We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great snow, great management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great snow, great management”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Staying here for the first time, as I usually go to another resort.
SML is virtually at the bottom of the Spruce mountain ski area, mins easy walk
from the lifts. Easy, quick gondola ride over to the Mount Mansfield area. Great ski school and small complex here with restaurants (one casual, one more formal), ski shop, base lodge, etc.
Ski valets pull your skiis for you in the a.m. and put them in alphabetized racks. Just pick them up and walk a minute or so to the lifts. Return the to the "done for the day" rack at the end.
Rooms are very nice, esp. bathrooms...big with separate tub and shower.
Had a problem with rowdy late night party and I was moved with no questions asked. Very responsive mgmt. Hotel seems very family oriented and I think the gentlemen in the room next door were an anomaly. Kids are out in the spa pool right now, enjoying the juxtaposition of the warm water and the snow.

Room Tip: I am staying in a king room. There are studios and suites also. I'd ask for a room with a safe i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanRoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,702
    556
    230
    95
    49
See reviews for
1,128
909
51
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Best part of hotel: located at base of mountain, walking distance to the base lodge etc. Ski in/ski out valet is a great concept although when we were there they consistently screwed up everyone's skis and boots. Lobby is pretty. Choice of casual and formal restaurant (reservations in advance are necessary). Availability of kitchenette suites.
The cons: aforementioned ski valet problems. Car valet was even worse. We are in the middle of Vermont but somehow they still feel justified charging $20/day for parking with no self-park available? This would be acceptable if the valet service was superior and your stuff was whisked in and out. However, we called the valet, and were made to wait 45 minutes for our car and were late to a movie. During this process we checked multiple times and were assured every time 5-10 minutes. In addition, one of the times we were told the car was out there and that we should just walk down the driveway and go find it. After walking down the driveway one of the drivers said the head valet was lying because the radio clearly said they couldn't find our car. Oh, yeah, and when we finally got our car and rushed to see what was left of the movie, we didn't notice the valet left someone else's car keys in our car! poor person! PS no apology at all until check out where that gentleman kindly took off the valet charges.
Other cons: the lobby is overrun and especially with kids and random dads walking around in bathrobes lounging about as if it were their own home. Room service menu was limited and the food arrived cold (and it was not tasty).
All in all, if I were charged 1/3 or even maybe half the price I was charged I would still do it because of the location. The rooms were clean, there was a lovely fireplace in our room and we loved having a kitchenette. Note the rooms are very tight. The walls are very thin. However, at the price we were charged, the service was well below expectations.

Room Tip: Kitchenettes save a ton of cash but note they are mini-fridges with the tiny freezers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavybiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is our family winter vacation spot! Stowe was to become the last 8 years in our destination during winter season! The area is super nice! The Hotel is one of the best in all USA. The rooms are very comfortable, they have great deals throughout the year!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank viajero02011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

As someone there for business, the Hotel staff and surroundings made the experience easy. We had options for meals, places to meet and work, and everything went well. Just what i needed and expected. The pool is fantastic.

Room Tip: From my 4 years of staying there for business, i can say that no rooms are inferior for any reason.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vermonters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockland county, new york
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We've stayed several times at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. It is fantastic if you're planning to ski at Stowe. The valet whisks away your boots and skis upon arrival, and the boots are warmed and waiting for you when you're ready to take the gondola straight to the mountain. Could not be easier. The restaurants are lovely. Don't miss dining at The Cliff House, at the summit. The views are magnificent. The only down side is it may be too family oriented. For couples traveling to ski without kids, it is pretty kid heavy and kid-centric. The pool and spa area are overloaded with screaming kids. After a long day of skiing, it would be nice to relax in the outdoor hot tub, but you'd be stuck with a bunch of kids in water wings. Even the spa allows kids for baby manicures and little facials. It's a shame that they can't figure out how to separate the two.

Room Tip: higher floors: away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Stowe Mountain Lodge for a long weekend and couldn't have had a better time. We upgraded to the 1BR suite, which included a fully equipped kitchen and dining area that was a perfect fit for our family of four. From minute one on arrival to check out, service was outstanding. The food was a bit on the expensive side, but generally of high quality. To offset the higher prices, we bought some groceries in town and cooked breakfast in the room prior to skiing. This actually turned out to be a fun, family event as we rarely get to sit down to full family breakfasts.
We were very impressed with the ski valet, which made the process of getting from the room to the slope a snap. Just give the valet your name and your boots, skis and poles show up, ready for you to walk a hundred feet or so to either the gondola or the lifts on spruce peak. When you're done, just put them on the rack and they take care of everything!
I agree with several of the other posters here that the water was chilly. We were expecting to use the pool daily to relax after a long day of skiing, but found that it was too cold. We understand that it is the end of February in Vermont, but a few more degrees would have made it tolerable. The hot tub became an experience as we had to sprint to it in single-degree weather so we wouldn't freeze. With a cold breeze, we all found our hair froze solid (like a helmet) and gave us a good laugh!
In all, I would consider this a first-class property, similar in the quality and finish that you would expect to find at other high-end resorts (think Ritz or some of the nicer Hyatts).
We will definitely be going back next winter!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHTraveler03301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for such a great review of Stowe Mountain Lodge! From conception, Stowe Mountain Lodge's intention was to create a home-away-from-home experience while providing services that make your stay and travel easier. We appreciate that you enjoyed ski valet and your larger suite. We hope to be able to welcome you back to again for your next Vermont ski vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Lodge is a wonderful hotel with many amenities. We really enjoy the ski in/ski out and ski valet. We stayed in a studio, which works well for us because it has a small kitchen that allows us to make a quick breakfast before going out on the mountain. The buffet breakfast in the hotel also is nice. We were there on President's weekend and so it was crowded. The inconveniences from this were generally minor. The outdoor pool was a little colder than I recall on our last trip. The hot tubs were crowded but we could always find space. The valet parking is generally nice, but sometimes it is more convenient to just go to you car and get on your way. Given the crowds, we did have to wait at times for our car. The lobby sitting areas are very nice, but because of the crowds on a holiday weekend, I did not see any seats when we returned from skiing. Overall this is a very nice hotel with convenient access to the slopes. However, the room prices are somewhat high.

Room Tip: For a ski trip, I would not pay more money for a room with a view. We were facing the gondola and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloveoldsaybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
202 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
6.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#5 of 24 in Stowe
176 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing