We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed over 3 nights . Put in wrong room initially, and then upgraded to better than we had paid for - thanks. Hotel is excellent. Quiet , but is obviously a ski resort , and out of season. Room was excellent . Some have commented on mandatory valet parking at 20 dollars a day - this is not so, as there is a large car park out back , you just have to ask for the option when checking in as the default is valet parking. Breakfast is v good, and varied. Trips we dis were the drive up the toll road to mountain top, and the gondola ride- would highly recommend both.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,566
    511
    206
    82
    43
See reviews for
1,016
852
44
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location is well situated at the foot of the mountain in Stowe with great views. The resort is huge especially compared with everything else in Stowe. It has a more corporate or "wilderness theme park" atmosphere than some of the more intimate local hotels lining the mountain road. The facilities are extensive (especially the pool and fitness areas) and offer a number of options for activities. The rooms are good sized with fireplaces and large marble bathrooms. It is clean and well kept. The dining room and bar felt generic though the food was good. The valet/bell men were very friendly and hustling - though it seems steep for the hotel to be charging $20 per night to park. While there was nothing especially unpleasant about the experience here it lacked the feeling of warmth owing to its large size and ersatz country decor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Stowe Mountain Lodge. Based at the foot of Mount Mansfield, our amenities stretch from the designed to the natural with activities both on and off mountain. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next foliage tour.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Besides the gorgeous setting at the base of Mt. Mansfield and the beautiful facility, I was very impressed with the staff. They were all very engaged and welcoming. The lovely resort and rooms are but a canvas... the employees make it a piece of art.

Skye Reno

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
What an incredible review -- thank you for sharing your thoughts on Stowe Mountain Lodge! Our staff strive to create this Vermont ski lodge into your home-away-from-home regardless of the season. We are thrilled to hear you feel so welcomed and comfortable here. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Absolutely a fantastic resort! They provided the highest level of service one could expect from any top resort. They go way above and beyond for the guests. When the cab broke down on the way from the resort to the airport, the resort gave me a complementary lift.
The golf course is extremely well maintained and a good layout for any level golfer.
I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a great summer vacation spot. The town is great with plenty to do. The hotel is terrific with a friendly, helpful staff. The rooms are terrific: large, king size and extremely comfortable bed, jacuzzi bath. The breakfast is included and is outstanding. The pancakes are the best I have ever had. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent and there are great restaurants all around as well. I highly recommend this.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the area off the street. They have a wide selection.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is Vermont so highly environmentally friendly
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in July. The lodge is very nice and the surrounding area was breathtaking, however, the service was awful. Prior to arriving, we had our credit card number stolen, so the CC company sent us new cards via overnight delivery to the lodge. We received an email from VISA saying the CCs were delivered and signed for by someone at the lodge at 10:30 am. No one could find the envelope containing our new credit cards!!! The workers there are all very young and don't seem to know what they are doing. Six weeks later we still have not heard from the Lodge regarding the envelope!!!!! If we fall victim to identity theft, we know where it originated. How can you not locate a large envelope that was sent overnight and signed for by someone at your Lodge?!! One of the worst customer service experiences we have ever had.
Stay here for the beauty, but you will not be getting any type of service.
PS: I'd like to get our envelope eventually.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am concerned to hear about the apparent shortfall in service. Please call me at your convenience as I would like to assist you in resolving the issue personally.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
436 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We originally booked a studio, but by signing up for the free loyalty program, they upgraded us to a one BR. They are 950 square feet. At $470/ night all-inclusive, that's about 50 cents per square foot.

Large, sprawling complex built for skiers, but has a nice feel off-season, too.

Rooms are designed for long stays: many have kitchens, washers, driers, etc.

They said the outdoor pool is heated to 87 degrees, but that seems optimistic.

$20/ day mandatory valet parking. Wifi is free.

Our room had a heating and cooling unit which made the most annoying and loud noises. Even with our earplugs in, we could still hear the noise.

Took three different mechanics to finally fix the ice maker.

The south wing is the newer of the two wings. Love the marble and tile they chose when designing the bathrooms.

Night stands on either sides of the bed---yay!

Room Tip: Join the free loyalty program and get an upgrade when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HomoQuiScitOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing