We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer at a ski resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Summer at a ski resort”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Visited SML in the summer so that my husband could could attend a conference. Very calm and relaxing during the week, but the atmosphere changed dramatically when the hordes of 12-year old Lacrosse playing boys moved in for the weekend. Just be aware what is going on in the community when you book.

The resort is huge, and I am sure a lot more to do in the winter. Since I was not on my husband's rental car agreement, I was kind of stuck at the resort for 2 days while he attended meetings. Pool is huge and well maintained, nice walking trail around the resort and nice looking spa. That entertained about one day. No shuttle to town, but they do have a Mercedes you can test drive for a couple hours. Make sure you have transportation to see other things in the area.

The staff was great- very friendly and helpful. The Alpine Concierge - Peter, was very knowledgeable and gave us a great Lamoille County Covered Bridge Tour route to take which really showed us the parts of Vermont we wanted to see. Watching Peter converse with other people during the week, he really took the time to find out what the clients were looking for before making suggestions. Bar staff at the conference events knew us by the end of the week. Valet/door staff never allowed us to open a door. Housekeeping kept our room spotless.

Overall, a well run and enjoyable experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mckenna717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    545
    224
    94
    47
See reviews for
1,104
898
50
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Courteous staff, very clean and updated rooms and amenities. Loved the in room fire place, great views and overall cosy feel. Outside fire pits are a nice touch as well. Food options were a bit limited--just one restaurant and the bar area which tended to get very packed quickly/slow service... but was still very nice to have an on site food option when we were too lazy to drive into town (we never used the kitchenette). Coffee available by the bar every morning :) Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Fantastic setting at the base of Mount Mansfield. We had a great room - top floor with dizzying mountain views. Bathroom was spectacular and large, perhaps disproportionate to the room size. Nice to have a kitchenette although very limited space to actually cook.

Top features:
-beautiful room with perfect sound-proofing. I am a light sleeper and never heard any disturbance.
-The pool area is amazing. My kids (4 and 6) spent half the trip there. Lots of space for everyone.
-Staff are genuinely friendly.
-4th of July fireworks party - Held on the 5th right at the resort.
-Excellent work out room - much better than most.

A few drawbacks:
-It's a bit removed from town and not right on the bike path.
-We had a few hiccups with the valet service. But they were apologetic and comp'ed us for the valet fee.
-Their game room is a bit small and really only has arcade games. Would have been nice to play some free indoor games to while away time during the daily thunderstorm.

Bottom line - we were very pleased and are likely to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nashobakurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Stowe Mountain Lodge. Since the hotel is situated at the base of two historic Vermont mountains, the views are spectacular from the guestrooms, pool and outlets. We're so glad you enjoyed the kitchenette in your room -- the larger suites have full kitchens as well to accommodate the larger parties we have in house. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next summer Vermont vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family traveled to Stowe, VT so my husband could attend a conference. I'm sure this resort is much busier in the winter, but it was a wonderful place to visit in July. It has a great pool and 2 hot tubs to relax in. The rooms are very nicely furnished and so comfortable. It was great to have such a large bathroom with a shower and large separate tub. The best part of this resort though was the staff. Whatever we needed, they took care of. One afternoon my daughter and I were even given a Mercedes Benz to use for shopping while my husband and son were gone with our car. They have a partnership that allows guests to test drive the cars. The valet parking was the best- always quick and courteous. I highly recommend this resort. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Our room had a beautiful view of the mountains. I don't think there is a bad view anywhere at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleTim12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family of four (two adults, five year-old daughter, six year-old son) stayed here for three nights while I attended a conference (fantastic place for a conference!!). While we were very satisfied with our stay, I would give a rating of 3.5 if that were possible because there are a few minor annoyances that surprised me for a hotel of this supposed caliber and cost (though we did receive a discount).

Rooms: we were fortunate to be upgraded to a one bedroom suite which overlooked the pool and had a long balcony accessible from the great room as well as the bedroom. The room featured high ceilings, a full kitchen with full-sized stove/oven, microwave, dishwasher and lots of pots, plates, utensils, etc. It also featured a breakfast bar with three stools. In between the great room area and kitchen was a dining area with full-sized table. In the great room was a fireplace with marble surround, large tv, sofa sleeper, and two large leather chairs. Off the kitchen was a hallway with a large utility closet (great for storing ski gear or in our case, all of our bags!) and - much to my pleasure - a laundry closet with full-sized washer and dryer!! The bathroom was in a different hallway off of the dining area and was a great size, the shower easily could fit all four of us (though we didn't try!) and had great toiletries. The bedroom was decent sized with plenty of space to store clothes. I give the room five stars because there was really nothing lacking. For four of us, it was great to have ample space. I would imagine the space would be helpful in the winter with all of the ski gear, jackets, etc. The only thing missing from the room - which is one of the minor annoyances I referenced - were bottles of water (even if they are $4 or more per bottle, it's nice to have the option) and other drinks/snacks available for purchase. When we realized we needed water, we called down to the front desk and were told we had to purchase bottled water in the gift shop, which was closing in five minutes. True to the level of service offered here though, they held it open until we could come down. I also think that it would've been nice if the laundry area had at least one small box of detergent (even if you were charged to use it?) as we had to obtain that from the gift shop as well; same with the sink - there was no hand soap or dish soap (there was soap for the dishwasher).

Dining options: This is the other area that I felt was somewhat lacking. There are two (which really is one) restaurants on site, one (Hourglass) has slightly less expensive choices but both are a bit limited in their selections. The less expensive restaurant did have a nice kids' menu though, but the entrees were expensive. For the four of us to dine one night, our bill was $115 which included one fish entree, a cheese plate, a cheeseburger, carrots/dip (kids), kids' macaroni and cheese, two milks, and two glasses of wine. I guess that isn't too bad for the area, but I didn't feel like we got that much value for the money. Because the resort is about ~10 minutes from the main part of town, I feel that a cafe (coffee, pastries, simple sandwiches, bagels and breakfast sandwiches, juices, etc.) would be a nice and necessary addition. It is odd to me that a hotel of this caliber doesn't have an on-site cafe for coffee and tea beverages.

Pool: fantastic, no issues. Nice and warm, plenty of chairs, helpful staff. They stop serving food at the pool at 6PM which seems a bit early.

Kids' activities: definitely room for improvement here. A playground would be a wonderful addition, perhaps even an indoor playground or play area for younger kids. They do have the alpine slide, bungee area and one climbing structure, but it's expensive and might be prohibitive to do more than one day (and some kids might even grow tired of doing the same few activities, cool as they are). I didn't go to the arcade but was told it was outdated and didn't have much to interest kids. Perhaps a game room and improved arcade would be good? I think an indoor pool could be nice for kids too, especially in the winter.

Location: breathtaking. You're surrounded by gorgeous green mountains, impressive rock faces, hiking, streams, quaint town, etc.

In all, it was a great trip but had we have paid the ~$400/night that the hotel advertised, I would have been disappointed. While the service and personnel were all very friendly, the hotel does show wear and tear in a few places, and little thing like no water in the rooms is kind of a bother. I didn't love having to call the car from the valet each time we needed it, but I also wouldn't want to look at a large parking lot. I would stay here again, but if you have young kids, be sure to have lots of off-site activities planned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed account of your visit to Stowe Mountain Lodge. We truly appreciate hearing about your experience during your conference and will certainly share your observations with our team. We are continually revising our kids recreational offerings and particularly during the holiday periods, offer increased activities. During your next summer vacation, we invite you to visit our Enchanted Forest playground!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel in Stowe, Vermont was amazing! Great atmosphere, service, ammenities. I was here for a family reunion and my mother's surprise 80th birthday party with 29 family members. We all had a great time. We were there over the July 12th weekend - Friday through Monday. The weather was perfect which helped make the trip even better. They have a beautiful decorated lobby with beautiful views of the mountains. The pool is extremely large and it has a great layout with two jacuzzis next to the pool. There is a lap area in the pool to laps. There are plenty of lounge chairs to relax and see the mountains. There is poolside drink and food service. There's a nice spa and fitness center at the hotel. They have shuffleboard, life-size chess outdoors, an alpine slide. The breakfast in the hotel had excellent food with a beautiful atmosphere overlooking the mountains. A bit pricey but when you're staying at a 5 star hotel with great atmosphere, it is worth it. The staff at the hotel were all incredibly nice and helpful and enhanced your stay. The front desk and the concierge had a wealth of knowledge and any questions you needed addressed, they had the answer. Valet parking only - $20.00 per day. The hotel is about 6 miles from the town. The grounds and the setting of the hotel make the atmosphere that much more special especially with the golf course set into the mountains. There's plenty of different hikes and trails right next to the lodge. We drove our car up Mount Mansfield and then hiked to the top - 7 of us made it to the top - the rest hiked about half way up. Great picture taking throughout the vacation. Two very good restaurants for dinner are CROPS BISTRO and MICHAEL'S ON THE HILL. Also for lunch, there's a nice sandwich shop in town with the best chicken salad. Don't forget about the original Ben and Jerry's ice cream shop for dessert where you can take a tour. If you like to swim at night, they have a bonfire by the pool. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are extremely large with a separate shower, bathtub and toilet area. Most rooms have a balcony. We were overlooking the mountains which was very peaceful and relaxing and quiet. Just a fantastic trip to get away from the world if you're looking for peace and quiet and no congestion and no crowds.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are excellent with good views and a balcony - do you want a view of the pool or th...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a special air conditioning system which helps the environment and they don't change your sheets every day unless you request it.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryScott22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Happy birthday to your mother! What a fantastic way to celebrate by having a family reunion in Stowe, Vermont. We are so pleased you chose Stowe Mountain Lodge to host your big event and for leaving such a thorough review of your experience. You obviously took advantage of so many of the activities and dining options in the Stowe area and we are pleased you enjoyed them all. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for your next Stowe, Vermont vacation.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Awesome all the way around. I would definitely hold a meeting at Stowe. There service levels are great. I believe all four seasons would be beautiful. It was so nice out in the middle of summer. Lots to do on property and also in the Stowe Area. Ale houses, wine tours, ben & jerry's, outdoor sports, shopping and dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,267 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
192 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
6.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
164 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing