We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great summer retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
rochester NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great summer retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great place for a family trip. We were traveling with two young children, a toddler and an infant. We were perfectly comfortable in a Timberline studio one king bedroom that had a pullout couch.The staff also brought in a pack and play which still left enough room to move around. The roomswas very nicely appointed and had a mini kitchenette, including gas burners, tea kettle, microwave, mini fridge, dishware, utensils. The bathroom is beautiful, spacious with a separate bathtub and shower. Overall we were very impressed with the people who work there. Everyone was very friendly, courteous and helpful. The food prices are steep. We booked through whatahotel.com and so had a $100 credit per stay as well as free breakfast. We had room service which was quite good. The pool area is quite nice, beautiful location, plenty of chairs and towels. The main lobby area is beautiful, and looks in person the way it does on the hotel website photos. As some as commented the lack of self parking is a negative, as the mandatory valet parking adds $20 per night to your expense.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflower12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    440
    168
    63
    36
See reviews for
832
701
38
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a summer weekend at the Stowe Mountain Lodge and it is a gorgeous property with every imaginable amenity. It is the perfect spot to soak up the beauty of Vermont and as a full service, self contained property, they are ready to serve you at every whim. We have traveled quite a bit so I would rate some aspects of the hotel as better than most upscale hotels--the beds are extremely comfortable(literally the nicest bed I have slept in in a hotel!) the rooms are beautifully appointed, the staff is extremely friendly and attentive, and the overall property is nicely maintained. There were a few things that didn't work for us but it may just be personal preference. They do not offer a self park option--only valet service. After driving for four hours, I usually prefer a few minutes to regroup my belongings from what I need for the drive to what I need to bring in to the hotel and would have loved the option of self parking. The food and beverage prices remind me of NYC ($4.00 for a cup of coffee; $12.00 for a glass of wine) and as a self contained property, you can't walk to the nearest coffee shop to pick up your favorite beverage and they don't offer complimentary coffee for early risers. We did, however, have a wonderful meal at the casual Hourglass bar and our server was terrific and the food was delicious. The last minor note would be that the pool area was bedlam on the weekend that we visited and I know that some hotels have mood music or waterfall sounds to create a more relaxing ambience.
Again, it was a beautiful property and you can tell that the staff worked hard and took pride in their efforts. We look forward to a return visit now that we have a better feel for the area.

Lastly, just a note about the Stowe area. Given that this was our first time to the Stowe area, the "town" seemed a bit more spread out than we expected with a string of motels, restaurants, and recreational options stretched along the main road. Next time, we will definitely pack bikes to enjoy the five mile recreational bike path and might even consider staying closer to town so that we can enjoy the large array of activities on foot. We had a wonderful meal at Pie-casso, an upscale pizza joint, and enjoyed the Stowe's farmer market where we picked up some delicious honey.

For families with young children or family reunions, Stowe would be a perfect spot to gather.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Seacoast3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for such a thorough review of your stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge! While designing the Lodge, our teams wanted to create your home-away-from-home and thoughtfully appointed the rooms to create that feeling. Our staff takes pride in working at a luxury Vermont lodge which shows in their high level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next vacation to Stowe, Vermont.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Attended a conference at the resort during late spring. Weather was not particularly pleasant which may have affected our mood during the stay. The overall facility is nice with a distinctive lodge design. It does have some nice amenities such as the year round outdoor swimming pool. The staff was extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. Given the time of year snow skiing was not an option. The conference meeting space is average, not outstanding. The food is far less than what one would expect for the price. Items in the breakfast buffets were oftentimes lukewarm or cold, lunches and dinners were bland and again warm at best. When attending a conference in an isolated location with less than desirable weather, a good to great dining experience will save the day. Unfortunately, it wasn't what occurred

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review of your experience during your conference. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the friendly staff and amenities however am disappointed your conference experience didn't meet your expectations. Your experience is no indicative of the level of service we typically provide so your message will be shared with our teams in a training capacity. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struthers, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This had to be the finest and friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in!!!!! Would love to go back some day. The room was beautiful. We had dinner in the lounge and the lobster rolls were outstanding. This is the perfect place for a romantic getaway or a family vacation. It has everything. i would love to spend a week here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelinggirlxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Stowe Mountain Lodge in January 2013. We had read great reviews and saw the hotel was well-positioned near the slopes. Having lived in Switzerland perhaps our expecations were too optimistic, and we found the hotel to be missing the charm and authenticity of the smaller lodges in town. Aside from the excellent valets, the service was spotty and the food just okay.
I was also disappointed by the spa - the masseuse had very sweaty hands which made the whole experience very uncomfortable. If you are avid skiers and not accustomed to more traditional alpine luxury hotels this is a great option because of the location, but I don't feel it lives up to the amazing reviews I'd seen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCP_Traveler1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your experience. I'm disappointed to hear your stay didn't live up to your expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the service issues you experienced so that we may address these opportunities to improve and be ready to welcome you again. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel so that we may discuss these issues.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Was here for a big conference in the summer. It's a good size property up in the Green Mtns. There is a trail that runs the parimeter of the property that takes you past a stream, waterfalls and a couple of nice bridges. You do have to cross the highway to get to a part of it. You can take a gondola up the hill and try one of the hikes up there, but some are for more experienced hikers. Pool/Spa were clean and poolside service was good. The burger I ordered was perfectly done and tasty. A car is needed to go beyond the resort and it is nice they will loan you one for a few hours. Ben & Jerry's is a fun stop to see americana at it's best not to mention tasty too. The town of Stowe is a quaint place with a few shops to keep you busy. Not sure if it is more vibrant in the winter with the extra draw of the skiing. My room had a kitchen, but make sure you pick up supplies when you have the car because a dozen eggs in the gift shop will run you $6.00.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor to ensure your view is not blocked by buildings.
See more room tips
Green Features: Opt in for skipping a day of cleaning or two. I was rewarded with $5 cert for the shops for each day I did.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetirementBound2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Stowe Mountain Lodge as a Vermont conference facility. With over 56,000 sq ft of meeting space, an abundance of recreation coordinated by our in-house DMC and well appointed accommodations and meeting space, Stowe Mountain Lodge and Stowe Mountain Resort have been attracting meetings and conferences - large and small - to Vermont. We look forward to hosting you again for either business or pleasure!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jklew4
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. We decided last minute to get out of town and head to Vermont with our baby. This hotel is very kid friendly and we appreciated the welcoming staff. We were able to get an upgrade on our room and were shocked at the spacious 1 bedroom suite we were given. This was awesome since we had the baby and could set up her crib in a separate room. The room also had a full kitchen so we were able to cook breakfast and dinner a few nights. The room had a private balcony overlooking the mountains and pool. The spa at this hotel was amazing and I can't wait to go back! All staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. This hotel only offers valet parking at $20 per day...something to keep in mind when booking. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive to the shopping/restaurant area. Overall we had a great stay and I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jklew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
6.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
6.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing