We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We came with a tour group and placed in a much smaller room than everyone else, key didn't work, locked out of bathroom. No vending machines and couldn't get a soda as on site store open short hours which didn't correlate with our tour. Drink prices outlandish. Finally did get room upgrade after complaining. Trail around property beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgekris2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    474
    182
    73
    40
See reviews for
879
797
40
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Booked Classic room on Expedia. Placed in room that is small and cramped. No desk because room is too small. We were informed by the front desk that rooms are individually owned and not necessarily the same as pictured on website. Rep said there is nothing he can do even if we wanted to pay for upgraded room because they are full. Just arrived so no further opinion yet. Very disappointed in lack of value for $350 per night. Room feels like a Hampton Inn with nicer bathroom.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Djweed3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. As you can imagine, floor plans are unique to each room due to the layout of the property. While there are slight differences in each, we pride ourselves on delivering on our promise of all services, amenities and offerings as advertised.

I’m sorry we didn’t have the availability to offer a larger room to you during our fall foliage. Please feel free to reach out to me with any additional questions or concerns.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the fourth hotel we stayed in on our tour of New England. Having stayed in two beautiful boutique hotels and a slightly larger new hotel prior to this one the size and scale of The Stowe Mountain Lodge was considerably grander and slightly overwhelming to start with but we were very impressed with everything there. The staff everywhere throughout the hotel were fab and the great receptionist that eventually checked us out had amazing patience as I battled with having given them my pre loaded credit card as my authorisation card on check in and needed to get that cash back to pay off the bill. We got there in the end but lessons learned not to do that again ! I was a little annoyed at the maid who made it so obvious that she wanted a tip by reminding us that she was only there for the next two days and if she wished us a happy stay once she did it four times in one conversation making me feel a bit uncomfortable - can't blame the hotel for that though. It would have been good to have been offered the park yourself option rather than the default valet park at $20 per day which was excellent but we didn't know that it wasn't obligatory. The rooms were great and we loved the fireplace but please put some mirrors in the main bedroom. They were only in the bathroom and not everyone wants to have someone drying their hair by the sink while they shower, or worse still while you are using the bathroom . It just held us up getting ready in the mornings and we kept getting in each others way. The location of the hotel was fantastic, breakfast great - Al a carte better and less expensive than the weekend buffet, depending on what you have but for all four of us it worked out cheaper and was lovely and you didn't t have to stroll around to get it. Would stay again and highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank julienicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed over 3 nights . Put in wrong room initially, and then upgraded to better than we had paid for - thanks. Hotel is excellent. Quiet , but is obviously a ski resort , and out of season. Room was excellent . Some have commented on mandatory valet parking at 20 dollars a day - this is not so, as there is a large car park out back , you just have to ask for the option when checking in as the default is valet parking. Breakfast is v good, and varied. Trips we dis were the drive up the toll road to mountain top, and the gondola ride- would highly recommend both.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location is well situated at the foot of the mountain in Stowe with great views. The resort is huge especially compared with everything else in Stowe. It has a more corporate or "wilderness theme park" atmosphere than some of the more intimate local hotels lining the mountain road. The facilities are extensive (especially the pool and fitness areas) and offer a number of options for activities. The rooms are good sized with fireplaces and large marble bathrooms. It is clean and well kept. The dining room and bar felt generic though the food was good. The valet/bell men were very friendly and hustling - though it seems steep for the hotel to be charging $20 per night to park. While there was nothing especially unpleasant about the experience here it lacked the feeling of warmth owing to its large size and ersatz country decor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Stowe Mountain Lodge. Based at the foot of Mount Mansfield, our amenities stretch from the designed to the natural with activities both on and off mountain. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next foliage tour.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Besides the gorgeous setting at the base of Mt. Mansfield and the beautiful facility, I was very impressed with the staff. They were all very engaged and welcoming. The lovely resort and rooms are but a canvas... the employees make it a piece of art.

Skye Reno

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
What an incredible review -- thank you for sharing your thoughts on Stowe Mountain Lodge! Our staff strive to create this Vermont ski lodge into your home-away-from-home regardless of the season. We are thrilled to hear you feel so welcomed and comfortable here. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Absolutely a fantastic resort! They provided the highest level of service one could expect from any top resort. They go way above and beyond for the guests. When the cab broke down on the way from the resort to the airport, the resort gave me a complementary lift.
The golf course is extremely well maintained and a good layout for any level golfer.
I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 25 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 25 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.3 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#6 of 25 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
6.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 25 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing