We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First ClassHotel & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Although a bit pricy, especially during peak ski season, the accommodations are truly excellent. They even have pet friendly rooms and it's OK to have your well mannered dog in the Great Room of the Lodge. The Spa is world class and the pool is awesome. The only downside is the food is fair at best- at all the restaurants on site. While edible and suitable for families foodies would likely rate it a "5' at best on a scale if 1 -10. That said, the town of Stowe and surrounding area has a number of great restaurants worth checking out and only a short drive away.

Room Tip: Breakfast and lunch is OK- but go elsewhere for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,734 - 1,740 of 2,725 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The location of the Stowe Mountain Lodge is ideal. The bell hops and ski valet make the hassle of skiing from a hotel non existent. Once you pull your car up they take all of your gear and have it waiting the moment you wish to hit the sloops. The disappointing factor for us was the cleanliness of the rooms. Had the rooms been clean I would have rated it higher.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blacktrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for sharing compliments regarding our Bell and Valet team at Stowe Mountain Lodge! We are very proud to have such an efficient, guest service focused group of individuals working with us. Your comments regarding Housekeeping have been shared with team members in a training environment. We look forward to your return to Stowe!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

It's huge and beautiful, quite amazing really.
Pros:
* Literally at the base of Spruce Peak for skiing and snowboarding and a free, short gondola ride across the street to the base gondola for Stowe Mountain.
* Large outdoor pool that is heated for winter and cold weather, two large Jacuzzis.
* Large and totally up to date fitness facility with a great assortment of cardio and weight machines
* Relaxing and diverse choices for the top rated spa
* Pet friendly
* Rooms are quiet
* 2 restaurants on site
* Right next door to the Spruce Peak Performing Arts Center which is a beautiful theater and has a terrific variety of shows
* Most rooms have a great view of the mountains
* Valet car service is quick, your car stays in an underground garage which is great in winter
* Ski valet service so your ski boots are toasty in the morning
* Fabulous lobby area for hanging out or meeting with friends

Not so pros:
* We've been there twice and each time had a room where the water comes out of the shower on to the marble floor which is wicked slippery. Beautiful bathrooms but weird that they haven't fixed them yet. Put down enough towels so you don't slip.
* If you are a cross country skier, there aren't ski trails here. But, you can drive 300 yards up the mountain road to the base of Smuggler's Notch road which is closed mid Nov-early May where you can ski for free. Or, go to a cc ski resort on the mountain road or near the village.
* Even in the off season the front desk says your car will likely be towed if you leave it in the back lot where they plow and tow cars during the winter. We felt scammed into having to use the $21 per day car valet service.
* The restaurants are very expensive. $14 for grilled cheese sandwich for example. You have to drive around 10 minutes to get to a different restaurant on the mountain road or in the village.
* If you are there during off season then be prepared for off season hours for the store, restaurants and spa.

Room Tip: The rooms in the wing close to the main lobby are close to everything so they are good. The rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindervermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Stowe Mountain Lodge. We appreciate the high praise you have shared with us as well as the constructive criticism. Regarding the self-parking, Stowe Mountain Lodge doesn't own or manage the parking lot behind the hotel and can't recommend guests park there for fear they may be towed. We will share your comments with our departments in order to address what we may be able to do to improve. Thank you for choosing Stowe Mountain Lodge for your Vermont staycation!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Three days and two nights were fantastic at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. The room was perfect and every one of the staff were great. Outstanding customer service and the close proximity to the Stowe slopes was great too...We will return...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSE_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The stay at this hotel was exceptional..The Valet staff was excellent and on time. The front desk staff was informative and knowledgeable of Stowe and surrounding towns. The room we stayed in was the Timberline studio and it's view was beautiful and the room was cozy with the added feature of the fire place. I recommend this hotel for its exceptional service and hospitality the staff has shown.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Stowe Mountain Lodge! We love hearing about our guest’s getaways in Stowe, Vermont. We’re happy to serve you upon your return for your next Stowe vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for a week during Canadian spring break and enjoyed the lodge throughly. Great service from checkin valet parking, to the twice a day room service. Driving here from Burlington airport was a cinch, and on the way you can stop by various grocery stores to stock up on some food. Small kitchen in our Timberline studio was perfect, with all the utensils you need to cook full meals. Fridge was perfect size and free in room coffee was pretty good quality. While the ski valet was convenient, they were a bit disorganized in that they could never get my skis out on time, even if I had called the night before or even 30-60 mins prior. We loved the huge common area with the 2 large real wood fireplaces, where often our kids would meet up with other kids playing there. The piano player Art who comes on weekends was fantastic as well, chatting it up with my kids and even letting my 5 yr old daughter playing twinkle twinkle little star with him. Kids also loved the free marshmellows and hot chocolate by the outdoor firepit at the end of the ski day (weekends only I think?). We did one day of snowshoeing thru the hotel and had fun walking around the lodge on a freezing cold blizzard day. Great family resort, will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoRoyaljelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I can't say enough about this resort!! From the moment we arrived the service, atmosphere, food, beverages...outstanding!!
The company I work for hosted a dealer meeting here; we had a half day of meetings and the rest of the weekend was all about enjoying what Stowe has to offer...our customers were very pleased and enjoyed themselves thoroughly!! The rooms are extremely nice, with great views, no matter where you end up...room for ski equipment and room to relax.
The event staff arranged for us to offer skiing, snow boarding, snow shoeing, cross country skiing or even horseback riding in the snow...they did a fantastic job of coordinating everything...for everyone!!

I will, most certainly be back!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkipJack-Belize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for such a glowing review of the service you received for your dealer meeting at Stowe Mountain Lodge! Our Catering & Conference Services staff has years of experience detailing all kinds of events from meetings to incentive trips to weddings. We are thrilled your winter meeting went so well and hope only to welcome you back again for your next Vermont meeting.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,346 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
231 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
147 reviews
6.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
189 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $217 - $863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing