We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family of 5 has stayed at SML twice now and on both visits we have been very happy with our choice. We have stayed winter and summer. SML is an architectural gem designed to blend into the mountain landscape. It reminds me of a modern day version of the grand hotel like those built years ago to provide a full service guest experience. Under one roof there is everything you need. The rooms are very clean (this is important to me), modern with spacious baths and a well designed, small galley kitchen and impeccable decor. I really have to commend the designers and architect who built this hotel. The lobby is grand and the design elements are mountain chic. What is so nice is that even though this is a grand hotel the vibe is casual. We enjoyed our summer visit with the alpine slide, bungee jump, grand 4th fireworks and the outdoor pool. In winter the access to the slopes is quick and easy.

To summarize:

The pros: Architectural gem, stunning design. Great location, close to all Stowe has to offer, a lodge like you find in the 5 star locations out west, friendly and courteous staff around the resort. Peter the Concierge, was very helpful and knowledgable with regard restaurants and activities. Housekeeping staff, particularly Marua, deserves a special mention for her perfectionism and friendliness. Beautiful pool and nice onsite restaurants with great kids menu and kids activities. Wonderful fireworks, access to hiking and MT Mansfield. Great skiing and huge slope side day lodge. Pet friendly with respectful dog owners.

Cons: only con is the game room. The size is small and the machines are what you would expect in a cheesy boardwalk motel. The games do not fit the hotel. A ping pong table, foosball and some classic pinball machines are more fitting. Mgmt please take a close look at this area. The money grabbing try to win a toy, electronic gizmos does not make any sense here. Also, adding a small water park on land near the hotel would be great to add more family activities for the summer and winter.

If you are looking for casual luxury then this is the place!

Room Tip: I think any room in this hotel would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    537
    220
    91
    45
See reviews for
1,087
881
50
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey/new york
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Another wonderful delicious stay at stowe mountain lodge.

This is our third time here and we just like it more each time.

Service as always – from everyone at concierge to maid service to bellhops, to restaurant staff are excellent.

The service can not be surpassed – absolutely the most friendly helpful people at any place we have stayed.

Our room, as always is absolutely spotless, with all the amenities one can ask for.

We had dinner at hourglass twice.. solstice breakfast only once. Breakfast was great and our server was simply delightful.

I had a spa treatment called detox wrap by Cheryl and it was so great and relaxing. The spa has so much to offer such as sauna, Jacuzzi, steamroom, Japanese rain shower. One of the best spas ever!

Their dog friendly policy is great. Most of the dogs – even big ones and small ones --- are well behaved. Upon our arrival, they had a little dog food and water bowl set up in the room, as well as some dog treats, a dog bed and toy.

Highly recommended and love this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocobelle0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts! We are thrilled that you continue to choose Stowe Mountain Lodge for your Vermont vacations. We pride ourselves on the outstanding service our staff provides. Everyone from the massage therapists to the servers to the valet team exhibit an authenticity and genuine demeanor making Stowe Mountain Lodge feel like a home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your fourth stay.

Regards,
Matt Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first time staying at Stowe Mt. Lodge though we've stayed in Stowe many times and love it for hiking, cross country skiing and tennis. The facility itself is magnificent, right on the ski slope with marble baths and wonderfully comfortable beds and linens. For us what made it truly terrific was the wonderful staff. Our car broke down on Sat. night and the valets Justin and Michael lent us a courtesy car for two days, no fees. They arranged for our car to be towed and serviced and couldn't have been kinder or more accommodating. Also the concierge Jim was extremely friendly, smart and helpful. Would definitely come back soon. Just a note, the place is very child friendly and if you don't have kids, which we don't, be prepared for a very noisy pool area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our stay at the Stowe Lodge was a wonderful experience. Completely satisfied with every aspect of our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to both couples and families. Every member of the staff is well trained and attentive. Wonderful atmosphere everywhere you turn.

Room Tip: Sign up for the upgrade option for $12. We got upgraded from a first floor room to a third floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

When we arrived, just about 1 hour before official check-in time, we were told we had to wait until 15 minutes after the official check-in time even though the hotel was not even 1/2 full. The front desk staff did not tell us how to get to our room and provided no map. The room was okay - but "frayed around the edges". Carpet was torn at the seam, lamp shades tilted and smashed against the curtains, furniture a bit worn. Kitchen was just okay ... grabbed a knife from the block and it was filthy. The bath had safety pins on the floor (not ours) and was in need of paint. The main living room was dusty and had a crowded feel - furniture was too massive for a small room. There were 2 mirrors in the bathroom - but no where else in the 1 br unit. A mirror in the bedroom area would have been a nice (basic) touch. Both restaurants were quite good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay. Feedback like this helps us to improve upon our service which, in this case, didn't nearly meet your or our expectations. We will share your feedback with our housekeeping, valet and front desk teams in a training capacity in order to refine the process and create a more memorable stay for you in the future.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford MA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just back from 4 days at Stowe Mountain Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Booked a Junior Suite through VRBO.com so saved about 30-35% off the hotel's published rates. Room had a "mountain view" (ie, view of the driveway) but was close to the elevator and much quieter than the rooms on the pool side. Very comfortable bed, luxurious bathroom, convenient full kitchen. Took advantage of the 25% discount for lodge guests for the Alpine Slide and attractions park. Also, had a great time at the spa - a facial for me, and my 10-year-old was able to get a kids' massage and a special "Chillax" treatment which he loved. The service was wonderful throughout the hotel. The valets called us by name by the time we were leaving, which was a really nice touch. Fun, beautiful property, perfect either for families or for couples looking to get away.

Room Tip: Check out VRBO.com first to see if there are any condos for rent. You might get something cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegBedfordMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is our second time here, but the first summer visit. We visited for skiing a few years ago. Hotel is gorgeous with plenty to do. Hiking, biking, fishing, mountain adventure rides for the kids, a great pool and hot tub and amazing fitness center and spa. Had some maintenance issues with our room, but the staff was attentive. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spin4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
6.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing