We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Overall, my family had a wonderful time at the Lodge. The rooms were very nice, the kitchenettes were ideal and the staff was very helpful and friendly. My kids and husband loved the ski valet which made skiing so easy. I wasn't skiing, but still had plenty to do between the spa, classes at the gym, the heated pool and the wonderful fire in the lobby. The cleaning service only did an average job cleaning the bathroom everyday. They left the tooth paste marks from my children on the sink counter every day and I cleaned that up. My one major criticism is that we were contacted by the concierge ahead of time with a list of services offered. One of them was to have a cake delivered. It was my husband's and daughter's birthday and we were going out to dinner with the whole family at the restaurant there. I ordered a red velvet cake with butter cream frosting to be served as dessert after dinner. The cake was chocolate, the frosting tasted like crisco and powdered sugar and the cake was still frozen when it was served, despite the fact that I checked in at the desk early to remind them. It was very disappointing and I would have said something, but no wait staff came any where near us once the cake was served. Overall both the food and service at the semi-empty restaurant was decidedly mediocre. I couldn't recommend the resort more, but go in to Stowe for a nice dinner out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful escape to Stowe Mountain Lodge! We’re happy to hear about guests experiencing many of the other services we provide when skiing isn’t in mind.
We’re also sensitive to the detail involved in planning birthday surprises. I have shared your dining experience with our Food & Beverage team so as to avoid a similar experience.
Thank you, again! We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    537
    220
    91
    45
See reviews for
1,087
881
50
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a great experience at this resort. Upon out very late arrival the restaurant was closed, but the staff still out together a very nice quick meal for my husband. In addition, we returned late from dinner one evening and desired a small snack and they opened the closed retail store just for us. The rooms and spa are also very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is our second year staying at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. We were amazed by the kind and helpful staff last year and this year was just as wonderful. Every employee from the valet to housekeeping made our stay memorable. I wish I could give all of their names. We stayed in a studio which was perfect for our family of 4. The kitchenette is ideal for a quick meal. The rooms and food is not inexpensive but I truly believe it is worth every penny. We will be back again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

It was all new for us. Vermont, Stowe, the Lodge... We went their by default because we did not want to impose 3 hrs of time difference on the kids by going to ski out West. We even feared the low altitude of the slopes. WHAT AN AMAZING SURPRISE !!!
Obviously, out of all years, we were more than lucky with the amount of snow. Every morning, fresh packed powder and blue skies.
Stowe Mountain Lodge is the epicenter of a perfectly well organized resort. Around the "evolution card" which is a state of the art system allowing you to pay for everything, from the ski rentals to the restaurant on top of the mountain, you cannot have more flexibility. By day to day and simply show up at a lift the following morning for your card to be automatically reactivated. Do the same with your skis. All you need to do is tell the Lodge's ski valet that you are keeping them an extra day.
We had a 1 BDR suite with a beautiful balcony, It felt like a home of our own. Very spacious, fully equipped including an elegant kitchen.
The heated outdoor pools and hot tubs are a great way to end your day and watch the sunset with the kids, after several of hours skiing.
The food is as organic and natural as it gets. The staff is Vermont style: Polite, smiling and servicing within the rules... meaning that it is a bit hard to get them to be creative but who can blame them when the basics are so efficient ?
A special mention of high quality standards to Peter, one of the 3 great concierges.
We were frustrated to only try a few of the restaurants available around. There are so many in this charming small town. We liked Pie Casso a lot but fell in love with the Matterhorn, a kids friendly bar with incredible food and variety. A special mention as well to the Cliff House, on top of the gondola, with their original dishes, such as a cheddar fondue.
A memorable moment was the dog-sledding adventure we went on as a family
We cannot wait to return to Stowe and the Stowe Mountain Lodge

Room Tip: 1 BDR suite 393 or similar is the best way to go, with space, views of the slopes and the pool
See more room tips
Green Features: We tip our hats to the constant efforts deployed by the hotel, from healthy food to energy saving technics
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overseasintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Nothing makes us happier than to hear you felt at home while in residence with us! Stowe, Vermont has had an incredible year of snow and we are thrilled you were able to take advantage of that, the local restaurants and all we have within the Lodge. Please join us again for your next ski vacation!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freelton, On
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

When you arrive, you leave your car and all your luggage and skis in your vehicle. While you check in, they bring all your stuff to your room. It's not an option, this is how they did it. I thought it was great! It really makes you relax, which is wonderful after a long drive! It would have been nicer to have 1 indoor and 1 outdoor hot tub for those really cold days. The spa does have an indoor hot tub, so if you are having a treatment done, make sure you allow enough time to enjoy the hot tub, sauna, steam shower.....The restaurant was very good as well. We would definitely go back again!

Green Features: They had recycling and provided environmentally-friendly hair products.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We went here on a business conference a few weeks ago and all in all it was a good time. If you are a skier this is paradise for you. From our hotel window we had the view of the high mountains of the slopes and watched skiers. The hotel is set up on the mountain and be sure to call for directions as the GPS takes you a bit out of the way to an area where the mountain is closed during the winter so backtracking takes about 30 minutes or so. There is a lounge area in the center of the hotel where you can sit and relax by a wood burning fireplace. The room that we had was equipped with a small stove top, dishwasher, small refrigerator, coffee pot, microwave so you can bring a cooler of food to cook. Their is also a general store there in the hotel that sells frozen food, including eggs and milk. Outside you will find a hot tub that the water temperature was a bit too cold for this time of year but I was different also a pool that is open year round outside. The gym was small and suited the purpose with treadmills, weights, benches. The staff was very friendly especially the bell hops. They had one restaurant in the hotel including the café by the lounge and room service. The menu was limited and wished they had lighter meals and some seafood to choose from. Their is a buffet in the morning but very expense runs about $25-$28.00 per person. Very friendly family hotel as there were many children skiing. Outside of the hotel where you ski there is another large cafeteria style restaurant above where you put on your skis with a bar. The food there is also a bit expensive but was very crowded. From Hartford CT the ride is about 4.5 hours.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Stowe Mountain Lodge. We appreciate the reference to being a skier's paradise. Being nestled between Mt Mansfield and Spruce Peak, access to the lifts and summer hiking trails are just outside our door. We hope you will be able to join us for another conference or for your personal vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great spring break trip for the family! We had 2 rooms- a suite on the Northside and a bedroom on the Southside. I would say the views are better on the Southside, but you are much closer to the lobby/restaurant on the North. The food in both locations were gourmet yummy and the location to the gondola was soo convenient! It was also so nice to have the ski valet to store your skis and have them ready for you the next morning! The only bad thing I have to say is that our balcony door was broken so it wouldn't open, but they comped us a $77 lunch for it, so not too shabby!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Northside are closer to the lobby/restaurant and Rooms on the Southside have prettier v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christigirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
6.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing