was very nice. There was ample seating and several umbrellas scattered throughout the pool area. My only suggestion to improve the pool experience is to add music. The pool area was quite noisy and I think some music would have drastically improved to the mood. Food and drinks are available starting around 11:30 am. The drinks were relatively weak, but tasty and were not overly expensive as compared to similar resorts. Do note, the resort is pretty kid friendly, something that is particularly evident at the pool, in case that’s an issue for you.

The lodge is currently undergoing some renovations to the gondola area so some of the walking trails were not accessible. The walk to the golf course was very pleasant and very well maintained, but be sure to use bug spray. They have shuffle board outside and an oversized chess set. We were fortunate to be able to enjoy a concert at the Spruce Peak Performing Arts Center, a 400 seat theater just across from the south wing reception area.

Overall, we had a very nice stay at the lodge and found it to be an exceptionally good value. We would recommend it to anyone who appreciates a high level of customer service and wants to take in the beauty of the Vermont landscapes.

Room Tip: Join the Destination Discovery club and ask about an upgrade at reception. The views from the top fl...
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer a $5/day credit at the resort shop if you decline housekeeping. NY Times digest is delivered to your email.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in late June. It was a wonderful hotel with beautiful rooms and a great pool area. There is a lot of construction on the back side of the hotel, but they are making great improvements for the winter with a skating rink! Our three teens loved hanging out by the pool and generally hanging around the hotel. Sunday morning we had the brunch in the restaurant. It was $24 but a very good brunch with a variety of food. Our only suggestion is that they have a coffee shop somewhere on the premises. The restaurant was the only place to get takeaway coffee and it was annoying to go there for it. Otherwise - excellent!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyPennyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
6.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#10 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
6.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing