We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent the 2013 Labor Day week-end in this hotel with a couple of friends and we will definitely come back soon with our Kids for a family week-end.
This is truly a great place, we loved the cosy atmosphere and fabulous decoration... Very large rooms, well equipped, and free wi-fi. Beautiful outdoor pool. Food is very good but rather expensive.
The hotel is certainly a Must to enjoy the autumn Colors in the Stowe area, or during winter for a ski getaway. Perfect also if you just want to relax at the Spa.
Dog-friendly, which is also a plus.
Close attractions : Stowe village, mount Mansfield, Ben & Jerry's ice cream factory, Von Trapp family lodge,...

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank guenievre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,939 - 1,945 of 2,783 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We drove for 8 hours to this hotel. It was nice, but not nice enough that I would do the drive to return there again.
The jr. suite room we had reserved was a very tight squeeze to accommodate a rollaway cot, so we ended up having to upgrade to a larger room. For three nights we paid over $2000 just for our room. One peeve is that you are forced to pay $20 per night for valet parking. No self park option. There was a parking lot behind the hotel that we were told we could not use, and that if we parked there, our car would get towed. Every morning we got up to see over 100 cars parked there, and people coming and going with suitcases.
For the price, the service was not top notch. For example, the first morning I left a note for the housekeeper requesting extra towels, slippers, and soap. Not one of my requests was met, so I had to call when we returned.
Our suite the first night received turn down service, but the next two nights while we were gone for dinner, the housekeeper came in, and all she did was close the drapes, she left wet towels on the floor of both bathrooms, didn't replace our used bath towels, and didn't turn down the beds. Our kitchen floor was not swept or mopped the entire three days (we know, because we had spilled coffee grounds on the first morning).
This hotel allows dogs, so if you are not a dog lover, this may not be the place for you.
Food was good at both Hourglass and Solstice. Make sure you get the breakfast included option, because it is expensive!
The outdoor pool is nice, but there is no indoor pool. It would have been nice if they had built an indoor/outdoor pool in the area of the current gym. So if it rains (which it did most of the time) and you have kids, you will find this a very boring hotel with nothing for kids to do except for a very small games/arcade room. In the evening, no live music or entertainment, and we could find nothing to do later in the evening but play shuffleboard or sit in our room =bored!
The kids wanted to go down the Alpine Slide, and do the bungee trampoline and obstacle course. OK, but does it have to be that expensive? Really? We have a ski resort in Collingwood, Ontario called Blue Mountain, which has similar activities including a mountain coaster on rails, for a fraction of the cost. It also has a village with shopping, evening entertainment for the kids such as outdoor movies, and live music. Stowe Mountain resort is very lacking in this respect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kawarthas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Stowe for a 3 night getaway in March on a ski trip with the Kids....The room was very nice...high ceilings and pool mountain view....The premises are very nice....great view from anywhere in this hotel....The ski mountain was right there....many great ski runs to try....no long lines up for the chairlifts....which was really nice....when we went there was lots families....the exterieur pool was full of kids and babies outside with their families...in the cold weather....my kids loved the experience......It was the first time we did cold weather and an outside pool...it was nice....no bad comments to say about our stay, everything was great....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your winter vacation at Stowe Mountain Lodge. March skiing is some of the best of the season and a great time for families to come up and enjoy the snow, the mountains, and of course, the pool! We hope to welcome you back again for your ski vacation...or any vacation!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

OVERALL. We vacation in Stowe every Summer, and have stayed in many places there. Stowe Mountain Lodge ties with only Topnotch as our all-time favorite ... and my 11 and 12 year old sons give SML the edge because of its larger pool, two -- not just 1 -- hot tubs, a shuffleboard set and the Alpine Slide. (Personally, I slightly prefer Topnotch's quieter pool with unrivaled mountain views.)
SERVICE. Efficient and attentive, though not as personable as Topnotch's service. When we arrived at our Junior Suite, the fireplace and two bureau drawers were not working. However, a repairman was promptly there and fixed everything. Valets were quick with retrieving our car and bikes (which we stored in their closet). The maids did a great job, including opening and closing the sofabed for the boys. There was always someone ready to help at the front desk, and poolside waitstaff were pleasant and conscientious.
FACILITIES. The lobby is knock out gorgeous. Every morning I would get coffee in the lobby and sit in one of the leather couches looking out at the mountains. Pool big, but no indoor pool for bad weather days. (Topnotch, on the other hand, has a fantastic indoor pool, with waterfall.) Grounds a well kept and clean ... but are part of a larger park area, so you don't get a sense of seclusion you might on other resorts. Extremely convenient to the Alpine Slide and some nearby hiking. Not convenient to the biking trail (whereas Topnotch is directly across the street from the start of the trail), so you will have to drive your bikes by car down to the trail.
ROOM. Our Junior Suite was wonderful. While oddly shaped, it was roomy for the four of us, though a bit a squeeze to eat together as there is nowhere to dine on the same table. The kitchenette was in the hallway (so no peninsula for eating breakfast), but was well stocked -- except no strainer to wash fruit or rinse pasta! -- with upscale dinner- and flatware ... and GAS stovetop (excellent!). Sadly, fridge was too small. Barely can fit a 1/2 quart of milk, juice and some fruit and cheese. No real freezer space, either. The bathroom is fantastic. VERY big; beautiful materials all around, with tub and separate, huge glass encased shower. Our terrace was unusable, as it was a thin wraparound that could barely accommodate the width of a chair ... however terraces for other rooms looked perfectly fine.
DINING. The hotel dining options are basically two: the restaurant (Solstice) and its adjoining lounge (Hourglass) ... plus a poolside barbecue grill. The grill at the pool: limited menu but you cannot beat freshly grilled meat over coals. Hourglass: our favorite option. Bit pricey, as would be expected at a property like this ... but we did get what we paid for -- i.e., good service and very tasty, even inventive, food. Solstice: same impression as Hourglass, just bigger menu. However, I prefer Hourglass -- at least when its not crowded -- because it is in the gorgeous lobby area, whereas Solstice is a bit dowdier looking. (Topnotch has slightly better food and much better patio dining ... and has its own cool lounge with great mountain views.)
COMPARISONS TO TOPNOTCH. I think Topnotch is the only other competitor in Stowe as a luxury resort. Overall, I personally prefer Topnotch because its more secluded, quieter, better looking grounds, and EXCELLENT tennis courts. That said, for a family with pre-teens or teens, SML is your better choice. There's more to do (e.g., did I mention the game room?), its pool is much bigger ... so your kids will never get restless like mine did at the Topnotch. (NOTE: Topnotch used to also be frumpy looking. But this Summer it renovated, and we visited it for dinner. WOW, its lobby, grounds and lounge are much improved. But, darn, they lost their ping pong table ... meaning one less activity for the kids.)

Room Tip: If a terrace you can sit on is important, make sure you don't get the terrace that we got ... a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic and detailed review of Stowe Mountain Lodge. With the numerous outdoor activities we offer being at the base of Mount Mansfield and the heart of Stowe Mountain Resort, we are a fantastic choice for family travel. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next family vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a lovely two days in this beautiful lodge. The hotel was kept in perfect condition inside and out. The room was fresh, clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room for coats, boots and other wet stuff if you're staying during ski season. The bathroom was modern with a nice soaking tub.
The food in the restaurant was yummy and local.
My two problems were:
1. No outdoor service at the restaurant.
2. There was a $20 parking fee....really, please offer me a free option.
Knowing this, I would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

If your a woodsie/hiker type but yet want the convenience of a luxury mountain resort then this place is for you(not me).
Having rented a 3 bedroom condo/villa unit for a family wedding, the accommodations were impressive. High end appliances, granite counter, gas fireplace etc. room was clean and the sheets were amazing.. The pool was nice and kept at a nice 88 degrees. It also has a swim in section to stay warm in the winter.
We went on the alpine slide and gondola ride. I'm sure it's even more impressive in the winter but we're beach people (Hawaii).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Every time we go to Stowe, we love staying at Stowe Mountain Lodge. Our last stay was so amazing that I actually wrote a post on it (www.karinelevy.com). In any case, it starts as soon as you pull in with the best customer service at the valet and at the reception desk. The rooms are spectacular yet comfy. The food at Solstice is just delicious and everything is so fresh and mostly local. One thing is for sure, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
244 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
156 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
963 reviews
6.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $218 - $944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing